Not the 300k you need anyway John 😉
Printable View
50k last year anyway
To raise the spirits of Cork folk comes the news that Robbie Benson is ruled out of this weeks league match against Bohs and thus remains unlikely to be in the cup final line up.
Yes I think I heard 50k is the new figure, almost sure this was announced by the FAI when finals moved to the Aviva. Previously, it was the clubs who took on the costs for the day and it would depend on the attendance if they made any money or in sometimes a loss ! Now the FAI guarantee 50k regardless of the attendance as they cover costs.
I suppose this could work out at close to 300k if a club won it from outside the top 3, as they’d get a euro spot also for it, but when was the last club to do that in the Aviva, possibly Derry ? (edit, I just googled it, they won the cup in 2012), don’t think they finished top 3 that year though.
100%. Always happy to see McEleney line up against us, especially in place of someone like Benson.
McEleney has proven he's a cracking player overall, but he has never turned up against us. Its an advantage when he plays. We seem to be his bogey team for whatever reason. That may change at some point, but I certainly don't fear his name on the team sheet.
Any word yet on how the Cup Final tickets are selling ?
I would agree McEleney hasn’t always turned up v Cork, but he’s a different player since the summer, his fitness and all round play has improved significantly. He also had a decent 60-70 mins in TC in the 1-0 win in late Sept. I`d fully expect him to line up alongside Shields in the middle for the final, with Murray / McGrath contesting the no 10 slot.
I wouldn't read too much into that game in September. Dundalk played well but City didn't turn up at all. I thin confidence was shot to pieces at that point and over the last few seasons our performances have tended to drop off significantly once the title has been decided. I think after the Sligo game our performances against Bohs and Dundalk in particular can be explained at least in part by the belief that the league was over and the intensity dropped out of our performances.
I expect we will perform with a much higher level of intensity in the cup final and there will be less space for the likes of McEleney to operate in. On the other hand, hes due a good performance against us so maybe this is the year he produces one.
I think Dundalk are a better team than us at this point and will probably win the Final, but I think it will be competitive and we will keep it close enough that we have a punchers chance. We can usually limit Dundalk to very few goal chances and we then only need to take one or two of our chances to win. As good as Dundalk were in that game in September, and as bad as we were, we still only lost one nil.
Agreed on the 1-0 scoreline and Cork restricting Dundalk to few chances, but at the same time it was as comfortable a win as Dundalk had in years against Cork, and not sure Rogers actually made a save?
Cup Finals are all about who turns up on the day, Dundalk will be odds on to win, but I think we also were favs last year too and against the league champions, so odds will count for nothing.
Am I better to wait to buy tickets on the day? I had a look at ticket master the other day and only tickets in the corner available. I presume there will be 20000 to 25000 there so maybe some areas of stadium won't be open.
John Caulfield has a go at getting some petty verbals started......
https://www.irishmirror.ie/sport/soc...field-13502826Quote:
Cork City boss John Caulfield blasts Dundalk for signing players they ‘don’t really need’
After he signed a rake of right backs maybe this is an area of expertise for him
John is out doing a bit of fishing I see. Good man, getting plenty of bites
Hi all,
I've 2 tickets for the cup final in the middle of the premium section of the east stand but can't make it on Sunday now.
I see they cost €30 each now on ticketmaster, but i bought them for the early bird price of €10 each. I'll let them go for the price i bought 'em.
If anyone is interested just message me.
To give Caulfield his fair dues, he is probably right about Dundalk signing players they 'don't really need'
According to journo James Rogers, Dundalk have used 25 players over their league and cup campaign - anything above that clearly not needed
(Cork, on the other hand, have been more prudent in using 30 of the players signed to the club)
And so Cup final week begins. The complete lack of media attention and buzz isn't surprising, but we could certainly do with something to spark it a bit. Will have to be something more creative than that first effort though. A good player rumour or something.
