Na Yoda,i'll keep that kind of stuff until May!!
Long season there lad and we still have to go to Leeds Park which is never easy.
Printable View
FAI Umbro Junior Cup 1st Round
College Corns v Glenthorn Cel
Midleton v Leeds
Donoughmore Ath v Kinsale
Grattan Utd v Mayfield Utd
Carrigaline Utd v Greenwood
Casement Cel v Carrigaline Utd
Leeside v Droumree Dynamoes
Wilton Utd v Kilreen Cel
Postal Cel v Macroom
FAI Umbro Junior Cup 2nd Round
Ballincollig v Glenvale
Blackstone Rovers v Grangevale
Murphy’s Irish Stout Premier League
Coachford v Park Utd
Murphy’s Irish Stout Premier A League
Kanturk v Ballyvolane
Pearse Cel v Castleview
Murphy’s Irish Stout League 1
St John Boscos v Leeside
Murphy’s Irish Stout League 1 A
Ballyvolane v Buttevant
Park Utd v Glen Cel
Rylane Cel v Dillon’s Cross Ath
Bohemians’ v Fairview Fairfield
Murphy’s Irish Stout League 2
Lakewood Ath v Blackpool Cel
Ard-na-Laoi v City Wanderers
Kinsale v Wilton Utd
Murphy’s Irish Stout League 2B
Springfield “B” v Churchvilla
Murphy’s Irish Stout League 3A
Watergrasshill Utd v Grattan Utd
Ballinhassig v Macroom
ALOT OF FIXTURES THERE BECAUSE OF THE CUP GAMES BUT HAVE A PUNT!!
We didn't enter the FAI beacause of the possible costs of fines, suspensions and registration fees. Its not like we were going to win it!!!!
FAI Umbro Junior Cup 1st Round
College Corns v Glenthorn Cel Away
Midleton v Leeds away
Donoughmore Ath v Kinsale away
Grattan Utd v Mayfield Utd home
Carrigaline Utd v Greenwood away
Casement Cel v Carrigaline Utd away
Leeside v Droumree Dynamoes home
Wilton Utd v Kilreen Cel home
Postal Cel v Macroom away
FAI Umbro Junior Cup 2nd Round
Ballincollig v Glenvale away
Blackstone Rovers v Grangevale home - close one though
Murphy’s Irish Stout Premier League
Coachford v Park Utd draw - after meeting so recently
Murphy’s Irish Stout Premier A League
Kanturk v Ballyvolane draw
Pearse Cel v Castleview draw
Murphy’s Irish Stout League 1
St John Boscos v Leeside away
Murphy’s Irish Stout League 1 A
Ballyvolane v Buttevantdraw
Park Utd v Glen Cel away
Rylane Cel v Dillon’s Cross Ath home
Bohemians’ v Fairview home
Murphy’s Irish Stout League 2
Lakewood Ath v Blackpool Cel away
Ard-na-Laoi v City Wanderers didn't this game happen last week??? oops no same as park coachford, fixture reverse. I'll go away win
Kinsale v Wilton Utd draw
Murphy’s Irish Stout League 2B
Springfield “B” v Churchvilla home
Murphy’s Irish Stout League 3A
Watergrasshill Utd v Grattan Utd away
Ballinhassig v Macroom draw
Sorry have to add in:
Munster Lucozade Sport Junior Cup Preliminary Round:
Innishvilla v Greenmount Rangers Home
Coachford “B” v Blarney St Ath Away
probably yere first real test v kanturk.pity you had to miss it.i thought mike lynam was assistant manager of that team.its terrible to miss the big matches. kanturk a bit far away for me,,no doubt you will have the result on here fairly quickly.met steve hackett who works with one of yere first teamers and he said yee were really fit and that former player david hickey was doing a great job. best of luck saturday.
ya i heard that dave hickey is running training out there and running it well aswell by all accounts, fair play to him. kanturk is also to far away for me but i'm sure the ballyvolane lads will keep us informed here. what does that fella lynam do? he was managing at the game versus pearse that i saw!!!
Yes Yoda01 Dave Hickey is doing good job assisting the coach at the moment.
What club(s) are you with Yoda?????
You seem to be well up to speed on Ballyvolane!
That means you'll also be aware of the strength in the team at the moment so fingers crossed another result tomorrow against Kanturk.
Few fringe players with the squad too but the jury is still out on them commitment wise.
I fancy Glenvale in the Munster junior lads against B'collig
Agree with you here Blue & Red, Glenvale will turn some heads this season I'd say.. We had 2 great games against them last season and they were very committed and strong. They missed out on promotion in a play off against Kilreen but I'll be backing them to win AUL 2 this year. I believe they signed a few good players in the off season too.
