Doesnt matter whther its 50 0r 5000000 to 1 if they are not going to win it!!!:D
Printable View
Doesnt matter whther its 50 0r 5000000 to 1 if they are not going to win it!!!:D
to be honest with you I think Pike (6-1) and balla (15-2) are very short odds for both teams and probably bad value.
Looking at that Carrick at 10-1 seem the best bet - especially if they get a few home draws
carrick are not as strong as they were in previous years. if clonmel town can get all players fit they will take stopping. favourates have to be killester but i think a good outside bet would be grattan united
michaels decent enough bet will take beating at home. have prob best back 4 in country and prob most prolific junior striker around in paul kennedy. he got 37 goals last year with clonmel celtic and looks on course for that again this year with the saints
St Peters Athlone would be a good bet at 33/1 with home draws along the way. Couple of players with LOI experience signed for them this season
Yeah would agree that 33 to 1 is a big price... from what ive seen very strong centre halfs and front 2,and are strong at home seen them beat malahide at weekend malahide kept the ball better but ST peters created more chances and deserved to win.Very hard to look past killester but think pike rovers or castlebar celtic from what i hear will be up there and ballymun have great tradition.plus cork sides are always strong...
you're right...either does it matter if you're 28/1:D, newtown don't have a cat's in hell chance of winnin the thing:p(not that they said they did or anything), 28s is way too short...
have a feeling pike could do it, should have back them at 16/1 last week each way when ladbrokes were offering the first 4 places
The form book goes totally out the window lads to be honest.T'is all about gettin either a home draw or bein able to step your game up away from home.The odds are actually only pumpin some up an takin the pressure off others.
For instance,Balls your point about Kennedy scoring 37 last year and havin an excellent back 4 are all very good points but do you think your odds do that justice.We also have a striker that scored 37 goals last season an got 2 junior an 1 amaeture caps for himself We won the Cork Aul Premier at a canter .We have lost only 2 league games since season 05/06,got to the quaters of the Fai last year .Yet we are 20/1.
Pike,Michaels/Killester are very very strong at home as are just about everyone else at this stage.Its when you take them or anyone else away is when it starts to crumble.Ask the Pike lads if Killester had to come to Cork to play Grattan for instance would they expect Killester to get a result.By the same token I'dont think the we would be especially delighted to be goin up to Pike.Tough tough place to try to get a result.And their just one of the fav's to win
Even on recent form our last 6 games are as good if not better than any one else in the country P/6 W/6 F/21 A/0.Thats in 3 Fai games,2 Mjc an 1 Aoh game so havin a 7/2 or a 100/1 to play in the next round dosent really matter to us,they game dose'nt get any easier or harder because of your odds.Its recent form you should be lookin at when the Fai is comin at ya.The bookies look at how ye have done in the last few seasons to cast their odds,tis how a team is doin this season and especially of late should be what we will be lookin at.
you're right - logically no chance but the cup is all about how you perform on the day. The main thing is that we are in the draw for last 32 and will be there with a fighting chance of making the last 16. Its great to be there so lets wait and see what the draw throws up and take it from there.
Lads save your money for Leopardstown next week, Killester are a country mile ahead of the rest, home or away it doesn't matter, they just have too much quality. Pace, skill, toughness, experience, lethal finishers, mean defence, all good ball players, I will remind you in May that nobody in Junior Football is anywhere near their level right now. Much as it pains me to say it.
did they only win the last game (at home) vs shangan by 1-0, and this is against a team a division "below" killester, its grand saying they're unstoppable but away from home, dodgy home decisions (we've all been on the receiving end of those away from home) and a tough opposition on a dodgy pitch, it could come down to luck and bottle
the next 2 rounds are still hit & miss but then most upsets will be out of the way, it'll come down to whatever big guns are left in the cup for the last 8 and at that stage its hard to stay with the big boys on decent pitches and ref's that wont fcuk ya cause there's too many eyes watching, just to let everyone know if you do get an away draw you are entitled to linesmen but need to ask the home league to supply them if they're not on the original fixture, chances of being raped by 3 officials goes down considerably as opposed one crooked version, but i'm not saying ref's are crooked, we all know they're stand up honourable fellows to a man
2fm on sunday morning it is, football factory, away to chelsea, fcukin sweet !
