Are city a better side with George or Fenn up front? IMO it has to be George but because we payed so much money for Fenn, Dolan seems intent on playing him to justify his purchase.
Printable View
Are city a better side with George or Fenn up front? IMO it has to be George but because we payed so much money for Fenn, Dolan seems intent on playing him to justify his purchase.
we paid no money for fenn, and he's on less money than george or john.
Good!!! :)Quote:
Originally Posted by GavinZac
In fairness, that's a load of bo!!ocks.Quote:
Originally Posted by patsh
I've seen him get stuck in and track back in every game I've seen this season.
We play two upfront, Fenn (who shows for the ball and looks to create) and Doyler/O'Flynn (do a lot of off the ball running, drag defenders away to give room, try to get in the box for what's created).
Christ, City fans have to be complaining about someone, we're fcuking pathetic in that regard, and since we're on a good run at the moment we get,
"Fenn doesn't run as much as Doyler, lazy pr!ck, only here for the cash, makes 3000yoyo a week you know, he buys arsenic with it, sprinkles it on cakes and leaves them outside schoolyards, think he sells arms to terrorists too" :rolleyes:
We really do look for the cloud behind every silver lining don't we :(
To quote yourself, that's a load of bo!!ocks.Quote:
Originally Posted by tiktok
I'm not looking to complain about anything or look for clouds.
Fenn does not work hard in games, he does not tackle and he does not put in as much effort as any other player.
If you actually think he is making an effort, one of us is blind.
has to be john ang george up front friday they have a telepathic understandind. they play so well off each other. time for Fenn to drop deep. if he works a bit harder he'll find his placeQuote:
I think he's doing a really good job for us.Quote:
I don't think I'm blind, maybe some of us are just selectively closing our eyes. :eek:
Thats your opinion, and it doesn't tally with mine.Quote:
I can see what I can see.
Quote:
Jebus ... has anyone mailed the club about all of this ? How long have you known this ? Arsenic cakes you say ..... are they similar to the blahs in Whatuuuurford, might explain alot there !!
€3000 ... oh my gawd !! I cant believe it ..... can someone stop this madness !! Can someone make this bad man go away !! :eek:
We were extremely poor in the 1st half and were very lucky to be going in level at half time.
In fairness to Mick Devine while he may be having a poor season so far, he made 2 world class saves last night to keep us in the game.
I think some people are missing the point here in saying the change in the game only came when John and George were partnered again up front.
This also coincided with the addition of Sweeney to the midfield and this I think had more of an effect on the game.We had more of the ball and then were able to feed the front two who did very well to win a game that seemed lost to us before the change.
Fair Play to Dolan for making the change as early as he did to give the team some time to adjust to a different formation.
While CT looked busy and won a few tackles, I don't think he is the man for the centre of midfield. Doesn't do enough over the 90 mins.
John O'Flynn is not fit but when he went down early in the 2nd half I thought that was it, he was being very careful, not sprinting, not tackling, basically not being involved. Though he finished well, he ain't right. It makes me uneasy every time he gets tackled or jumps for a ball that he could get injured again and from his body language the other night he is too.
Now maybe its a confidence thing and if so then his goal will have helped him no ends.
George was excellent, but one of the things that irritates me about him is that when he loses the ball he starts going in late with sneaky kicks, elbows and the like instead of holding the head. No need for this and runs the risk of getting himself sent off every time.
I know this post may sound a bit negative but to end off on a positive note, we got the 3 points and really thats all that matters really.
We played better the previous week against Rovers and only got a point but this week we ground out the result and its good to see we can do that.
Heres to Waterford next week, i'd love it if we beat them, love it !!!!
Quote:
Originally Posted by razor
are you mad man???? Colin has been one of our best players this season and has been excellent over the last 4-5 games..thought he was great on Friday night. Tackling, passing, controlling the play at times....what more do you want????
I think we were all in agreement at the start of this season that we needed a ball winner in the middle of the park. He signed Sweeney who in time may be this player and while CT is a good honest young fella who will run his socks off for the club he is definitely not this kind of player.Quote:
Originally Posted by NorthoftheLee
I don't think the centre of midfield is the place for him, I'd prefer to see him back on the right, Billy did ok but just couldn't manage to get a cross in.
stop now razor
colin t has been one of more the influential players in the last couple of years and is as important to the team as doyler, georgie and flynny are.
mr.dependable
nothing special,just goes out there and does his job...no questions asked
CT is a great player and he deserves to be in our team whatever the position though he seems to have more influence in the centre so leave him there.
Sweeney needs a good run in the side before we write him off yet.
Colin T has been our best player this season. Wins 90% of his tackles and pretty much always finds his man with the pass. What more do you want? As for Fenn, I'm still unconvinced- he has talent and he isn't as lazy as people like to make out, but he could do more. Maybe being subbed will wake him up. Failing that, a game or two on the bench might help. My opinion on the front partnership is- George and Flynny wasn't broke, so why fix it?
Thats grand except then what do you leave in midfield, you need someone along side Colin in the middle and I dont think Sweeney is up to it yet. He needs more time to develop. Georgie has really settled into the centre of the park and played some magic stuff.Quote:
Originally Posted by Éanna
On Fenn when Doyler is back it could be just the kick up the arse that he needs, every game so far this season (pretty much) there has been no competition for places up front. Two of Steve O'Flynn, Doyler and Flynny have always been injured.
That has only left Nolan and Behan who aint up to it yet at any rate.
yeah, sorry,what I meant to say was that was my opinion before the season started and i think we'd have been better signing a midfielder than all those strikers. maybe gamble when he signs?
Agreed. He's fairly young, and he could be a midfield general for us in years to come. If, or When, we get Gamble, Brendan is bound to learn a lot from him, and he's probably learning loads from CT now.Quote:
Originally Posted by DolansWaistcoat
Ct has been great this season, and i don't think a bad word should be spoken of him.