looks like it would be a massive can of worms for FIFA to open
Printable View
looks like it would be a massive can of worms for FIFA to open
I'll be curious to read what the Royal Moroccan FA will put in their presentation to CAS.
Perhaps the RMFA truly believed there was a gentleman's agreement existing between themselves and Spain, that Munir would not be capped in a competitive game, therefore the relevant crystal clear international eligibility statute should not apply to him.
Why would FIFA open that can though?
It would jam another nail into the coffin of international football. What sort of weird gentleman's agreement could an FA have with another FA that says "Grand yeah, select him on the bench but don't let him play. Cheers lads". Bizarre.
http://www.espn.co.uk/football/europ...orocco?src=com
Very hard to argue very special dispensation after comments like these. I can't see this being successful at all and think it would be a bad idea if it were
That's the one,
the same sort of a gentleman's agreement that the totally deluded IFA believed existed, believed that it overrode FIFA statutes and ended up being a large part of their submission to CAS.
Ranks in legal argument, just above fluff and below a chinese whisper.
What else can the RMFA put in their submission, at least nothing of any substance, so one has to examine precedent, where out and out whacko submissions were made to CAS by deluded FA's
The IFA just happened to come to mind.
Special dispensation is usually argued for because of an unusual/unique set of circumstances, but I haven't seen any such circumstances mentioned at all (yet, anyway) as to why his case is exceptional in that sense.
What examples of special dispensation (if any) exist?
On a related story the IFA insisted on playing the british national anthem prior to the irish cup final between Cliftonville and Coleraine on saturday. I also witnessed a Cliftonville fan having an irish tricolour removed from them on the way in to the ground by security staff, however there were a good few union jacks and 'ulster banners' being waved in the Coleraine end from what I could see. Makes a bit of a nonsense of all this football for all stuff that the IFA come off with.
http://www.irishnews.com/news/northe...final-1322470/
Yeah, they don't help themselves do they. Be funny if Paul Smyth was reading it and thinking, y'know what, f~*k ye, I'm off south.
Well I didnt see anything on it but I was a bit behind them and by the time I got closer the security guy had the flag wrapped up into a ball. A friend took a video of it so I will check with them but we assumed it was because the flag wasn't club colours.
http://http://www.irishnews.com/news...otest-1323100/
As expected there has been outrage from the DUP types. I wonder do they get this annoyed when players from a nationalist background bow their heads during the UK anthem when playing for NI. Not really sure what the IFA are playing at like especially given the fact that it wasn't played at the last 2 finals we were in.
Also doubt that FIFA/UEFA would ever allow a switch to the LoI even if the club did ask for it.
The quotes from your man Bryson are bloody hilarious. Manages to accuse the Nationalists of having a "narrow political agenda" whilst spouting some Grade A narrow-minded bigotry himself. There's a skill involved in that somehow.
Nice to see former Derry gaelic footballer Eoin Bradley was on the scoresheet for Coleraine. I wonder how loud he sang GSTQ.
Bradley's goal was pure GAA, the way he chipped the keeper but that was probably lost on a few down in that corner. He then proceeded to remove his shirt to show off the large celtic cross tattooed between his shoulder blades. The thing is Coleraine's support is fairly mixed not to mention the team, but it's a bit like mixed towns getting bedecked in loyalist flags in the summer regardless of the town's demographics everyone else just shakes their head and get on with it. Fleggers love a fleg.
Fleggers gonna fleg........
Keown and Scannell to NI? Looking like it: https://www.balls.ie/amp/football/se...ireland-389351
Quotes from the poacher O'Neill here: https://www.belfastlive.co.uk/sport/...nnell-14680201
Question for the experts here.
Following a discussion with a few friends I was wondering if a granny qualified Irish player has a son born in England are they a)entitled to an Irish passport and b) entitled to play for Ireland? Seeing as how they would technically be 3 generations removed from anyone born here.
I'll bow to someone who can tell me to the contrary, but I think the answer is no. As you say, they wouldn't have an Irish grandparent born here and so wouldn't qualify for the passport. I remember Danny Invincible citing Aiden McGeady once as having said he considered having his children born in Ireland as they don't qualify for an Irish passport because their father qualified through his grandparents.
