Aye sounds well good-was going to head up with the family last year but ma bro was ill.....hopefully this time will heading up :DQuote:
Originally Posted by Babysis
Printable View
Aye sounds well good-was going to head up with the family last year but ma bro was ill.....hopefully this time will heading up :DQuote:
To be honest last year the line up was poor, and it wasnt the greatest. the year before that was brilliant. It should be better being in Trafalgar rather tahn the southbank. The irish post should be giving out more info soon.Quote:
Originally Posted by liam88
Aye the Irish post gave good coverage last time.....thwy had that eejit lass Sinead O'Conor "singing" last year didn't they :rolleyes:Quote:
Quote:
Ireland v France in the rugby the day before, that'll be some weekend! :D
That's a good line-up this year - will definitely be heading along for it.Quote:
I remember the last Leicester Sq Paddy's Day well. Sweet lord - a monster night out. Much nearer to various hostelries than the South Bank, so more conducive to a big one.
this wil be my 3rd year. Fantastic craic. much better in traflagar. Ronnis drew was excellent the year before last. Did all the classics to clse the show.
Is everyone still up for the next Foot.ie London meet being a trip to see AFC Wimbledon next Saturday (26th) followed by beers and banter etc ?
Should be a beauty....!
hopefully im not scheduled for barwork that night.. if so im on!
I think so, all depends on the finances. just back from a weekend in Derry, and it hit my wallet hard.
How was the Maiden City Babysis ? Where did you go out at night ? Shame there were no games on the hallowed turf of the Brandywell for you to savour...!Quote:
It was a cracking weekend. Went over for a 30th birthday party in the Post office social club off the strand road. Then on Saturday, I spent most of the day recovering before hitting the Metro for the Man u game, then the Quiet man to catch up with more people I knew and then was meant to go to Downeys but it was rammed, so headed back to the quiet man. Sunday was spent in Lawrences Bar/The Loft on Dungiven road watching the Celtic game. Really good weekend, but so so much drink :D :D
The Post Office Social Club is a big Derry City haunt. You may even have spied them handing out membership packs for the 2005 season in there.Quote:
Don't know the Quiet Man or Lawrence's Bar, but sounds like they're on the Waterside which would explain it.
Did you do any sight-seeing ?
You could've caught Institute beating Larne 3:0 on the Waterside on Saturday. But then again, if you like semi-decent football and keeping warm then you did well to not go ! :D
The quiet man if I remember rightly is down a side ally off shipquay street, but Lawrences is on the Waterside. I was too hung over to very much at all. I would have been up for a trip to the Brandy well. Met the fella that scored the winning goal against celtic when they played there some years ago in a tournament for Derry city. Met a fella from Finn Harps too. The post office club was great. I may well be in the Derrry Journal, as they were there taking photos. Wanted pics of everyone that came over from England, god knows what we looked like!! It was 70s fancy dress
Good to see the security forces keeping an eye on potential troublemakers. ;)Quote:
Very good!! We managed to convince the woman there were people there form pretty much any country you could name. Think I may have been in another pic of people from Australia :D :DQuote:
Originally Posted by Peadar
Quote:
Don't be surprised if you get stopped in the airport on your way to the Faroes. :D
I would be very suprised if I get stopped at the airport, as I am going by ferry :p Anyway i got stopped leaving Derry and had my bag completely searched. Not embarrasing at all :rolleyes:Quote:
Originally Posted by Peadar
Doh! :DQuote:
Think that's normal up there because it's the only place I've ever been searched.Quote:
Did they find bathrobe and toiletries from the hotel in your bag? ;)
The hotel was a cheapo travel lodge, no bathrobe, no toiletries, but to be fair with the amount of pubs in Derry there was little time spent in there so no bother. As for being searched, its happened a few times going over and coming back. Im used to setting off the machines now.
Wimbledon v Kingstonian on Sat, ill have to count myself out cos housemates 30th on Friday, so i had to swap shifts to get that night off at the bar, so working Saturday night now. But if anyone’s going to the game, call on up to The Oak, Richmond Road, Kingston for a few pints after, Ill be serving so call on up for the post-match banter if ye guys are on!