There's a quality pic inthe examiner of nwankwo's sumersalt. pity it's in black + white though. the report also makes a reference to city's "vocal travelling support", so fair play lads
Printable View
There's a quality pic inthe examiner of nwankwo's sumersalt. pity it's in black + white though. the report also makes a reference to city's "vocal travelling support", so fair play lads
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ruairi
Picture Of Nwanko in the Irish Times doing the somersault. Its in glorious colour. Even if you dont buy the paper go into a shop and have a quick look at the photo - its fantastic! ;)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gary
murphy didnt hit him but came very close to it
there was 2 little pikeys involved but what else would u expect in inchicore
Done and done. i've just cut it out and now it's going to take pride of place on my fridge!Quote:
Originally Posted by eoinh
interseting to note the irish times says our defence looked shakey yet the sun says we looked solid.all i can say is we def have improved and roll on mon nite.congrats if it is ccisa first away victory glad didnt go cos i tink mabe its me who gives them the bad luck.delighted for greg so give him chance dunnox(corner) oh no ive named the corner. greg be looking for ya now
You have to remember Malone's bias towards any non-Dublin club.Quote:
Originally Posted by Flynninio
Trev was raving about it, siad it will definitely be on Monday night.
On a different point,
see here
for the reaction of some SPA fans to the sh*te that was printed in the program last night. RTE Radio, during an interview with John O'Flynn today, mentioned the away support, the Echo mentioned it, so did Trevor, but according to that thread and others, SPA believe there was hardly anyone travelled from Cork.
Dr. NightDub, in particular, who had a go in the official club program at City's away support, has another rant on a thread. He is obviously blind as well as stupid. Shed End Invisibles...they believe their own hype.... :rolleyes:
Quote:
Originally Posted by patsh
Well .... we know the way they are so no suprises there.
Man ... i think just leave them off, if any City fans needs reassuring ... then just look at the support last night, all game and not a peep out of the invisibles, didn't see ONE flag ... seriously, full reglia not a prayer, there were some shouts about 20 mins to go from accross the way but i thought that was at players, IT WAS NOT A SONG .... i was disappointed actually, and expected more. Anything to say otherwise is a blatant lie. I dont want to kick them while they are down, every club goes through a bad patch but they haven't a leg to stand on, every element of the game last night, they were outclassed, the stewards and staff at Richer said that last night after the game, so they are fooling no one with their cráp.
Poor old Junkies are going going gone.
They've started banning people from their forum for posting a normal post, pity they used be the most decent of the jacks. Even yer man Dr. Nightsmallclub is spouting.
Again their security and they 10 year old scuts let them down. They'd evict Rovers if their fans did what those two scuts did.
One of the best parts of the night was getting us to move our flags so they could put their's in. They were, of course, of the invisiable type.
SÓC, as regards Cityrebel being banned off our board, twice I've had to delete posts he made giving out people's names and workplaces. He was banned after that so I can only assume he used a different IP address to go trolling the other night.
Patsh, what part of "light-hearted p1ss-take" don't you understand? If I was intent on malice, I'd hardly go name-checking Cork fans I've had good banter with, would I? Youse are just easier to wind up than almost anyone else in the League and considering the apoplexy Friday's article provoked, I can't wait for the next time we play youse in Richmond. Oh, and thanks for the encouragement! ;)
A final thought: would the media even be commenting on the noise youse made if it wasn't so unusual? ;)
Dr Nightdub - Didnt you call the UCD team w ankers in the OFFICIAL St pats programme?
Or is that an untrue rumour i heard? :confused:
I'd never be so crass as to use the word "*******" in the programme, nor would the club print it.Quote:
Originally Posted by eoinh
What I actually said on that occasion was:
"As for tonight’s opponents, the question that springs to mind is: why are they STILL here? Just when UCD were looking a safe bet for relegation, thereby sparing us all from the misery of having to go out to the soulless desolation of Belfield for away matches, they go and start putting a decent string of results together...we can take nothing for granted against our bogeyest of bogey teams.
Actually, I tell a lie, there is one thing we can take for granted - the attendance isn’t likely to be swelled much by away fans and they‘ll make no useful contribution to the atmosphere. I remember a home game against UCD a couple of years ago, it was a freezing winter’s night and I noticed that the entire away support was huddling in the stand sharing the one blanket. That’s a boast no other team in the League can make.
All I want from UCD is the three points from each of our remaining games against them, then for them to just GO AWAY and stop annoying us."
On reflection, considering they went whining to the FAI over that, I'd have to say they're even more uptight than youse. *******. :)
sorry i apologise.
Verry funny though!! :)
Would that be the same apoplexy that was induced in the SEI by Ronan O'Flaherty?Quote:
Originally Posted by Dr.Nightdub
When he stated, truthfully, that the "invincibles" were "invisible"?
The wailing and gnashing of teeth on the SPA forum seems to show that you lot, particularly yourself, are easy enough to get going.
Might I suggest you contemplate some words from the Bible, where you should behold the beam that is in thine own eye, before pointing out the mote that is in my eye?
BTW, I understand "light-hearted p1ss-take" very well, I have found it's easy enough to do it to a few SPA posters on here. Any article like yours would be seen as that if it was in a fanzine, it just doesn't come across as humourous in an official club program.
