The fixture was changed since Thurs to astro turf as far as I am aware and was updated on the website.
Printable View
The fixture was changed since Thurs to astro turf as far as I am aware and was updated on the website.
Surely corofin should have informed the league of their intention not to fulfill the fixture ?
At this stage I think corofin can do what they like.only the start of this season they were due to play bridge I think, and got that one off too... Bit of a joke!!
that all said I don't think many clubs want to play on that astro, another question if avenue were to play a so called footballing team would they be quick to ask for astro..before ye all say sure avenue are a great footballing side, I know that, just asking the question.
On a personal note I wasnt too keen on the game going ahead on the astro against corofin in the first place but to answer your question if we were again in a position where we had to play bridge/ennis town/newmkt on the astro then yes we would play them. Just my opinion although hopefully we wont have to play any games on it against any team from the league
I have been reading this thread for a while now and it makes me laugh at the constant attack or questioning if you call it about what Avenue are involved in. I am pretty sure Avenue did not request to play on the astro 95% of the players donot want to play on it, 45 min training on it is bad enough never mind a full game, but the fixture was put down so they must turn up which they did.
Now can ye imagine the abuse that would havebeen handed out here if Corofin had been left standing and Avenue didn’t turnup I can only say ye would have loved it!! I see a comment made by“WishIcouldplay” that if Avenue were to play a footballing team would they ask for astro? Funny you brought that up as I was looking to see if anybody would comment on it and of course they didn’t because the Avenue were beaten, the day they played Newmarket in the MJC funny how the game was switched from Newmarket’s first pitch to the back FIELD which is all it is a field.
I went down that day to see what are supposed to be the two best ballplaying teams in Clare and it was like watching a match 20 years ago on a field which was just a disgrace. Now before ye all start with “both teams had to play on same pitch” or they didn’t want to ruin it, the first pitch was in perfect condition that day but it was obvious that the Newmarket management team knew that if they played on their first pitch and tried to play ball chances are they would have got a beaten so let’s move it and play kick and run!!! So don’t come on here and say Avenue were trying to pull a fast one, be under no illusion my friends all teams give the “wink and the nod” when certain teams come to play.
dont know why your getting your back up, I take it your whole rant was aimed at me. Why I have no idea, it was a question and I got an answer, thank you.I also said that players don't want to play on it,
what clubs do to fulfill a fixture is there business, if you've got two pitches you can pick and choose.
never said avenue were pulling a fast one.but you just admitted every team gives the "wink and the nod" :-)
just to end, I've nothing against avenue, and I think you shouldn't flatter yourself to think the "Ye" people care.
Any idea if games will go ahead this weekend? I can only imagine a lot of pitches will still need time to dry out, let's we get wind but no rain for a while, think we are all getting withdrawals.
I d imagine most games will go ahead if it stays dry between now and the weekend. At the same time if theres a heavy downpour any day this week then alot of pitches will again be ruled out
Wishicouldplay I am sorry my "rant" as you call it is not aimed at you so climb back down from your horse before you fall off, and I suppose you are right if you have 2 pitches you can choose which one to use, but as First said they are going to carry out maintenance so I really look forward to seeing a good game on their first pitch. I would be surprised if many games go ahead but we will live in hope.
2on2 you must be spoilt for pitches if you call newmarkets 2nd pitch a field. did you ever think that maybe the quality of football that day was down to both teams on the day ? both Newmarket and avenue like to play football so no advantage to either team here and both teams will play on a lot worse pitches before the season is out but I do agree with you all teams will give the wink and nod as you call it to gain advantage over their opponents. just a quick question if 95% of avenue or any team don't want to play on lees road astro then tell the league and refuse to play on it ?
If you are going to come on here slating Newmarket and their fields I would really have hoped that you would have some facts to back up these statements .
The reason that game was on the back field is because a couple of weeks before that Newmarket played Lifford on the front field and the downpour that fell that day added to the fact the match was been played completely ruined the field .
You say the first field was in perfect condition no it was not and is still in a bad way if you want to meet me in Newmarket any time I will walk the field with you and prove this . You come on here and slate Newmarkets facilities are you absolutely mental . Granted the back field is a bit bumpy why because a game was also played on that in a downpour and this ruined that field . Both fields were walked on the Saturday before that match and was decided if another match was played on the front field while it was in that condition that the field would be in total disrepair for a long long time .
Thirdly "Newmarket management team knew that if they played on their first pitch and tried to play ball chances are they would have got a beaten so let’s move it and play kick and run!!!". Now there is a bold statement you are basically stating that Newmarket celtic and their players most of which I might add are on the Clare Oscar Traynor are a long ball team and have no footballing ability . You think these same players and management feel so inferior to the mighty Avenue and their footballing ability that they have to move a game from one field to another . You ask any Newmarket player A team or B team which pitch they would prefer to play on and I would be very shocked if any of them said the back field no matter what team they are playing .