We are up against Blackstone on Sun, hoping for a good performance, they beat us 2-0 last season in AOH so we know we are up against it.. the FAI Jnr Cup is a strange one, I think alot of team selections can be surprising, with fringe players often getting a start, makes you wonder how many Cork teams actually believe they could possibly win it... On that note, when was the last time a Cork team did win it???
We are drawn against your B team in MJC, not sure if that will be next week, will know tomorrow I suppose
Doug89
melerick must be delighted to have him on board to assist him.
i don't have a club b & r, i'm retired am too old to play i'm afraid.
i was born and bread in the ballyvolane area but am living in carrigaline now but i still keep an eye on all teams northside and go to a game every weekend if i can. i'm sure those fringe players will be cut loose and the squad will settle down in another few weeks. let us know how ye get on against kanturk!
Shame you cant remember who you played with Col!!:cool:
best o luck in that one Doug,blackstone have a good side this year by all accounts.No idea who last Cork team was boy.
Our b team had a rough start but have pulled it together a bit.
Should be a good game,i'll go to see that one alright if we're not playing at same time.
Firstly,the fixture next week,Killumney V the Gratts in the Mjc,that wont go ahead as we have a free weekend booked.
The last Cork side to win the Fai were Rockville in the late 30s or early 40s, now sadly gone. Castleview lost in the final in 61/62 and Everton lost in 65/66.We have had a few sides reach the last 16 over the last 20 years but only 2 or 3 reached the quaters.
Theres roughly 680 sides enter an its the biggest single knockout competion of its kind in Europe.I belive every Cork side would love to win it.That I do belive 100%,but honestly speaking I dont belive any Cork side expects to win it.And that my friends is and always will be our biggest downfall.
We reached the quater final 3 seasons ago and were 6 mins away from the semis(it took 9 wins to reach the semis), but the confidence gained from being in the previous years latter stages would have got us through that last 6 mins but we didnt have it an went out in extra time.We had Castlebar dead an buried 2 seasons ago an couldnt finish them off an went out on penos in the last 16,again or confidence wasnt strong enough.And last season with all due respect Red and the Ballyvolane lads ye knocked us out in the 1st rd.
The confidence our junior sides lack all stems form the fact that we as clubs arnt used to reaching the latter stages of the Fai junior.An when we do ,when faced by some of the top junior clubs(who are every bit as good if not better than our intermediate clubs) we just seem to be beaten before we reach the end line.
Yet all is not lost,the Oscar Traynor side lived the dream against a Dublin side jam packed with international junior players,littered with Fai cup winners just for good measure,but those 16 players proved that if you can just have enough self belife in the lad in front of ya,behind ya or on either side of ya,you can achive anythin,oh ya an a tiny bit of luck too.
Every competition starts somewhere,for us its tomorrow at 3 in O'Neill Park.We arnt looking to win the Fai junior cup tomorrow,just one game.Thats all we are focused on,just one game.
Every competition starts somewhere,for us its tomorrow at 3 in O'Neill Park.We arnt looking to win the Fai junior cup tomorrow,just one game.Thats all we are focused on,just one game.[/QUOTE]
fair point little man! take every game as it comes, if you go out before any game thinking you have it won, then im afraid you are in for one big fall. best of luck tommorow to all!!
Hibernians reached the last 8 of the FAI cup in 1992 - eventually being knocked out by Hibernians from Galway in extra time in Shanbally!
In FAI Junior Cup finals Douglas FC lost to Fairview in the 60's while Temple lost to Cherry Orchard in the 80's
You can add Maymount and Grattan to the list of clubs who reached the last 8,but even with Olachaio an Long throws info is a very poor show from the oldest league in the country
I wonder what % of clubs in the AUL actually enter the FAI juinior cup? I'm guessing almost half do not bother.
Grattan Utd 3 - 0 Mayfield Utd
Midleton(msl) 1 Leeds 2 Aet
well done guv,good away win.
Good stuff Guv!! nice one
We(Ballyvolane A) were beaten 3-1 down in Kanturk.
I wasnt there myself but the better team on the day won i think as we just didnt turn up after the interval.
1 up at HT but Kanturk were strong 2nd half.
Well,onward and upward.Cup games next week.
I think we have Ard na laoi
Good result for Glenvale,well done 9.99!!
I dont mean to brag but i did call it!!!;)
We got to the last 64 last season and were very unlucky to lose 3-2 to Westport United who had won it 2 years previous, and we wouldnt be one of the strongest teams in Cork. It all comes down to the luck of the draw and the break of the ball on the day, I'd say the likes of Kinsale, Leeside and Gratts would be a match for most of the top teams if they got home draws, a lot of the teams in the cup play in counties where there are no Senior Leagues so this is obviously to there advantage, it wouldnt surprise me if a Cork team made at least the semi's this year.