If the granny-qualified player becomes an Irish citizen before he has a son, then yes, the son is entitled to an Irish passport (and, as I understand it, all descendants in perpetuity are similarly entitled to it, as long as they keep availing of their citizenship before they have their kids).
See Type E here: http://www.citizensinformation.ie/en...r_descent.html
But I don't think he would be eligible for the Irish team on that basis alone.
Think i did this for the Algeria squad at the last World Cup but had a look at the Morocco squad there- per Wikipedia, only 6 of their 23-man squad were born in Morocco. 8 were born in France and 5 in the Netherlands. Spain, Belgium and Canada make up the remainder. Interesting.
noticed this earlier, Leyton Orient signed Letterkenny born Dale Gorman. However, he's playing for Northern Ireland U21s, having also played for their U17 and U19 sides. Can't find how he qualifies for the North, although presumably through parentage.
Someone got to the bottom of that a while ago on here. His father, anyways, is former Finn Harps player and manager Anthony Gorman, who I think is a Donegal man himself. He played a few seasons for Irish Leagues clubs so may have married a woman in that area. Dale went to secondary school in Derry and played for NI schools which is how he progressed into the NI underage side, from my recollection
https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-africa-44736780
The emboldened bit isn't true, is it?Quote:
Fifa's nationality rules
Footballers who have played a competitive international for one team cannot switch to another national side.
But this rule has been relaxed to allow footballers to change nationality from junior to senior level.
Friendlies are not binding - so Diego Costa was able to switch to Spain after playing friendlies for Brazil, as did Belgium's Nacer Chadli after a Morocco friendly.
Players with no blood connection to a country are only allowed to represent it if they have lived and played there for five years.
But this is different for refugees, who can play upon receiving citizenship without having to wait to wait five years.
In general that statement has a (moral) veracity because the refugee has lost the citizenship of the birth country possibly due to illegitimate actions on behalf of the birth country or possibly for some other outstanding compelling reasons the person has had to exit the birth country. The player is stateless because of circumstances beyond his/her control. As soon as the refugee (footballer) satisfies the adopted country's citizenship rules, then FIFA are also satisfied. Offhand though, 5 years sounds a regular period of residence unless a citizenship application is fast forwarded with political intervention.
If citizenship was granted within a 5 year period, FIFA would require paperwork evidence of refugee status in order to be satisfied, like any decent bureaucracy. I don't see anything out of the ordinary with this, the world's social infrastructure is in a state of constant flus and FIFA try to keep up with protecting the sporting civil rights of the player. FIFA ain't all bad. The rules of eligibility go a long way to supporting the footballers right to play international football.
Isn't that how Xherdan Shaqiri plays with Switzerland? He's actually from Kosovo with no blood connection to Switzerland.
He's living there since the age of 1 though. He'd have residency long ago
Michael Duffy was just on Off the Ball and asked what international side he wanted to play for. He said he would refuse neither O'Neill "but if I had to choose, I'd play for the Republic."
https://m.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/spo...-37255968.html
This all got lost in the Rice drama yesterday but O'Neill has very clearly confirmed that he's hoping to bring Michael Duffy into the Ireland fold. Positive new that. He could have a good career ahead of him. It's also positive that O'Neill isn't afraid to approach a person born in the six counties, although Duffy has clearly stated he'd play for either but Ireland would be his preference.
Lads Can anyone explain how okoflex is english eligible? My Understanding was It was because he was in School there From 11 to 16 but is that rule Is just a home nations rule ? Thanks
It's not a rule for, I suspect, good reason. The rule is five years continuous residency over the age of 18. FIFA make exceptions in the cases of children who were born in one country and grew up in another who don't have nationality through their parents on a case-by-case, but it's not in the rule book itself.
Think, I clarified this before.
Dale Gorman, was born in Altnagalvin Hospital in Derry, but he has always lived and went to school in Letterkenny, Co. Donegal. His mother and father are also from Donegal. He played for Donegal Schoolboys in all the national competitions. He captained the Northern Ireland U21 team on Thursday.