Great Result, we did what we had to, thought the lads did their jobs well.
Roll on Tues.
In Trap we Trust
Nothing more to say is there really?
Printable View
Great Result, we did what we had to, thought the lads did their jobs well.
Roll on Tues.
In Trap we Trust
Nothing more to say is there really?
Good stuff indeed last night. Fair play to Forde particularly, great passion and jersey his to lose now. Keane very alert and fresh too, fair play
However in Trap I do not trust and there is plenty more to be said. Only 15 mins for Hoolahan? Dropping McCarthy effectively? Bringing on Sammon instead of a pumped up Doyle (think Kazakhstan!)? Wilson and Coleman were great, they make us look like a modern football team pushing up like that, but why weren't they in team a year ago?
Have thought for a while that we have the makings of a decent team,but Trap isn't getting best out of us. He's a liability IMO.
Team for next year or two:
Forde
Coleman Clark O'Shea Wilson
MacCarthy Gibson
Brady Hoolahan McClean
Long
with Keane Walters Green Doyle McGeady all on the bench to change things around.
Decent flexible side, where was it the last 12 months.
Beating the likes of Sweden competitively at home hasn't been our strength for around 10 years now. Big ask. Vital we go for it on Tuesday now.
Good stuff indeed last night. Fair play to Forde particularly, great passion and jersey his to lose now. Keane very alert and fresh too, fair play
However in Trap I do not trust and there is plenty more to be said. Only 15 mins for Hoolahan? Dropping McCarthy effectively? Bringing on Sammon instead of a pumped up Doyle (think Kazakhstan!)? Wilson and Coleman were great, they make us look like a modern football team pushing up like that, but why weren't they in team a year ago?
Have thought for a while that we have the makings of a decent team,but Trap isn't getting best out of us. He's a liability IMO.
Team for next year or two:
Forde
Coleman Clark O'Shea Wilson
MacCarthy Gibson
Brady Hoolahan McClean
Long
Keane Walters Green Doyle McClean all on the bench to change things around.
Decent flexible side, where was it the last 12 months.
Beating the likes of Sweden competitively at home hasn't been our strength for around 10 years now. Big ask. Vital we go for it on Tuesday now.
It's tempting to say that Sammon looked like a fish out of water out there.
No matter what way you look at Trap's fixation with Sammon, it's Trap's most bizarre selection, there's no football justification for his presence in the squad, never mind coming on a sub.
Seemed like a great pre-match atmosphere last night, the anthems being sung would make the hair stand on your back..... was the music pre-kickoff a sample of "faster kill faster pussycat"by Paul Oakenfold..... really created worked anyways!;)
Our Anthem was butchered all to hell though. Even in a loudish pub I could tell the guy was getting the words wrong.
A prominent Irishman in Stockholm and an occasional poster here arranged the anthem singer I'm told. Fair play to him I say, a genuine local legend by all accounts.
Anyway, very decent performance in a great arena and super pitch. We actually looked fluent, cohesive and purposeful - pretty much everything I want to see in our team.
Agree with Murfon Fordes save from the in swinger. Absolute class save, showing experience and judgment. Safe hands throughout and bar one flap and a couple of iffy kicks it was as assured a goalkeeping performance as any of his more illustrious predecessors have put in.
However our setbpieces were poor and I wish we used McClean to take frees from the rhs - in swingers like the Swedes did all night. Mccleans delivery from open play was poor but I think we could have troubled them more with in swingers.
A few others came of age last night. Clark justified his call up and looked totally at home. McCarthy and Green were both very good bar a few sloppy errors. Mccarthys overhit through balls were surprisingly poor from a player of his quality. Coleman was class and Wilson very solid. Walters put in a good shift but like Geysir I'd like to see more of a creative threat from that position.
I was behind the goal in among the Irish and from there it was clear that the final third was crying out for Hoolahan. Trap called the substitution right but maybe a bit too late.
Trap may have got lucky with McCarthy over whelan but by and large he got most things right on the night.
