Mind you, I wouldn't wear my Waterford shirt to a Celtic/Rangers set to. Some of those lads up there see blue and they see red... er. If you know worra mean :confused:
Printable View
Mind you, I wouldn't wear my Waterford shirt to a Celtic/Rangers set to. Some of those lads up there see blue and they see red... er. If you know worra mean :confused:
Ma grandad went to football and GAA matches before there were 'replica' strips so he still wears a shirt and sweater along to the games-sometimes a Guiness or Murphys shirt though :D
There's nothing wrong with this at all, nor is there anything wrong with people wearing anything that has anything to do with Ireland as has been said, London Irish etc.
Lvoed the wide variety at the London games :D
People have been wearing the German away strip as well-think it's a wee bit strange when people who say they dislike Celtic jerseys at games (We all accept Celtic have Irish links) and then encourage the wearing of the German away kit-GERMANY!!
Wear what ya like that's what I say! :D
There is nothing wrong with a wearing GAA shirt. Yes, it's a different sport but it is informative of what part of Ireland you are from. In the ground many tricolours have counties daubed across them (in English) , so why cant you have your county name written across your back ( in Irish) ??
That's mad :) Although I suppose there is a bit of a connection between the German away jersey and Ireland what with the war story and all that........Quote:
Originally Posted by liam88
if the fan is there in good spirit, then it shouldn't matter what's worn i'd imagine. color, a bit of variety is good.. the dutch fans all look a bit TOO uniform in their bigass orange swath.. used to find it funny when co. cork supporters would fly the jap. rising sun flags at gaa games!
Wearing a Celtic shirt does not make you sectarian - I did not say that it did.
In this case I tackled the guy re wearing a celtic shirt as he was complaining re my sister wearing an ireland rugby top.
However the large and growing numbers of Celtic tops at Irish games can give a sectarian image.
I know the vast majority of Celtic (and Rangers) fans are not sectarian however there is a sectarian image around the Old Firm and by associating our national team with Celtic this can also be associated with us.
I can see why Celtic are the obvious team to support for expats in Britain.
I haven't been to Parkhead since 1991 (Packie's testimonial) I don't remember too many Irish shirts and no other travelling fans either. the fact that 3 of us in Ireland gear were instantly recognized as Irish would support this. - I did see a Celtic away game at Hearts in 97 but I was in the home end and didn't see any Irish shirts in the away end.
You do saee the odd Irish shirt on tv at Celtic games but the vast vast majority of the fans appear to be wearing the hoops (as it should be of course) - I actually looked very hard during all the coverage of the exodus to Seville for the UEFA Cup final and eventually saw one Irish shirt in the after game coverage. Now I know there are plenty of people on this board who go to CP regularly and can comment better than me on this but it would appear to me that you see far more Celtic tops at Irish games than Irish tops at Celtic games.
As another aside 10-15 years ago you could walk around this country in a Rangers top and not have a problem. I saw them on the street in Galway , a beach in Kerry, Grafton street etc etc. I have not seen a Rangers top on anyone (JJB sports did have a pile of them in the Square last year) in teh republic in the last 5 years. Now I appreciate that 10-15 years ago Rangers were top dogs in Scotland and it is totally reversed now but even still you see plenty on the streets in Belfast. I used to believe you could walk around anywhere in this country in a Rangers top but now I'm not so sure.
Despite the story being a great story and one that should be true it is actually a myth.Quote:
Originally Posted by boc123
1) We were not the first country to play Germany after the war either at home or away - turkey and the Swiss did before we met them in Dublin in 51 and Koln in 52.
2) Green is the colour of the german Football Federation.
Think I was the only one not wearing any shirt in Basel. Fair play to the chap who said "wear what you like". People shouldn't be getting on the highhorse about Celtic shirts, FFS there are more important things to be worrying about.
Just back from the game at Celtic Park, plenty of Irish jerseys plus numerous county Gaa jersies to be seen and of course the many tricolours fluttering in the wind!!Quote:
Originally Posted by gspain
Seville was a tad different as 95% of fans it seemed purchased the new hoops for the occasion (myself included).
You didn't directly say that wearing a celtic shirt makes me sectarian, however if I decide to wear my celtic shirt while supporting Ireland I will be bringing a sectarian image to our support....... :confused: :confused:
Its a pity your opinions seem to be based on a media catchphrase...sad that.
Gary, did you see the highlights of the Swiss game at all? Or did you get it recorded? You were flashed on tv behind the goals, getting a bit excited after Ireland had a chance, think it was the second half!
Have a look if you haven't seen it.
In Basel, I saw Irish fans wearing the following selection: Bolivia (Copa America 2004), Bray Wanderers, Limerick GAA, London GAA, Ireland Rugby, Germany away. These had one thing in common. They were all green the same colour as Ireland wear.Quote:
I also saw the usual hoards of Celtic and Shamrock Rovers. green and white hoops, colours I have never seen Ireland wearing in over 30 years of watching them play!
Who gives a sh*t what people wear.
Think it was the Irish Post who reported about 78% of fans in Seville were Irish :D They counted more Irish shirts than Scotland shirts/kilts....
Aye like I said-wear what you want-cheer your team on that's what matters!
A certain Mr. Patrick J told me off for suggesting that ya can get 2 friends, one of you wears a Green t-shirt, one white and one Orange/Gold, then line up a make a flag :D
The result of his rant being something to put in ma Location box ;)
You're not the only one on this board with that category (see Davros Passim).Quote:
Originally Posted by green goblin
I wore an Irish shirt to the last Celtic match I went to and I wish I didn't. Not because I got some abuse for it, but I ended up in hospital after a 'bad' pint and you could tell what the nurses were thinking when they saw me coming in on a stretcher. :D :D
Without going into this Celtic good/bad debate, I've some sympathy with Senor Espana (good to see you the other night, Gary, and in such relatively sober state aswell, ). A mate was given the slagging at the 1994 World Cup for wearing a similar article although he nearly ended up knocking the bloke between two bars. There's too much giving out from all quarters about shirts. Look at the Dutch. If it's Orange it's OK. Hi-vi jackets, boiler suits from 'California Penitentiary'. FFS, live and let live, muchachos. If it's green, orange or Irish, it's OK by me.
Heard about this one-become a bit of a legend ;) :DQuote:
Originally Posted by lopez
Ma brother couldn't really fill me in on at all-all he remembers is singing Fields on stage with you lot and turned up at his house at midnight with a couple of pizzas and a loaf of Garlic bread of his girlfriend told him he couldn't sleep on PP's sofa :D
He's also some numbers in his phone he has no idea who they are........
Fair play to ya lads-able to fill in any of the blanks Lopez? (doubt it!) ;)
Erm... :o ...No!Quote:
I wear what I want. I dont give a s*** what anyone thinks.