I was surprised when I heard Stan was going to be Irelands new manager.At first I was thinking bad choice but the more I think of it WHY NOT ?The man might do wonders for Ireland and Im going to give him a chance .
Printable View
I was surprised when I heard Stan was going to be Irelands new manager.At first I was thinking bad choice but the more I think of it WHY NOT ?The man might do wonders for Ireland and Im going to give him a chance .
He wouldn't but would he be any worse a choice than Staunton?Quote:
Originally Posted by Den Perry
Quote:
Originally Posted by ccfcgirl
I think that most people here will give him a chance, or at least get behind the team, however the issue for me is why does the Ireland job have to be Staunton's first foray into management. At least Aldridge has cut his teeth with Tranmere, albeit not so successfully (cup runs aside).
I think that if Staunton takes a job with the profile of Ireland without experience then he had better prepare for criticism, whether it is on forums or in the media.
And though I have said above I will give Staunton the benefit of the doubt initially, I will not have it rammed down my throat that because he is the manager we must back him (George Bush Style).
WHY NOT? because in international football we do not have the time to try our luck. Of all the candidates he was probably the worst possible selection (maybe aldridge was worse) I am not going to give him a chance. Its such an old boys club it sickens meQuote:
Originally Posted by ccfcgirl
Delaney and Staunton will probably release a single of "Dionne Warwick's classic "Thats what friends are for"....with Quinn, Charlton, Mccarthy, mcateer, babb and the rest on backing vocals
anyone is better than kerr, it was a nightmare watching us play to his instructions.
http://www.breakingnews.ie/story.asp...&n=10990316&x=Quote:
Steve Staunton would achieve his lifelong ambition by managing the Republic of Ireland, his father revealed tonight.
Tom Staunton was delighted his son was in line to manage the Republic after a long and distinguished international playing career.
Staunton’s appointment, which is expected later this week when he will form a managerial partnership with former England boss Bobby Robson, has also been welcomed by former players Ray Houghton and Tony Cascarino.
“He is elated, he is really, he is. He is thrilled, he is absolutely thrilled with it. He has a spring in his step again,” said Tom Staunton.
“I’m very happy for him because that was his ambition, to play football, to play for his country and eventually manage and there it is. It has happened in my lifetime so thanks be to God,” he added.
Speaking from the family home in Dundalk, Tom Staunton told RTÉ Radio he read the news in the papers yesterday before speaking to his son.
Mr Staunton recalled how the speculation mounted over the last few months since former manager Brian Kerr lost his job.
“It began I suppose when Brian Kerr lost his job with the FAI and speculation began as to who was going to take over, and within a few weeks his name was mentioned, and it was mentioned, and suddenly there he is,” he said.
“He’s not appointed yet, but that’s the way it seems to be going.
“He knew he was in the frame shall we say … But suddenly he is number one and it was his ambition to lead the team out for his country, that was his ambition after finishing football.”
So is the 1.08 on Betfair free money?
best smilies ever!Quote:
Originally Posted by Peadar
This is one of the most sensible comments I've read today. Steve Staunton showed exactly where his loyalties lay, in Saipan, and on and off the pitch throughout his irish playing career. His loyalties are and were to the Ireland football team...not Roy Keane, not Mick McCarthy, not the FAI!Quote:
Originally Posted by NeilMcD
If he can get the mostly mediocre current Irish players playing with half of the fight, spirit and dedication to the cause as he demonstrated himself all through his career, then this will be a brilliant appointment....and I for one support him getting a chance.
Steve Staunton may not sound as the option to manage Ireland, but look at Togo's record under Stephen Keshi. Never managed anybody in his life and got to the World Cup with a second rate African side. Was Nigeria's assistant manager though.
CARVER TO GET IRELAND COACHING ROLE
Bobby Robson is believed to have lined up John Carver to work with him in the new Ireland set-up.
Robson is set to be appointed Steve Staunton's assistant, with Carver taking up a coaching role.
Carver was assistant manager during Robson's five-year spell in charge of Newcastle, and was previously the club's centre of excellence director.
