Decky you and pauro must be the same person posting!!! do ye ever read others posts?! :D
Printable View
Decky you and pauro must be the same person posting!!! do ye ever read others posts?! :D
Jaysus, lads looks like the curse of the "Newbie" has struck again:-
http://www.rte.ie/aertel/221-01.html
We're not getting much luck with some of our young lads over the last few years Shane, David Meyler, Colin Healy, Terry Dixon and I suppose Carl Magnay.
Wish him all the best - fingers crossed.
Some Curse!!!!!! The lad nearly died!
http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2010/0522/duffys.html
I've had some freak accidents on a football pitch.... but my life was never in danger. Thankfully he's alright now.Quote:
FAI medical staff say the 18 year old's life was saved as a result of the operation carried out by Gerry McEntee at the Mater Hospital.
just wondering how would they know what was wrong with him to perform that? would he have collapsed or passing blood? anyway well done to whoever spotted it and saved him.
Makes you wonder though how these things can happen so simply and yet can be so fatal!!!!
Finally, i thought they played the u23s a few days ago? did they play them twice?
Best wishes to the lad, lets hope he has a speedy recovery.
Give him the all clear doc
Get well soon
He's getting the expected charitable response from 'our friends' in the North.....
My brother is a doc. I asked him about Shane's injury and its implications career-wise.
He was of the opinion that he should be able to make a good recovery and that an injury of this kind would probably not put his career in jeopardy. In terms of recovery, he compared it to other serious abdominal injuries such as perforated bowel (suffered by Shay Given who obv recovered very well) or even a burst appendix. These are extremely serious injuries in that they need to be treated/repaired ASAP or you are toast but provided this happens a good recovery should follow.
Obviously however there could be a physcological impact that could affect his performance level but the lad seems to be of very stong character so lets hope he comes back soon and continues with the great progress he's made to date.
Serious plaudits to the Irish medical team and the staff at the Mater.
The thoughts of an 18 year old losing his life on a pitch playing for Ireland is too dreadful to contemplate.
Devastated for him to hear this. Hope he has a speedy recovery and this won't be career-threatening or anything of the sort. It sounded very serious.
Very freaky stuff indeed.
Though, if it had to happen, the timing could not be better.
He's young, fit and should mend.
If there are any positives at all to take from this, at least it's not mid-season and it shouldn't impede any hopes of him pushing for first-team action when the season recommences, assuming he will make a full recovery, please God.
Cheers for the info. Any idea how long would these types of injuries take to mend? Wasn't Given out for around two months?
He will be fine, this is not a career threatening injury.
Get well soon Shane!
Get well soon Shane hope you'll be back playing soon. I'm sure we'll be cheering you on for many years to come.
Best of luck to Shane and his family.
I hope the kid makes a full and speedy recovery.
To be fair, on OWC.co.uk, there's been the odd comment of 'hope he never kicks a ball again' but the overwhelming response has been one of sympathy and good wishes, despite their feelings about his choice of team.
I generally hate that website and would not defend it, but they've done nothing wrong here.
Best wishes to Shane and his family, quick recovery and thank God he was looked after as well as he was.
I must second Shaneker's reply above.
The reaction on OWC, a website that I generally like, has been sympathetic.
There was one post which was, shall we say, inappropriate...but I would put it down more to an ill-advised use of banter, as opposed to malice.