A well, all the best for the rest of the season, I reckon you have more problems that we do at the moment..... ;)
bit like us so with pats :)Quote:
Quote:
Originally Posted by patsh
I thougt it was a great .... along with Dr. Nightduds piece aswell .... made for great read at €2.00 :D :D :D
Patsh, I don't agree that programmes should be a humour-free zone. Maybe we're just lucky that the club give me space to write what would otherwise have to be kept for a fanzine.
If O'Flaherty's piece had been a wind-up, it would've been a different matter and it would've got a different reaction. Apples and oranges...
As regards the Bible, I prefer the Gospel according to St. Quentin: "I will strike down with great vengeance and furious anger upon those who would attempt to poison and destroy my brothers." :)
if you're going to quote from QT, at least get it rightQuote:
and i will strike down upon thee with great vengeance and furious anger, those who attempt to poison and destroy my brothers
sheesh :rolleyes:
lol
FourFiveOne has begun a section dealing with the inept standard of programmes found at other clubs. Tonight's Issue 26 deals with the classy (cough!) Longford Town offering.
But since Dr Nightdub has come on here spouting more waffle, it’s topical enough to show up his pathetic article for what it really is here and now rather than saving it for Issue 27 -
He sets the tone of his article by introducing education as a theme – the ‘they are better than us and here’s why’ mentality. It’s the same old arrogance that leads me to believe that there is no such thing as the Second City Syndrome he discusses but rather ‘First City Delusions of Grandeur’.
He goes on to give us a history and geography lesson cos let’s face it, we country bumpkins need a bit of learning, yup!
So what does the Doctor’s lecture teach us?
He begins by telling us that Cork is the second city – he establishes this original and perceptive theory in four wildly drawn out lines. Good start! What’s next Doc – hold on while I strap myself in, this is going to be good…
He then introduces the classic second city syndrome theory and backs it up using the classic second city examples Birmingham in England and… Edinburgh in Scotland. Wait a second…Edinburgh? But I thought… isn’t Edinburgh? It’s tempting to lose faith in the Doc but let’s not rush to judgement – he’s reputation precedes him, doesn’t it?
Anyway, what’s next… he tells us that “we in the capital tend not to discriminate” and then goes on to conclude (in the same sentence) that everything outside a certain area is “culchie” where “the tractor is king”. Right.
He then wittily suggests we should be called the Home Guard instead of the Rebel Army since we don’t travel to away games and that surely we’re not going up there taking all their jobs cos if we were, we’d have more fans at Dublin games. Nice one Doc, I knew you’d produce something. About time.
Unfortunately this rare glimpse of insight is tragically undermined in the next paragraph – he mentions our desire for less Dublin clubs in the top flight and seems to see this as a ludicrous desire since that implies that we’d prefer to play “the likes of Finn Harps, Sligo and Dundalk” and that this represents “parallel-universe geography” – presumably the same area of study in which Edinburgh is Scotland’s second city. But I really have to question your undoubted genius at this point, Doc. Did you ever think that given the choice, if there were less Dublin clubs in the Premier Division, we here in Cork would like to see Limerick, Cobh, Kilkenny or even Galway (cos it’s a nice gaff) instead of the clubs you though of automatically. As you so eloquently put it – “Hello?”
The next paragraph contains an interesting rarity from a Pats fan – praise for Pat Dolan’s tactical ability when he “masterminded the 1-0 Pats victory”. Since I’m not aware whether or not you share the charming opinions of other Pats fans in relation to your former manager, I’ll say no more.
Then comes the history lesson. I’m really looking forward to this. Nightdub is a renowned historian. You’d expect a treat. Not likely. Apparently Cork has had a few clubs hit the wall and Pats is 75 years old. Yawn! Next…
Bit of brown nosing for the Hoof! days and a friendly “hi” for a few of the lads. Mmmm. Next…
More history – a Kevin Keegan reference, how original. “I’d love it if we beat them!” Brilliant. Class even. It’s the last shining light of this article sadly for us once faithful purveyors of Nightdub’s own brand of wisdom, because he ends on yet another slack note. What a pity that his lack of expertise for geography has infected his knowledge of history also – and it was all going so well.
He compares Friday night’s game to being potentially similar to Stalin’s Red Army defeat of the Nazis in 1943 hoping that “the ‘Rebel Army’ begin their re-enactment of the retreat from Moscow”. Clearly it would be far too easy to retrospectively critique this inspired analogy with our 2-0 victory in mind so it’s wiser to simply point out that Von Paulus and his Sixth Army foundered and retreated at Stalingrad and not Moscow you ****!
Dr Nightdub is spot on in his belief that programmes shouldn't be a “humour-free zone” - but even funnier is when the dribble he and his ilk produce give the reader so many opportunities to laugh.
So mission accomplished Doc, you made me laugh.
Lara needs 50 to make history so that seems like a better option than infuriating myself with the likes of you!
What are you a doctor of anyway?
Jesus, Vito, you've way too much deconstruction going on there, you're trying too hard. Subtlety obviously doesn't register with you, so I'll give you a helping hand...
"Cork may not be the biggest city..." is a reference to a recent amusing TV interview given by...?
Edinburgh is indeed the capital of Scotland. It's also unusual in that regard (though not unique) because Glasgow is the biggest city which makes Edinburgh the...?
The retreat from Moscow that has gone down in history was Napoleon's. You know, the fat autocratic bloke? You raised Stalingrad because...?