Maybe a win was there but I'm happy with that but we now have to beat Austria. I think the team will feel very confident and if it's not blowing a gale on Tuesday I expect the same type of performance, with maybe more intent on winning rather than making sure we don't lose.
I disagree with you on the free kicks - I haven't seen McClean put in a good cross in months. It's bizarre because when he emerged at Sunderland, he was hitting 80% in terms of successful crosses. If Brady had been playing, I think he'd have been taking them instead of McCarthy from that side.
Clark looks the part, completely, and I dare say he's a class above the doc. He stood out last night with O'Shea beside him to coach him through the game. That's something he's been lacking all season at Villa with Dunne out and Vlaar is not all he's cracked up to be. He might be a Dutch international but Clark is the better player.
One thing that disappointed me in the first half was when Clark took the initiative and looked to run with the ball into a huge space in midfield, but McCarthy took the ball off him and told him to go back, when he should really have let Clark go and filled in at centre half. On one hand, it's good to see McCarthy demanding the ball, but on the other it was tactically poor whether it was McCarthy's decision or instructions from the boss.
I'd agree. McClean's set pieces were very poor last night. We never really looked like threatening from them. Two changes I would make for Tuesday night are Hoolahan for Keane, and Brady for Walters . . . with Brady taking over set piece duties. Under Trap we have found it extremely difficult to break down defences from open play at home. Set pieces on Tuesday night will be our best chance.
I believe the weather is foul in Ireland. Are there any doubts over Tuesday's game? Will the pitch be in decent nick? You had to have seen last nights pitch to believe it. like a billiard table. It'd have been a crime to play our usual hoof ball on it!
Very happy with that performance. Forde was assured enough in goals and won some corners at crucial sides. Excellent performance aside from one or two scuffed clearances and flap at a corner (which could easily have ended with a goal) aside.
At the back, the two full-backs most of us have been crying out for acquitted themselves very well, both defensively and offensively. I thought Wilson was excellent and put his stamp on the position. He offered so much that Stephen Ward is incapable of doing. Coleman was very good going forward, a trait of which we are all aware. Defensively, he tried to do a little too much and Kacaniklic tended to drift inwards with his dribbles. Although, it really demonstrates the irrational commentary some have made of a dearth of ability between Ireland and Sweden. Seamus Coleman wouldn't be caused any problems by Kacaniklic in a Premier League game. Entrusting him on the international stage is, consequently, rational.
In midfield, Green worked hard and gave away the ball on two or three occasions. I felt McCarthy gave a Carrick-2012/2013-type performance. He didn't close down space like Green did. What he did do, was make some well-timed interceptions and keep play ticking over. He dictated a lovely pace to our play and ensured things rolled forward.
On the flank, I thought McClean was excellent. He caused Lustig such problems and didn't run down blind alleys like he is so capable of doing. Twice, he turned back and fed the ball to the supporting Wilson. The end-product wasn't always brilliant, I agree. However, there was one occasion in the first half when he tucked in alongside Wilson. The Swedes played a diagonal ball into the far corner and McClean was there to win it.
Walters offered similar work ethic but his aerial touch appeared off. He didn't look like causing any issues in the final third for the Swedes but worked well. Can be proud.
Up front, Keane was quiet but not bad. Long worked tirelessly and could have done so much better with that opportunity in the first-half. I'll expect him to tuck away a chance like that Tuesday.
The final third was the concerning area for Ireland. There seemed to be an inability on our part to make the most of corners and decent balls in. This ensured our threat was very diminished because our play seemed to focus on the flanks and narrow attacks were few and far between. In fact, one of our only central attacks provided us with our best chance of the game when Long's effort sailed over.
The solution for this is quite simple, isn't it? Wes Hoolahan. I think Ireland need to bring him into the side, but ensure that we don't lose presence in Austria's area. I'd advocate a 4-2-3-1 as follows; Forde; Coleman, O'Shea, Clark, Wilson; Green, McCarthy; Long, Hoolahan, McClean; Keane. It's asking a lot of Long and McClean to contribute a lot to attack and defence but who else is as quick, fit and powerful as these two in our squad?
