They lost 3-0 to Hibs/FoyleQuote:
how did westport under 16's do in the fai barry cup last weekend?
Printable View
They lost 3-0 to Hibs/FoyleQuote:
how did westport under 16's do in the fai barry cup last weekend?
Just the fixtures involving Galway Teams unfortunately.
Link
Goals from Horks, Louisburgh Lion and Navin secured our three points against Claremorris to regain the Super League Title!! Championeezzzzz!!:D
Sunday is officially Super Sunday. At 12:00, the B team, if they defeat S&F United away, they become Premier Division champions. At 3:00, the first team takes on old rivals, Castlebar Celtic in Milebush Park in the AIB Cup final. Victory will ensure the domestic treble and the biggest trophy haul for the junior team since 1974.:)
Come out in force to support the red and black!!:D
I can sum up the desperation that exists within Castlebar Celtic to win the AIB Cup after getting the Eircom U.21 game against Salthill Devon postponed. The pressure is on Mr. Dykes and his team to deliver. A season without a domestic trophy would be seen as failure within the Celtic hierarchy. Westport United, on the other front, have not lost a cup final since 1999 at junior level and have only lost two since 1987.
No pressure on winning Mayo Junior titles. The club has moved on to bigger and better things, but yes the Salthill game was called off to allow him to bring in two U-21 players (also had to play 16 yrs old Niall Walsh once paul walsh had to cry off due to injury) for this game and this was enough to see us over the line. I see in the Mayo News David Horkan (Utd best player on the day) was on his knees begging Gavin Dykes to sign him for Celtic!
The silly little boy, he should have been drop kicked out the the technical area for that carry on.
full report:
http://www.mayonews.ie/index.php?opt...2510&Itemid=39
Rumour has it that the picture is shortlisted for the Pullitzer Prize in photojournalism. Dykes had the face of thunder!!:eek::D
Friday 12th October 2007 will be a significant day for Westport United. Gerry and Danny will be back on Irish soil after their year in Oz. John Moran is reported to chauffeur the stars back to a serious homecoming that is as monumental as Pope John Paul II visit to Ireland in 1979.
Former player, Domonik Zareba, was in town over the weekend and he was in great form and he met up with all the faithful.
The lads are badly needed based on the balance of the team on Sunday. I was very surprised that your team finished the game with five centre-halfs (JL, EMcH, PB, LJ,& O'C) what is the manager thinking, is he been told who not to drop. Looks that way on Sunday.
Yes, he has been removed as the Junior team manager if what I hear is correct and has been promoted to manage the clubs EIRCOM LEAGUE team. That's the fall out when the club do not see Junior football as their main priority and are now involved in the EIRCOM LEAGUE.
Its a summary of what Rafa is hoping to achieve, squad rotation or the need to in Westports case. In this case it worked successfully, for other teams including Liverpool is has fallen on its face.
It calls for strong players and characters to be able to step in for 1 match and sit on the bench for the next, the baby faced assassin been a prime example of this.
Westport have to be commended for this, it has worked out well this season, will it work next or work again, who knows.
Have you any plans online or dates on the developments for the pitches TB?
Yes PB summary for once was well balanced and not a PR excerise for Utd. The one issue he did not mention was the lack of new young player coming into the squad. I very disappionted with a number of the Utd players last Sunday based on how I have seen them play in the past, maybe an off day. I was surpised that he picked out BK as a new Centre-half, pace would not be his strongest point. With McL, DS & DC coming back, this will give the team the attacking option that was badly missed last Sunday. I do fancy Celtic (if U-21 players are used) & Utd to have a big say in the Connacht Cup but based on Sunday well off the pace for a tilt at the FAI Cup.
Who will be the next manager of Westport United after today's reportedly dramatic events with the gaffer? Will the dream team of Cuey and Bunsy make a comeback? Any confirmation on BO'C's departure?
Learned today that no job is safe in football. Two weeks ago its was Jossie. Now its been confirmed to me that Brendan O'Connor has been shown the door, after failing to win the A.I.B. Cup. Despite he having won The Super League, and westro Cup.
Can't comfirm, I have reason to believe, that number of players were not happy in the way he ran the team, by playing himself or his style of management.
It appears its a sad day one way or another.
Hope he Brendan gets back in the game
Well that has to b the daftest decision yet, has he someit else lined up?
Funds not there maybe to keep him?
I heard that a number of supporters were not happy with his team selection last Sunday and some players were not happy with him as their manager. Will Cuey leave Westport GAA team after getting them relegated out of the Senior Championship, didnt see him as a man that would run from a challenge. Would be great for Utd to get him back with PB. By the way what happened to your Galway player JO'B, he didnt last long. What targets will the new manager be set?
What ever the out come is there egg on those faces who fired him B.O'C
At the end of the day the manager has to be able to manage without interference was it some supporters were not happy continue paying him, so they want to call the shots, on who plays.
He only lost on penalty shoot out.
would he been sacked if he won? I dare say yes.
Reason you cant pay someone and development at the same time.
Looks like big changes ahead.:confused:
Sounds like some of the players had the knives out for the manager !!! What sort of a committee would listen to these spineless players who were not happy to win a league & cup double....
It's not often you get a chance to win an FAI Junior cup,and when you do win it,it requires alot of luck along the way.Was he sacked because he did'nt win it ?
Sounds like some of the older players are lookinng for the job themselves ??
You don't have to be liked to be a manager !! You have to do the job to the best of your ability..God help who takes up the position next .
Sad day for Westport,sad when a committee listens to a shower of cry babies who met a manager who did'nt take any of there bu*ls*it..