He is currently coaching at Leeds and is expected to continue in that role even if accepts the Irish post.
Staunton, Walsall's assistant boss, is poised to be given a four-year contract to succeed Brian Kerr, who left the post after the team failed to qualify for the World Cup finals.
However, the Football Association of Ireland has said that the appointment process for a new manager is ongoing and a announcement is not expected to be made for 10 days.
http://oneteaminireland.bravehost.com/
In fairness this setup is so weak that its bound to fall apart under any kind of pressure. i give the partnership less than a year and robson is gone and we're left with stan. I honestly cant believe the fupwits in there are that thick.....I swear ol Johny D wanna watch his back. He has no idea what he's doin....
my tuppence worth.
staunton/robson is a disasterous choice, but having a go at him is unfair. of course he will take the job despite the fact he will probably fail and his career will be in tatters. the villian here, as with most things wrong with irish football is delaney.
this man shafted every CEO that he worked for in the FAI and then care because being used to the FAI he hit the ground running and encroached on delaneys fiefdom. if anyone is naive enough to think kerr was sacked because of failure to qualify, look at the bargain basement replacements. kerr was sacked because he clashed with delaneys agenda and ego.
reality check lads, delaney deliberately did not get the best man (men) for the job. he wants someone based in the UK to fly in a week before the game and leave the day after and leave him alone to, ahem, run Irish football. what was he even doing on the selection panel, isnt he supposed to be on the admin side of things?
to get rid if kerr is one thing but to replace him after just onefull campaign with a man with no real experience and a 75 year old on a 4 year contract is farcical.
im with WeAreRovers on this. not one more cent into the FAIlures coffers for me until that cancer on the game is out of Merrion Square. this 'get behind him anyway' sh.ite is a dangerous attitude. until parasites like kilcoyne and delaney are removed from positions within the FAIlure that allow them to make calamatous mistakes, this nonsense will contine. Genesis my hole.
staunton will be a disaster and it will ruin him, while delaney is more untouchable. what happened to milo in the end?
Robson on his own would have being a great choice in my opinion. Staunton is a terrible choice but I'm not really shocked considering it's the FAI in charge of making that choice:mad:.
In fairness if ye feel that strongly about it why dont ye do something about it? Delaney is not untouchable but if you stop supporting you will achieve little and certainly not hurt Delaney. Don't throw in the towel! :)Quote:
Originally Posted by Roverstillidie
STAN AND BOBBY'S GREEN AND WHITE ARMY!
(oh dear god:o )
what? test the strength of the windows in merrion square? they are an unelected bunch, i cant exactly demand a recall election and have delaney removed and run for his job.Quote:
Originally Posted by onenilgameover
im voting with my feet and my wallet.
Quote:
sure, but he/they wouldn't be there if it wasn't for us. Fans have far more power than they realise IMO. if ye walk it seems like you'ill be cutting off your noise to spite your face.
so what should we do? cant protest in landsdowne, delaney et al have banned any show of dissent. they dont reply to email.Quote:
seriously, what?
Quote:
They haven't banned anything and would find it hard to if they tried...there's loads of stuff you could do...first of all you say you're gonna walk because of the set up/Delaney right? Well you could take that story to the papers. Some journo might agree with you and ye get the story out there. That hurts delaney and it worries him cos he knows if that kinda stuff snowballs (which it might do) then his position becomes unstable....and thats just one thing you could do on your own. If ye had backing you'd be in a much more powerful position.
there have been numerous incidents of banners being confiscated by stewards be it pro/anti keane or political stuff such as Palestinian or Tibetian flags. its quite worrying actually.Quote:
i can imagine the headlines. "Rovers fan hates FAI". Even the Hellrag wouldnt be bothered.
Yeah no offense but I wouldn't go with the Rovers Fan angle. If you're a passionate Ireland fan who cares about Irish football and one who believes that John Delaney is doing a dissevice to Irish Football..well even the Herald might buy that.
Anyway this is farely off topic...In fareness ye gotta give Stan and Bob a chance. It just seems that its so ill-thought out and ye know Delaney is gonna come out with a whole pile of bullsh!t to justify it.