Ignore? it would be my pleasure.
Done and dusted.
Printable View
Ignore? it would be my pleasure.
Done and dusted.
That good to here that you wil get the land you wish to get.
But remember one thing most other clubs had to go out and scrape and buy the ground they have including Ballyheane and are continue to pay for it. We on the other hand dont get hand out only what we have earned.
So when you built san sero remember you did with a helping hand
congrats to committee on the buying of new grounds for pitches etc.now get underage structure right so you will have persons to play there.....
Where were they bought? Is the sports ground now not going to be used by Westport United?
Fair play to Westport if they got their own pitches sorted.
You have to have a sneaky comment to make on all your posts haven`t you.
Westport will be ok on and off the pitch, they don`t need to scour and poach the county for players and then call it an underage set up.
Maybe a name change to "mayo celtic" would make ye more recognisable as a club and scouting system.
When dykes ego has been inflated enough and a better job( € ) comes around you will be left to pick up the pieces for a club that has lost its identity in mayo.
Long time no post my friends!!:D
The barbecue was a success, the food was brilliant, the drink flowed, the spot prizes were excellent and DJ Dave Lyons was cracking on the discs. Out of ten, I would give the night ten.
The Vinny Rigney U.14 Football Tournament in McConville Park was a success.
Westport United U.14B team won the U.14 Division Two B league, well done to them.:D
A cracking U.12 Cup final coming up on the 1st September. Westport United V Castlebar Celtic!!:D
The FAI Summer Camp is currently in town.
Nice to see the Juniors hitting form at the right time in their quest for glory, demolishing Ballyheane 4-0 with a brace from Vinny and goals from Louisburgh Lion and Flawless, and beating Ballina Town 3-2 with a brace from the Louisburgh Lion and Dave Horkan. The B team are on the march with wins over Manulla B (2-0) and Achill Rovers (8-0). Cup semi final against Erris United B on Thursday evening at 6:30. Hopefully, the gaffer will lead the team to glory.
A Vote of Sympathy has been extended to the family of Jackie Foley, ex Westport United goalkeeper, to Mary McDonnell, mother of Westport United vice chairman, Michael McDonnell and to Eamon Duffy, former club chairman and president. May their gentle souls rest in peace, amen!!
Congrats to Westport United on the recent news concerning a site. It means exciting times ahead for the club and what is planned for the new ground will make the new home of Westport United the most progressive football development in Mayo. Hopefully, we can be in our new ground for the centenerary celebrations.
Sorry I forgot that your goalkeeper, Peter Burke, Johnny O'Brien (€) & Manger O'Connor (€) are auld Westport stock. I think you do need to scour/poach the county for youth players taking into account your Youth success over the last 10 years. Yes Celtic are attracting players from all over Connacht and this is allowing the club to compete at National level. As for Celtic losing its identity in Mayo, this statement coming from a person who considers all Mayo competitons not worth winning. Celtic is all about giving our youth national exposure and never forgetting the importance of the Mayo Schoolboys & Youths competitions & committee are to these players. We always want to win Mayo titles first and after that is a bonus.
Westport advanced to the final of the AIB Cup with a 2-0 win over Erris United B. The Louisburgh Lion got both goals and we saw debuts from Ronan O'Malley and Chris Ryder, the former started and the latter came on as a sub.
Westport United U.13s advance to the Mayo U.13 cup final with a hard fought win over Castlebar Celtic in Celtic Park. The visitors came away with a 2-1 win after extra time in a game that was more graft than finesse. They will now meet Kiltimagh/Knock United, who defeated Claremorris 7-2, in the final in Milebush Park in a couple of weeks time. Alan Rocliffe and Alan Carroll both netted.
After the first gear display on Thursday evening, the jet engines were thundering today as Westport cruised past Snugboro 4-0 with goals from Lovejoy, Razor, The Gaffer and Brian Fah. Fintan Ruddy did very well to keep the score to 4-0 with some brilliant saves. Chris Ryder got a start at right back and did well. Eoghan McHale had an imposing 90 minutes, Eoghan Gillen came in as sub as did Ronan O'Malley and Cam was an unused sub on the bench. Pretty heart warming stuff before we descend on the shores of Manulla.:D
We may not have been terribly successful over the last ten years at youths level bar the 1981-1983 age group but we are not going down the road of scouring/poaching players across Mayo. It would be interesting to see what a parent would say if his/her little Johnny was left off the team at the expense of a boy from, for example, Claremorris or Charlestown. That would certainly not go down in Westport at all.
Fair comment. It is a difficult issue, but if quality players want to join its hard to turn them away. It is similiar to mangers picking their own sons on teams and even their mates. I know Celtic will loose players because of outside players coming in, but we loose players all the time to other clubs & codes. It would be great if we could compete at national level with lads who have come through our Youth system from U-8's up but this is getting harder all the time as the bigger clubs are bringing in players from all over. But yes your commnets are correct and I am in to minds about it.
U.12 Cup Final in Milebush Park on Saturday at 2:00 between Westport United and Castlebar Celtic. Should be a good game. Lets hope that there will be good support from Westport.
Well done to the U.14 girls on winning their league and to Maria Harrington with her international call ups.
The Jerry Murray Memorial 5 a Side Final is on in Springfield tomorrow night at 7:00. The match is between the red hot favourites from the Asgard against the musicians of Matt Molloy's. Irrespective of the outcome, it is going to be a bit of fun.
Manulla V Westport United off due to a bereavement.
The Asgard beat Matt Mulloys 4-2 in an epic battle at the Jerry Murray 5 a side final. James Gill got Player of the Tournament while Paddy Ryder got the Golden Boot. Both of them played for the Asgard, managed by the legendary John Joe Geraghty.
Celtic retain the Cup with a deserved 4-2 victory over the second best team in Mayo. Good Westport team with some excellent players, if they stay together they will surely have their day. This is an excellent Celtic team (all living in and around the Town) who will take some stopping if the correct team is picked in the Connacht Cup. Well done to both teams.
Two Westport United teams graced the pitch in Milebush this weekend. The U.13s were first up on Saturday against U.12 Connacht Cup champions, Kiltimagh/Knock United. Westport lost 2-1 with Conor O'Malley outstanding in goal coupled with a gallant outfield performance, when it looked like at one stage that K/K would run riot. Andrew McAleer got Westport's goal. The following 24 hours saw Westport United claiming the Westaro Cup with a fantastic 3-0 over Ballina with a hat trick from the Louisburgh Lion. Cam made his first appearance in three months.:D
Super win in Manulla on Sunday. Goals by Razor, Vinny, Cam and Horks and the 0-0 draw in Ballina means one thing this Sunday morning. Victory away to Claremorris in the high noon showdown and the Tom Kelly Perpetual Trophy will be back in the spiritual home of football in Mayo, Westport!!:D
Micheal Gibbons made his debut in goal on Sunday. Could do nothing about the strike and would be happy enough with his performance.;)
how did westport under 16's do in the fai barry cup last weekend?