These essays are getting boring.. anyone that slags off newmarket's facilities is a spanner plain and simple. Best facilities in clare. I know tulla have a fine setup but grass training area is better than astro turf in my opinion. Tulla's setup super too
Any update on whether Avenue got a walkover or not?
Have to agree with Second -they even provided lights for the game / penalties againt Rineanna in the FAI game -
Just on another point i heard that a certain manager { ST }made himself available to take the reins in NOF next season , a dream he's had for a long time - did you hear anything Second !!!!!!!!!!
Does anyone know if avenue got the 3 points as table not updated
everything cant be about avenue can it!!! although its a bit of a mess if corofin just didnt bother turning
well done newmarket on getting to quarters of munster,, a winnable game in kerry next
LegendStriker10 to say I have slated NOF facilities Id say is a bit over the top, I complained about the back FIELD only if you read the post!, and Id say if you asked, most people would agree the field is in terrible shape and should not be played on. You also tell me that most of the NOF players are on the OT team well fair play to them :confused:
Old git I agree totally with you that we should refuse to play on astro but that is something all teams would need to do together and not leave one team hanging. Its sad to it but the only way games will be stopped is when the first big claim goes in by an injured player and then you will see the council pull the plug very fast on the games.
" I complained about the back FIELD only if you read the post!, and Id say if you asked, most people would agree the field is in terrible shape and should not be played on".
Have you seen the majority of fields in the clare league ??
"You also tell me that most of the NOF players are on the OT team well fair play to them :confused: "
If you read my post I said this because you implied our footballing ability is not up to the standard of Avenue . I would be inclined to go with the same opinion as the Clare Oscar Traynor manager and disagree with you on this .
There is alot of speed in new markets front play whereas avenue like to run and pass about the ball thats their main threat so on a bad pitch the advantage is with new market..
lads its swings and roundabouts
when avenue lads ,ex or present, were over the OT team there was 6,7,8 players on the team going back thru the years
why should it be any different now when newmarket lads are over it,,
newmarket and avenue have won the league and cups most in the last 10 years so it stands to reason they represent the majority of the squad
and no! this isnt an elitist statement excluding the rest of the clubs and good players deemed worthy of a place on the squad
If you read my post I said this because you implied our footballing ability is not up to the standard of Avenue . I would be inclined to go with the same opinion as the Clare Oscar Traynor manager and disagree with you on this .[/QUOTE]
[/QUOTE]
avenue c disagree with you on the avenue link Past OT squads there was a time when 6 /7/ 8 would be named in squads but only 2-3 would turn up for training games a few of the players were more intrested in training /playing with Avenue and not worried about representing their county .. will add a few other players / clubs also seemed to worry more about club than county over the years
Whats with the 10am kick off in avenue v ennis town match and the 2 or 4pm kick off in kildysart
old git, yes you are right there i'll give you that
its happened with most squads down thru the years alright
Presume the 10 am kick off is to suit the referee, he is also down to do a game in lees rd at 12 o clock. A bit of rush rush if you ask me. If theres any injuries/delays in avenue v ennis town the ref will not have time to get across town to lees rd for the 12 o clock start in his other game which will be very unfair for the 2 other teams
Yeah 4 o clock is pushing it especially if it's a dark wet evening as is likely.
Any report on ave v rock today
Good win for the tage today they are goin well
Clare v Kerry in the Oscar Traynor semis. Any idea of a date? Will be another tough away trip for Clare. Poor enough game in Roslevan yesterday and 2 needless red cards for Avenue. Thought the referee Hennessey did well
League looks wide open. Should be good once it gets going soon!
2 needless reds alright but a game Avenue really should have won with ease. The 2 reds cost us but even when we had 10 men we were well on top and without yer keeper playing great would have been 3 or 4 nil. Anyway its good to be back playing, hopefully this time the season finally takes off.
Bridge will have a big say in the league still, as will newmarket, avenue and ennis town. Tage going well at the moment aswell
Ya its wide open lets hope we can get a run of games and hopefully the weather will pick up
Avenue were the better team until they went down to 9 men but the momentum changed then. I've no allegiance to Ennis Town Mastermind but enjoy watching town derbys. You're right about Tage going well and I had to laugh when I heard Clare FM last night saying that Tage were pulling away from relegation. There's no fear of that happening..Great reporting!!!
Reporting of the clare league from the local papers and radio wouldnt be the best alright 0030. Lenny has done a great job with tage over the years and the club has a great togetherness. No matter what team they put out they will always give their all for their manager and club.
Tage goin well but have ave bridge and newmarket twice also rock away
That doesnt mean that Tage will struggle. They'll beat enough of the other teams to be well up the table. Newmarket and Avenue still the teams to beat. Its in the Clare People this morning that the League might consider a winter break. Would be a great idea if the League started a little earlier too