We beat Rylane 2-1 yesterday away in the league, they're pitch is worse than ours (I know its hard to believe), we beat them 2-1 at home three weeks ago in the league aswell, I dunno what the fixtures secratary was thinking. I know its good to get six points but its hard to gauge where we are after beating the same team twice and drawing our other game.
FAI Jnr Cup
Blackstone 0 - Grangevale 1
Was at the game this morning and i was impressed with ye doug89. I thought ye coped with everything that Blackstone threw at ye. Ref handled the game well and i admired the way that ye did not get involved when there was little incidents. (I will have to bring my gang out and they might learn from that). Just one question? Did ye make the double substitution because the 2 lads were after being booked. I thought they were playing well. The left winger, Eric i think was his name looks one for the future.
I know the feeling. We lost 2-1 to Park yesterday and beat them 3-2 in our first game. No complaints. They were hungrier on the day and took their chances when they came along. It would have been nice to play on the main pitch as it was looking immaculate. Well done Parkboy and Dcross06 as well on the double over Rylane.
Have to disagree with you timmypav - thought we should have had a penalty in the first half - just because a fella doesnt fall on the ground after being pushed doesnt mean it isnt a penalty
I was also impressed with Grangevale - they have assembled quite an impressive squad and should do well in the first division this year - I'd expect them to be there or there abouts in May fighting for the league
I did feel that if we were a little unlucky today and that if we had equalised we would have won in extra time
Need to start taking our chances or we could regret it
I'll be interested to read the report on Wednesday
Thanks Timmy, we are delighted especially with the fact that we made 6 changes to the starting 11 from last week so everyone is getting a chance and competition for places is healthy as a result. We made the double sub cause both were on yellows, one had picked up a knock aswell so decided to do it sooner than later. The one downpoint was that one of our substhat came on had to go to hospital and has chipped a bone in his ankle and will be out for 3/4 weeks. Young Eric Kennedy got the MOTM award, he has great potential, playing well at the moment....
In my opinion, if our three games to date were boxing matches, we would have won them on points. However, as Littleman pointed out last year, that counts for nothing.
We have met Grangevale many times over the last decade, and I like them as a club. Nice people. Most of the guys now wouldnt have seen most of the games, but they retain the good spirit their club has.
There first 3 games showed they dont concede many, and today proved that too. We didnt have a lot of clear cut chances, but, had enough to win on another day. We were not overly busy at the other end in my opinion. Neither keeper really had to pull a top drawer save.
A bit of effing and blinding today between both sides, but, handshakes and good wishes at the end. Best of luck to Grangevale, and, a good performance will be needed by anyone to beat them.
Overall ref was ok. Two big decisions didnt go our way, but they will another day. Thats cup football.
To be honest Olachico i was near the other goal for the penalty shout, but looking at the immediate reaction from your players i can see what you mean. Maybe the fact that it was Skilly and the ref thought he was big enough to ride that tackle. There was no shortage of commitment by both sides today in an enjoyable game for the neutral.;)
We played Ard na Laoi last week and beat them 6-3 at home. Yesterday we had to travel to theirs, we lost 1-0. They were hungry after we walloped them last week and defended well yesterday especially in the last 20mins.
I agree with you DCross. happened to us aswell last year. Played Dunbar first two games of the season. We only got 1 point from them two games. Dunbar pulled out only a couple of weeks later leaving us chasing everyone as they all got 6 points.
If we had not played them before they pulled out we could have easily been promoted but i don't think the secretary looks at it from a clubs point of view. He is just tryin to fulfill all fixtures ASAP.
Coachford 1 - 5 Park Utd
Park Utd B 2 - 1 Glen Celtic
Great results for both teams. First team 5 - 0 up at half time,took the foot off in the second half.Great performance from what i heard.If we can keep picking up points on our travels we might be there or there abouts come May.
Second team had a fantastic win on Saturday.Like Timmypav said we were the hungrier side and deserved the 3 points.
It was a pity we werent playing on main field Timmy but other pitch isnt that bad.
Well Littleman, I certainly wouldn't agree with your lack of confidence statement on Grattans FAI runs. I knew most/all of that Grattan team and one thing they never lacked was confidence. Anyone who spoke to them before or after games regardless of the opposition could see that. I think you are doing them and your club a great disservice, on the day these tight games are decided by the width of a post or a referees decision or indeed a players decision. You went on to talk about the Oscar Traynor team having/needing a little luck, well surely that's exactly what was missing then??
I was offf viewing houses in the Kanturk area over the weekend and saw the game V ballyvolane. I agreed to look at houses provided we (I) could watch the match, seemed like a fair tradeoff to me. Kanturk looked a good side and might surprise a few teams this year.