What about bringing in Sammon and Keogh when we could have nicked a goal? Baffling stuff. Why not bring in Brady? I know we were away, but momentum was on our side for much periods of the game. Sammon and Keogh offered absolutely nothing and contributed less. Keogh looked uncomfortable on the ball and one occasion a ball was played upfield to Sammon he made something resembling a leap and flapped his arms aimlessly, coming nowhere near threatening the centre-half (Olsson, I think) for the ball.
And on a final note, nice to see Clark come through a game without an error. It demonstrates that with a screening midfielder and an experienced partner, he is a very assured and capable centre-half who offers us many years of defensive promise.
im not saying mccleans set pieces were good, they clearly weren't. But several occasions cried out for an inswinging free rather than a floated outswinger. I'd still have trusted McClean but Coleman, for example, could havevtaken one orbtwo from the left. We never varied it once. Keepers hate a good in swinger. A bad in swinger can be more dangerous than a bad floated out swinger.
It should be fine. It hasn't rained since last night and the Aviva presumably drains very well. Plus Ballsbridge is at a higher elevation than most of Dublin so it should be fine. A good gauge will be if the UCD match tonight goes ahead, which I suspect it will.
Keogh was inches away from latching onto a Hoolahan pass from which he likely would have scored. Neither McClean nor Walters made a single run like that in the entire game.
He didn't latch onto it though and he didn't score. That almost-latch-on aside, he offered nothing offensive in his, admittedly short, appearance when the game was more open. Brady was left sitting on his hands. McClean was never offered that supply and Walters was entasked with a defensive job and treated to higher balls, with which he could have dealt better.
Hoolahan feeding our most dangerous attacking players would seriously sharpen things up in the final third.
In the first half, McClean's corners were good until the last one. His first half performance was the best out of all the players. Not one mistake and not one misplaced pass.
His basic duties went well and he added to our impetus with some 4 or 5 good pieces of play.
Just for the record, like.
I bet you were claiming McShane was the new Paul McGrath after his game against Czech Rep too?
Clark did well last night, but Sweden forwards never got a run at him or put him under pressure.
Ask the Villa fans who watch him every week what they think about him?
I think you are being disrespectful to St Ledger who has never let us down in over 30 plus caps.
If Clark can do that THEN you may be able to say such things as Clarks a class above.
What to bet on that?
Really pleased we won last night, but some of the rubbish sprouted by posters on Foot ie if we win or lose is laughable.
In Trap we must Trust!
What did we win last night?
Anyway, you're being a bit too sensitive. Clark was very good last night and who cares what villa forums say?
Forde, Long, McClean, Coleman, Hoolahan, Sammon. 6 ex LOI players played last night. Interesting stat. Can't believe Doyle was omitted and Sammon picked instead but still.
My match ratings:
Forde - 8: Very impressed. You cannot really argue with him holding down the keeper's spot.
Coleman - 7: Was caught out positionally a few times but defended well and gave Walters help on the attacking end.
O' Shea -7 : Solid, one of his better games recently.
Clark - 7: No real complaints. A bit slow to clear his lines but did well.
Wilson -7: Hopefully we will never see Ward in an Ireland jersey again.
MIDFIELD
McClean -5: Not a very clever footballer. Bet his man a few times but crossing was dire. Not a step up from McGeady.
Green -6: Didn't pass the ball well but did better than expected by plugging the hole in front of the back 4 and cutting out through balls.
McCarthy -8: Needs to impose himself more on the game but does the simple things right and effectively.
Walters -5: Didn't look fully fit and we suffered for creativity down the right hand side when Coleman wasn't forward.
FORWARDS:
Keane -6: Played ok but never threatened and faded out of the game.
Long -6: Didn't link well with Keane at all. Had our best chance and got fouled a lot, the majority of which weren't called.