good on ya le tizz....once again you are to the point without goin over the top like the small fella again!!!!! just as well we are gettin used to his rantin and ravin...just hope the rest of the country know to take him with a pinch of salt... well done on a crackin first half of the season and best of luck for the coming months to all...have a goos festive season and as far as the new year is concerned...LET THE GAMES BEGIN.......UP CORK
i'm enjoying his posts tho thirdeye, ya gotta hand it to him for self confidence
great year for ye all up in o'neill park, keep under the radar and working away at what ye've built up to now, we'll give ye a decent run in the league but as champions ye wont give anything away easy, should be interesting come may
we're off in the mjc on the 30th (bound to be a lovely crisp morning up in glenvale), both of us then with away ties to "lesser" limerick teams but away from home ya gotta be ruthless to be successfull, we'll see how it pans out
between us we'll try to keep weeman with his feet on the ground, enjoy the big day, besta luck vs marys and we'll see ye in the new year for some cork superiority complexes on the march up the country, giant killing spree on the horizon, look out fai you have been warned !
corcaigh abu
Rebel rebel rebel,rebels everywhere.Seems to me letizz everyone up the country has buckets loads of the self belife so I,sorry we could do with a little ourselves may be. Nothin wrong with the ball we play in Cork,the rest of the country can write us off if they want as non runners.Agree with you on the Killester point,dont know if i'd fancy them so much if they were drawn a little further down south and maybe a little less level than they have been used to.............As for me an my honesty(or rantin or ravin as ye put it) about what I may perceive as the truth,well that just me.
Made the trip to Dungarvan. What beat us on Sunday was being not match sharp and that is from not playing football regularly. Gave away poor goals while the Louisburgh Lion and Horks got us back right in it. Game could have gone either way but after going 3-2 down, we never threatened Dungarvan's goal. Dungarvan are well organised, quick and fit. However, the trip will be more remembered for the hospitality given to us by Dungarvan. We were present for their lotto draw, visited a couple of the pubs and had a late drink in the hotel. The Dungarvan Sec. brought some of the crew to the clubhouse on Sun. Morning and gave a guided tour and gave tea. The clubhouse was opened for the Liverpool V M*******er United game and the supporters were there for that. The tribe were treated to tea at half time and at the end, there was a great spread of food and the supporters bus was not allowed to leave until everyone on board got a plate of sausages, chicken and potato wedges. Everyone was treated like a lord. There was a presentation made to Westport United on Saturday evening also. A big thank you to Dungarvan Utd AFC for their wonderful hospitality and I hope that every club left will be hoping for an away draw, just for the hospitality alone. The Spirit of the FAI Junior Cup is well and truly alive. Dungarvan is the Westport of Waterford.
Abbey you lost?Didn't ye get knocked out last week?
well done too all the limerick teams who competed last weekend...
best of luck to all who are left in competition..
Killester drawn at home to Ballynanty
Balla away to killester should be a cracker.We are delighted with the draw ,if ur going to win tournaments then u have to beat the best
Anyone have the full draw?!
