Well isnt the world great that everybody is different. And we do not all react the same to similar situations.
Printable View
Well isnt the world great that everybody is different. And we do not all react the same to similar situations.
Again though Keane stressed last night the reason he lost the plot in Saipan was being accused of faking injury. I'm sure Keane has had a few hard tackles on him in his career. He obviously feels very strongly about people accusing him of faking an injury, cheating, lack of honesty.
I agree that there's no justification for what he did but I'm just saying if a player did try to hurt Keane in a game he probably wouldn't feel half as bad about that then the screaming from Haaland or the accusation from McCarthy.
Jesus the audience at the Late Late Show were terrible.
Just to put it out there...............many of Haalands own teammates at the time werent too overly concerned at the treatment dished out to him by Keane - since he was very much disliked in the dressing room, and was a bit of a **** as they say!:)
so whats the problem?:p
I wonder what Roy would have to say to a player that did a serious injury to himself(not roy) while trying to injure or certainly do some damage to Roy.
I think Roy has different rules for others than himself.
Haaland probably did not realise that Keane was as seriously injured as he was and probably was within his rights to give Keane a mouthful for trying to injure him.
The worrying thing about Roy Keane is that though he had plenty of time to consider that he might deserve some verbals (at the least) from Haaland he could not work out that he may have brought Haalands response upon himself in the time he was recuperating from his injury.
Most normal people would think during this time that I (roy) was a bit of an idiot there and if it had happened to some else I would think they were an idiot.
They would probably let the matter rest there and move on older and wiser.
A physopath might take a different view and plan his actions accordingly.
Have any of you ever met Keane? Just curious what he's like when there's not a camera in his face....
http://www.rte.ie/aertel/221-01.html
Just thought that I would add this as another example of the Roy Keane school of "How to win friends and gain peoples respect"
Neil, I think you're going way over board on the Keane / Haaland thing. Players get innocuous injuries all the time* and opponents shout "get up there's nothing wrong with you" all the time. Part of the game. As Geysir says, the fact that he let it get to him so much & that he kept it in his head for so long, suggests something wrong with the way he thinks.
*I got a kick right in the middle of the shin one time, absolute agony but it was only bruised. The following week I was playing for my work team, none of whom knew about the previous injury. I misccontrolled a pass with no opponent anywhere near me. The ball bobbled up and hit me right on the part of the shin that was bruised. I crumpled to the ground in agony and not one other person on the pitch had a clue what had happened. I was told by about 20 different people to get up and stop faking it. I didn't try and maim any of them the following year :)
Keane played 67 times for Ireland. Between the time he got his first cap and his last cap, Ireland played 145 matches which means that Keane did not play in 78 matches. It would be interesting to know for how many of those matches in which he was named in the squad that he played on the weekend, was injured for the midweek international but was fit again for the following weekend. I can hardly see McCarthy making such a comment unless there was something element of suspicion in it. Seem to remember something about Keane pulling out of the second leg of the playoff against Iran in November 2001 but being fit days later to play for MU.
Strange that the other 22 in the panel going to the WCF turned up and played no problem?? Suppose they shouldnt have played Nigeria in friendly a few days later either, a game in which Keane 'risked' playing.
I am not condoning it I am understanding it thats all. What he did to Haaland was bang out of order and a terrible tackle. Part of the way he thinks I think made him recover to be a better player after the injury than before it. Often the same tunnel vision with nasty side that made him a great player is also the same trait that makes him do such horrible and nasty things like what he did to Haaland.
In the end what I really believe is that comments like pychopath and class act and over the top comments both negative and positive about Keane are stupid and do nothing for the debate on the issue. Fair play to Pat Kenny last night in one aspect that he actually asked pretty decent questions about Saipan and got Keanes take on how he would handle such a situation as manager now. I just don't go for this talk of that Keane is evil or that Keane is God and I find both points of view devoid of any rational thought really.
A mate of mine who has absolutely no interest in football, was drinking with him one night in cork.
This is about 10 years ago id say and he never even heard of him beforehand would you believe!! As I said no interest in football whatsoever!! I always thought he was g@y cos of that! ;)
Anyway he was down visiting his uncle in cork and went down the local with his uncle and was drinking with the uncle and his mates. Was introduced to all his mates and the lads were all wondering why he never battered an eyelid when introduced to keane :D - he was drininking with him and his mates for the night and said he was sound as a pound and actually quite shy at times (despite been surrounded by his friends from years!!)
Though when he came back to drogheda he couldnt remember his name - he was telling me the story (as he knew I was a man utd fan), 'Wheelo, I was drinking with a man utd player in cork last week', 'what was his name', 'eh, keane something' :D
Sorry for going off topic, but I actually always like that story!!
More than likely referring to the game in Amsterdam that we only drew 2-2 after being two up. Great performance that night but Keane was right we threw it away. Will never forget Kilbane's miss that would have put it to bed. If only!
I know exactly which game he meant. He's wrong though, if he had taken the time to read the post that he's quoted he would realise that clearly the game mentioned was the 1994 World Cup game.
The Holland game which we drew 2-2 took place on September 2, 2000.
------------------------------------------------------------------------
10.named our best player in 94 world cup playing every game
11.and in typical keane fashion refused to celabrate as he saw the defeat to holland as disapointment.
------------------------------------------------------------------------
Learn how to read!
Less than 3 days after Iran (no need to emphasise the game's importance) :
Manchester United 2 : 0 Leciester City, November 17, 2001 http://www.redcafe.net/archives/report.php?id=278
Yes he had been out for 4 weeks, but he managed to play a full 90. He had his priorities seriously wrong.