No injunctions. We just get on with it. At least its over now & Coughlan will never get near a club again.
Can't see what it could possibly be based on, the decision not to award a license really isn't even debatable.
In any case, what new owners? I thought the deadline for the takeover to go through was tomorrow? Cork City FC has been refused a licence (of any descripion) so will not be in the league next year, As such, presumably the takeover now collapses. Why would the consortium take over a club that will not be in the LOI? As far as I can tell, FORAS have been granted a new licence for a new club. I guess they could do a separate deal with the same consortium? In any case, it will not be the same club as I understand things.
What is this Foras Cork city going to do now? Will they sign players off the other Cork? Where will they play this season? They've a lot of work and not a lot of time.
The next big question: The new Derry City had to take on the old club's 'football debts'.
Will the new Cork City have to do the same?
Just back from the Game spent the whole match refreshing my phone in the hope of getting word and nada until I'm at the door.
Congrats to all the guys in Foras I really do think this is the best long term outcome for you.
I'm still in shock that the ILC has done the right thing.
Fair play FAI/Independent Committee the right call I gave out loads about a potential fudge, glad to see it not happen. For now anyway. Welcome FORAS FC if ye want to play in the First. Get to feck any "investors" whose nose is out of joint. Tough luck for lending TNB money.
Fair play FAI for making the right decision...best of luck to FORAS....Europe for Dundalk????
Delighted with this news, didn't think the FAI/Licence committee would have had the balls to do it. RIP Cork City.
Em, one thing - does this mean that finally Roddy has been relegated with a club :-)
Seriously though, I've a mixed feeling over all of this. Dundalk will be in Europe, so that's brilliant. Howevere there has been so much said and done with alot of hurt and pain, not to mention the situation Bray now find themselves in. I hope to wake up in the morning knowing that this is the end of the saga, or is there going to be a whole new twist as the sun rises over Dungarvan?
Wow, the right decision! Big job ahead for the Foras guys, any idea what the new club will be called?
Stunned. I am happy that in the end I suppose a fair decision as regards the rest of the league has been made
But John Delaney et al have a lot to answer for allowing this to drag out a week longer than it needed to. I'm sure Bray are pretty angry at the FAI for not making this decision last week, as are we. The amount of work we have to do from here on is enormous, but well manage it. The amount of work put in the last week by a number of people on the FORAS BoM which has now gone to waste is just not right. People have lives, families, jobs but that was all put to the background this week and for what?
Shame on you FAI
congrats to Bray, third time lucky for you guys
Cork City Foras Co-op
I am in shock that the ILC have come to the correct decision, in saying that I applaud them for having the goolies to make that decision when we all expected a massive fudge.
Welcome to the LOI Foras.
Is that serious? Do you think you'll be allowed start a new club called Cork City FC without buying that name? I know it's not technically exactly the same name, but still, It's clear that the intention is to have the new club commonly called Cork City FC. If you have looked into it and been advised you can do it then good work, but if not this could be yet another excuse for a legal tangle with TNB.