pen decision and what should have been a red card for the town keeper
Printable View
pen decision and what should have been a red card for the town keeper
Yeah fair enough, can't argue with that....
I'm neutral and get behind Clonmel teams in provincial and national competitions. I must admit that I have a soft spot for Celtic as they play some nice football and it is nice to see a new challenger. I was at the game yesterday and must admit I was disappointed how Town seem to be reacting to their status as Clonmel's number 1 team being challenged. Head butting, eye gouging and kicking players on the ground. Disgraceful, they should hang their heads in shame. This referee has proved again he is not up to reffing these big games. Four major decisions went against Celtic. Surely it can't be a coincidence. I wish these refs would show some balls and stop being bullied by the 'bigger' team. Finally is there a player in the league that mouths more than Tony Scully!!!
I think that’s a bit over the top. Yes Tony Scully was a disgrace, from the first minute all he did was mouth at the referee. You refer to kicking players on the ground, that’s simply not true. Stephen Ryan was very physical but you don’t mention that he stopped the player when fairly went through one of the Celtic players.
I grant you that one Town player ran into the row at the end and tried to head butt a Celtic player. However I saw two Celtic players throw punches in that row and also throw a head butt.
Yes Richie Ryan should have been sent off for handling the ball outside the box, no question about that. I am not sure if it was a penalty when Eddie Doyle was taken down. Clonmel Town may have been a bit physical but they are not a dirty team. Also Celtic a re a fine team and may go on to win the league but they have a bit to do to prove that they are Clonmel’s number 1 team. I left that ground yesterday happy with Town’s second half performance but I didn’t think they were dirty. Yes the ref didn’t do Celtic many favours.
I heard last night that Bud Ahearne has passed away. RIP
clnomel town are very dirty.........the only team that put it up to them was villa a few years back when redser used to run riot
the melee at the end invloved players of BOTH sides. I saw two celtic players throw punches and another attempting to head butt a town player. Town left themselves down on Sunday of that there is no doubt but Celtic were no angels either. Every time you lose or draw with Town you have a go at the ref. Yes he should have sent Richie off but I ain't sure it was a penalty
Also the melee at the end would not have started had the ref given the correct decision a free to Town as Tony Scully was hacked down. When the two boys squared up, players from both sides ran got invloved, some of the celtic players ran fifty yards. so lets be a bit balanced here
Take the talk about who punched/kicked who elsewhere as it never gets anywhere as both teams feel aggrieved when something like that happens.
anyone i spoke to felt it was a stone wall pen.
On a lighter note good win for The Bridge on Sunday 2-0 win at home to Rock Rovers. Eoin Leahy got another goal that is 15goals in 13 games must be top scorer in league?
No sign of Bridge vs Town match in Munster been scheduled in next 2wks what going on there? Could be interesting game ....maybe!!!
big weekend for the tsdl teams in action in the FAI,judging by the betting it looks as if clonmel town have the toughest test and with Tony Scully suspended they might struggle,Celtic looked good last sunday and at home id fancy them to come through and Peake Villa should win comfortably in Kerry,massive game between Cashel and Oldbridge,Cashel are in danger of being sucked into a relegation battle
is it not the next game you automatically miss after a straight red? the league table doesnt lie unfortunately,cashel had an excellent pre season and had darren murray on board but in house problems and bickering has made the oldbridge game massive on sunday
Seriously, as a neutral, I'd love to see Cashel and Cahir doing better than they have been...................on the red card thing, am I wrong in saying that suspensions in your local league/cup aren't carried over to National competition??
your probably right,im sure the tsdl would make sure he is available anyway!!! even with tony scully available town could be in trouble,was surprised by how poor they were on sunday,yeah cashel have everything in place to be successful but maybe 3 or 4 players short of challenging for honours,the premier division is a bigger step up than anticipated
I really feel that we have lost that fear factor with the loss of paul scully. He was such a leader on the pitch and dragged us through games. We now look a softer touch with a team not tough like paul, but sulky and dirty. We need leaders to step up but at the moment I dont see any and neither do opposing teams. They come with the attitude that town are there for the taking now, just look at our league position, the worst in nearly 10 years. Hope we get a big performance on sunday, cant imagine going out at this stage
i thought town would beat celtic last week,was first time i had seen town since the villa game in clonmel,they could be in trouble tomorrow,discipline is appalling and referee might not be as lenient tomorrow,by all accounts redcastle are a very good side
well done to Cashel Town this morning when they shook off weeks of inaction to beat Old Bridge 6-1 at home, and almost guarentee Premiership football next year. This will give the club some time to heal the wounds internally and hopefully to kick on from here.
Clonmel Town and Clonmel Celtic both won in the Fai Junior after aet today
peake villa beaten 2-1 in kerry, clonmel town 2 redcastle 0, tony scully and barry ryan
town were excellent yesterday. redcastle are a good side. town only picked up one yellow and from minute one they were better side. Richie Ryan didn't have a save to make. Redcastle defence was superb. Tony Scully was cool from the spot and Barry Ryan got a great goal. Nothing but good things to say about this performance- Town looked very fit.