But he says he is not looking at what other clubs do so he wouldnt really be that clued in, especially at the Dublin market. I'm at a loss as to why every player dont just sign for Cork for nothing, everywhere else is not Cork so how can other clubs compete at all. Pre-contract signings to be announced any time soon....
I'm with you Nesta. I don't understand it either. I think the problem is they haven't experienced Cork. Once they do, they swear off going elsewhere in Ireland, the sensible ones anyway, a la Steven Beattie.
Kenny back on the 'the better team lost' last year train again. Good man Stephen, why stray from the favourites. Also, it's not their fault the games of low scoring! How could anyone blame them for not scoring more. Its our fault, for not just letting them score!
Silly season is truly back with a bang for the week.
Easy for the club to have 2 statements prepared in advance of the game so they're sorted either way. 'we won, yay' or 'we lost but we wrre the better team. Its not fair'.
Actually there are very strong rumours linking Beattie with a move to Dundalk. Apparently he wants to move back home due to family commitments and no amount of money from Cork would make him change his mind. Now we don't actually need him but because of that and the fact that he is a Dub we have to sign him. He's expected to get a lift home in the Dundalk team bus after the game.
I thought Stephen Kenny's comments were fair and measured when talking about why he thinks many neutrals are not enthused about another Dundalk v Cork final. He identified Corks style of play as being a factor. Even most Cork fans acknowledge that Caulfields style is hard on the eye and is primarily about containment
He could easily have taken the bait provided by JC in relation to 'unnecessary signings' and 'monopolising the Dublin market', and ridicule him for his nonsensical comments, but chose to keep his powder dry
He may be less restrained in his comments on Sunday evening
Ha, If Stephen Kenny called punched an old lady you'd say it's 'fair and measured' Ezekial. Kenny is giving out about our style because we don't bend over and take it.
Someone over on our forum mentioned that we've had 15 players in our squad this year who came through our youth system. There's no denying they cost less than lads coming from elsewhere.
I disagree that Stephen Kenny was 'giving out' about the Cork style in his press conference; it was more a case of him identifying it as being one of the reasons for neutrals not being enthused by another final between Dundalk and Cork.
In point of fact, he complimented the work rate of the Cork team and highlighted that it was difficult to overcome:
"But you have to earn it. Cork won't hand it to you. They don't give you a minute in possession and you have to absolutely earn everything."
I really have no idea how this fits in with the comments of either manager this week; although maybe you simply wish to highlight that Cork's budget is less than Dundalk's. That will be of little consolation if Cork end up as double runners-up this season
Stephen Kenny wasn't giving out about corks playing style just identifying cork as the reason the finals are so boring.....what could be more fair and measured than that... :) . I remember when we won the 4 in a row we didn't swoon at every utterance from mclouglin then...I blame sky sports.
This would be more believable if you picked literally any other player. Zero chance of it.
Ah yes 'fair and measured'. It's our fault ye don't score more. Well, yes Stephen. That is in fact half of the point of football. Stopping the opposition from scoring. Saying its not your fault you don't score more in those games is deflection and utter rubbish. Don't blame the opposition for your deficiencies in breaking them down.
The scrappy goal nonsense, measured? Better team lost? Measured?
It's not the best of wind up attempts, but pretending he wasn't looking to have a dig is nonsense.
Jim McLaughlin was a phenomenally successful manager and his 3-in-a-row titles in the 1980's are justifiably lauded by Rovers fans, both then and now. He too tended to be fairly measured and understated in his ways. I am just not so sure that the description extended to the Milltown fans
If that is your interpretation of what he said, you should really re-check your comprehension faculties.
Here is another direct quote for you to mangle
"We've set out to play. They've had a game-plan to sort of stifle and try and keep it tight,"
If you think this is unreasonable observation, by all means say so. But please spare so the invented nonsense about 'fault' and 'blame'
His post match comments on Sunday may, however, be more interesting
I'm surprised at you micls, don't you realise saint Kenny has never made a statement that wasn't the modern equivalent of the tablets on which the ten commandments were written. To be fair Einstein wasn't considered a genius by the locals