Thanks
Killester Utd or Shangan Utd V Ballynanty Rovers
St. Kevins Boys V Ballina Town or Boyle Celtic
Dungarvan Utd V Milford Utd
Kinsale FC V St. Michaels FC
St Patricks FC or Corduff Utd V St. Peters Athlone
Killarney Celtic v Carrick Utd
Crumlin Utd V Regional Utd or Lisselton Rovers
Trinity Corinthians V Newtown
Ballyphehane Celtic or Ballymun Utd V Moyville Celtic
Richview FC or Navan Cosmos FC V Manorhamilton FC
Cherryorchard FC or Ballyouster Utd V Baldoyle Utd
New Ross Celtic V Grattan Utd or Clonmel Celtic
Illies Celtic V Castlebar Celtic
Redcastle FC V Pike Rovers
Evergreen FC V Clonmel Town
West Utd V Douglas Hall FC
http://www.fai.ie/index.php?option=c...k=view&id=2742
Anyone know anything about redcastle FC
All I've managed to get so Far is that there from Donegal??
Still Killester ALL THE WAY, nobody there to touch them.
Green Hoop they would eat youse for breakfast home or away, rabbit holes or no rabbit holes :eek:
balla and killester will be a smashing game, if there is any team left in the competiton that could go to killlester and win balla are one of them
Ah Yes of course they would,sure they've won it what 1 time in the last what 82 years the competition has been running..What from I heard they struggled last week...no junior team is unbeatable,if you say otherwise your not the full thing,especially away from home...
green hoop,we(west united)played redcastle up there last year in the last 64,we beat them on peno's there a fine side,they also have a great set up and a fine pitch,but it can get awful windy,it's out on the inishowen peninsula!it's a tough one for ye,as are all away games at this stage of the comp!
just to let you know the ref was absolutely brutal up there and very biased towards the home team!
Thats right Green Hoop. 1 time in the last 82 years Killester have won it. Which is exactly once more than Pike (but about 6 or 7 less than Fairview).
nice one dr. mad nothing riles a hoop more than waving the proddies in their faces....................
What in fairness has Fairview got to do with this topic? Woo they won it 7 times ,thats 6 more than Killester and Portmarnock.Honestly mate fairly weak attempt to rile anyone up...Now push off out of the FAI junior cup forums you lost last week,don't think you've any other business here?,take your grievences out else where,I'm not the one trying to turn the thread into a free for all...Go on living with your past glories,its all you probably have at this stage..
lads green hoop has nothing to do with pike rovers hes just on here stirring trouble
Anyone know anything about redcastle FC
All I've managed to get so Far is that there from Donegal??[/QUOTE]
Redcastle are from Inishowen and its a balls of a drive, it is very windy up that side of the country and you cannot actually go any further as regards travelling.
They are managed by a very wealthy man and have a great set up and are top (I think) of the Inishowen league.
This will be a very tough game for any team especially with the travelling involved.
All I'll say is if you are travelling up to watch the game then bring your hat scarf and gloves.
1 Quigleys Point Swifts 11 8 2 1 29 12 17 26
2 Redcastle United 9 7 2 0 30 7 23 23
3 Clonmany Shamrocks 11 7 2 2 23 8 15 23
4 Carn 11 6 3 2 25 17 8 21
5 Aileach Fc 11 4 0 7 20 35 -15 12
6 Moville Celtic 6 2 2 2 13 12 1 8
7 Cockhill Celtic 11 2 2 7 14 32 -18 8
8 Dunree United 10 2 1 7 20 31 -11 7
9 Illies Celtic 7 1 2 4 16 23 -7 5
10 Culdaff Fc 9 0 2 7 10 23 -13 2
Only the one bus going up I believe for the over night trip,players+ Whatever space left on the bus.
http://www.inishowenfl.com/Home/tabid/220/Default.aspx
Decent site for Inishowen League and info on Redcastle.
12th may I ask why people are allowed dump on Pike Rovers constantly?
I have no problems deleting posts for language/flaming/trolling etc but if your going to do that at least be consistent with everyone.Cheers.
spare a thought for Milford - round trip of about 575 miles!
Noddy, the full draw is posted one page back in this thread, Milford (from Donegal!) play Dungarvan (from Waterford!). I think Limerick to Inishowen is a mere Sunday drive compared to this journey!
EDIT: Im not involved with Milford but they are one of the sides in my area and would know a few of their players