Hi Guys just wondering when Clonmel Town play there Munster Junior Cup matches. I see they play Old Bridge and then the winners play Star Rovers from the Limerick District League. Are Clonmel as strong this year as previous years?
i thought town were excellent,a totally different side from a week earlier,their fitness was a huge aspect,they seemed to get stronger in extra time and it was constant town pressure against a good redcastle side,tony scully was the coolest man in the complex from the penalty spot and barry ryans finish was sublime and he deserved it he ran himself into the ground,moroney made a big impact when he came on,town look very strong
Munster Junior Cup 5th Round Draw
Casement Celtic or Leeds or Waterloo or Janesboro v Clonmel Celtic or Avenue United (Clare)
Fairview Rangers or Pike Rovers v Wilton United or Shandon Cel or Postal Cel or Bohemians
College Corinthians or Carrick Utd or Ferrybank or Southend Utd v Macroom or Killumney Utd or Regional United
Askeaton or Aisling Annacotty v Star Rovers (Limerick DL) or Old Bridge or Clonmel Town
Tramore AFC or Dungarvan Utd or Rockmount or Everton v Ringmahon Rangers or Killarney Celtic or Lisselton Rvs
Nenagh “A” or Richmond v Newcastle West or Rock Rovers
De La Salle or St Josephs or Villa FC or Grangevale or Dillons Cross v Blackcastle Utd (NTDL) or St Michael’s
Skibbereen or Leeside v Kildimo United or Tulla United
Games to take place on or before 27th/28th February 2010
They are down to play Old Bridge on 7th February. They made a slow start to the season and are out of the running for the league. However they are improving with every game and whereas I wouldn't think they are as strong as previous years they are a formidable cup side and I wouldn't fancy getting an away draw against them. However if you get stuck into them at home and rough them up a bit you could cause them problems. In tight tough games their discipline can come against them as evidenced in their recent local derby against Celtic.
yes,well done to Cashel on the win.big three points but i think they will need another 3 to be sure.i wasnt at the game myself as i was at the B game against Dundrum but i was told the lads were superb,especially Slattery,Bargary and Flynn.3 key players for the A team.
i think the club is doing fine internally,everybody is enjoying their football now and everyone is getting on.its someone externally that is tryin to ruin things.im not going into detail because its not a place for it.but i just wanted to mention that and to clear up the internally comment..
Thanks for that. I know internet message boards can be strange places to get information from, because you never know, some posters might even have an agenda about what they post.
I mean, it wouldn't be beyond the realms of possibility for example, for a person say, who had posted here before, to create a new account, and pretend that he wasn't a player with a certain club, but suddenly seem to know all that is happening within that club, especially what is being said amongst the other players themselves.
And you never know, if someone did that, he might even praise one particular player in every post that he writes, even though he seemingly has nothing to do with that player himself.
Wouldn't it be funny if that happened ?
the cashel rift continues, he does mention a certain david slattery a lot :)
Never....merely speculating :)
That is a bit weird how you can mention someones name an hold an opinion on something and then someone can call that they know who the person is.maybe you have special powers? But as you've said before rock I'm just a keen follower of cashel town an have been for a very very long time.I know all the lads extremely well an hold some of the players in higher regard than others.cashel is a small town and people talk.and it's no secret that pretty much everyone involved in the club knows everything about it and what's goin on.so to have an opinion on this I'm just merely saying what eveyone else is sayin no matter who I am..looking back on your posts rock you seem to hold a very strong opinion.but you seem to be on the other side of the fence than what the club is.very easy to figure out who your identity is.1 of 2 people I think..and to be honest rock,I'm more intrested in how the B's get on anyway.
Lads dont know much about whats going in cashel but if you ask me there is always bickerring in every club. ye seem to be more intereseted in telling anyone that will listen about yere problems. well to be honest we dont really care. hope im not adding to yere problems now but i heard at our game last sunday that 2 of the 3 you mentioned as key players will be saint michaels players next season :) i would like to see cashel do well i hope them and us stay up which i think we will.
just heard the draw that town have been given in the fai. A little unfortunate to say the least. at least they are at home and with a bit of luck you never know. who did celtic and saints get?
Ah you shouldn't be teasing us with news of a draw like that, without telling us Ron, and then you go and leave out the juiciest tit bit of all i.e. who the other teams got.
Just for the record, Clonmel Town will play the winners of Killester or Ballymun or Waterford Crystal
So no matter who comes through there, it should be interesting...
Much more interesting for TSDL followers though, is the draw that Clonmel Celtc got... for they will play the winners of Mervue or St Michaels, setting up a possible all Tipperary last 32 game .. wouldn't that be a hum dinger on the bypass ???
The full draw for the last 32 is as follows
1 Iorras Aonaithe or Carrick Utd v Douglas Hall FC or WFTA or St. Laurence Gate
2 Killarney Ath v Killarney Celtic or College Corths.
3 Leeside FC or Cabinteely FC v Freebooters FC
4 Corrib Celtic or Nenagh Cel v Pike Rovers
5 Listowel Celtic v Fairview Rgs or Killinarden Ath.
6 Regional Utd v St. Pauls Artane or Kentstown FC or Rock Celtic
7 Clonmel Celtic v Mervue Utd or St. Michaels FC
8 Clonmel Town v Killester Utd or Ballymun FC or Waterford Crystal
9 Crumlin Utd or Wicklow Rvs v Bath Markievicz
10 Wilton FC or St. Francis v Ballynanty Rovers
11 Orchard A or Cashel Celtic v Killavilla or Willow Park or Knocklyon FC
12 Ballina Town or Cashel Celtic v Shangan Ath. or Straide & Foxford FC
13 Springfield FC v Carbury FC
14 Kilmallock FC or Greenwood v Crettyard Utd or Portmarnock FC or Corduff FC
15 Castleisland FC v Courtown Hibs or Lower Crumlin FC
16 Glebe North v Lagan Harps or NUI Galway