What sport do they play? Is it developing social skills amongst the natives? :DQuote:
Originally Posted by joe_denilson
Printable View
What sport do they play? Is it developing social skills amongst the natives? :DQuote:
Originally Posted by joe_denilson
Castlebar ****** 4-1 Snugboro United
Outplayed.
Westport 1-0 S&F
Erris 1-1 Ballina Town
Manulla 2-3 Ballyheane
Did anyone hear about the ****** C-Ballyheane B abandonment yesterday?
Apparently Referree Loftus, turned down a stone wall penalty for ******. The Ballyheane manager was at a wedding or something, so someone was camcordering the match. So the ****** managers/supporters or whatever were saying "It's all on tape Harry, you'll see it was a penalty". Then Harry goes over to them, says, Your not bringing me up to any discipliniary hearings etc... And then he abandoned the game. It's probably not the whole story but if it's in any way true, it's a further indictment of the refereeing in the Mayo League.
Well the Celts are at it again and a referee had the balls to say enough is enough and walk off. Have any of ye witnessed the vitriol that pours forth from their supporters. It is incredibly rude and the port are heading the same way - However these are probably just the johnny come lately's. But seriously the ****** grounds are full of loud mouthed gits and the quicker the club runs them the better !!!!!
Gnasher says: That a match was abandoned for that is very unfortunate. That ref. is an alright guy, he's been at the game for years so why he did it is beyond me. He may have thrown a wobbly but he should know by now that the Mayo League are about as technologically advanced as a toilet brush! They would not have a clue how to use video evidence and I seriously doubt it if they could even be bothered. They're too busy trying to ban players for exorbitant amounts of time and telling teams that 'we're taking your players for the U-21 side that we love' and 'ye can all bugger off'.
If ref's start dropping out cos' of abuse it will mean the end of the league for all but the top teams, now that would be a shambles that even the Mayo League would want to avoid. (I think).
On the subject of giving ref's abuse, we all do it so get down off that high donkey you're on Mr. Mossy. Granted the level of abuse varies but it all depends on how it's said and who hears it. It's true that the townies may have more colourful language with which to abuse the ref. but believe me, I'm not going to stop because they've suddenly come over all sensitive. Some of the stuff you see the ref's let go would drive you to drink turpentine (never mind Smithwicks!), so some abuse is warranted. I've seen numerous occasions this season where ref's turn a blind eye to serious foul play because they don't like (or maybe are jealous) of the team they are refereeing. This sounds like sour grapes but just ask any supporter and they'll concur. Do Eircom League ref's need counselling? No. Fair enough they may get paid more than our ref's but they know they'll get some abuse do they just get on with it.
End of the day - match officials in Mayo get paid (supporters usually pay for this with gate and lotto etc.) so why should they keep quiet? If it was totally voluntary then it's a different story, they have every right to walk away.
Until then, they just have to grow thicker skin and stop being afraid of what the gimps in the Mayo League will do to them if they give that last minute penalty or sending off (even if it's the right decision).
I'm seriously thinking of complaining myself. The ref's are giving me a repetitive strain injury in my wrist from typing!!!!!!!!
lads,
keep it civil or the thread gets locked.
Lads,
we got a nice right up in the mayo news today i think we all got a mention well done Mayo news :)
Swinford v Snugboro game (last 40 mins) to be play again after ref amitted mistake in sending off player - lads what ye think of that?
I think the Snugboro coach was right in what he said. It sets a dangerous precedent. I suppose it means a lot to both sides given their respective places in the table but is it really the best solution?
What was the score of the game anyway? A draw?
Snugboro won it 1-0 was 1 up when sending off took place
What can one say. This is G.U.B.A. at it's height !!!
Why oh why oh why can't the clubs wise up and send these dinosaurs to their rightfull place - a MUSEUM
what will happen if swinford can turn game around win it have to play snugboro again win that too = 9points turn around thats serious in relegation fight!!!!! :eek:
Of all the crazy rulings by the mayo league this has to take the biscuit !
What kind of moronic commitee took this kind of decision. I have to agree with mossy, time to turf these pencil pushers out on their ears.
By the way if you think this decision was idiotic, watch out Westport and ****** theres something special in the pipeline for you.
Come on The Don - Elaborate on that juicy bit of insider info. you just posted.
What could they possibly do to us that they have not tried already, i ask you.
- Player Suspended for six games for pitch enroachment after substitution (rule book says a player striking another should only get four, and there was no striking involved).
- Playing Four games in fourteen days (all league matches). :eek:
Let them come on!
We have the Junior cup and the Mayo League can kiss my ***!
Apologies all;
It was four games in ten days,
Gnasher not too good at skool
I AGREED
its the wrong decision to be honest i think can you imagine what could happen to every game now!!!!!! its mad
Snugboro United 4-2 Conn Rangers
Semi Finals
7 August
S&F V Manulla
Snugboro V celtjc
Another local derby.
General feeling in the boro about the 35minutes replayed seems to be"What? Are they serious?" And then generally just move on. It won't be until Swinford beat us in 35 minutes that anyone takes it seriously. The manager, as quoted in the Mayo News, made a good point about precedent. Fair play to Swinford for appealing it, it wasn't their fault. I hope it is settled without replaying the game but if it is, Snugboro and i hope Swinford will play it without ill feeling towards each other. The game will be started at 1-0 Snugboro.
If a referee admits to sending off a player wrongly, the red card is rescinded and the result stands. End of story. :mad:Quote:
Originally Posted by swinfordfc
Who are you going to replace them with? If people do not want to join the committee, there is not an awful lot you can do.Quote:
Originally Posted by mossy