Haha Wombat what are you talking about they beat a Peake Villa team away 2-0 on Sunday that will be right up their challenging and did so without John Shanahan,Michael Quinlivan and probably a few more,they will always be challenging
Printable View
Ya i fully agree Mega Tots a lot of people seem to be writing town off too early. Long way to go looks like town and saints will get stronger as the season goes on(both missing few starters at the mo). My money wud be on Saints tho the hurt from final game last season bound to drive them on.
Lads silly talk about saints/ Celtic to dominate very early in season teams not upto full strength you write off town at your peril remember last season supposed to be worst town team ever yet won league , as for relagation I think anyone of the remainder could go down yes i think it's that close . It will be very interesting even though only one goin down ( I still can't believe tsdl let St nicks get away with goin up ) but that s for another topic
First game of league this weekend for Div 1 lads, Old Bridge away to Glengoole should be good game. Good win for Bridge last weekend vs Nicholas. Bridge have gotten a few players in bit of experience and youth and training been going well, hope for a good season ahead.
Lads, if any other club is interested in starting an over 33's league please contact Pat on 0876318100 or contact him through Saintsfans Tipperary facebook page.
Looks like there is a lot of interest in the over weight sorry i mean over 33's league in Tipp Town!
is this in conjunction with the TSDL Pearoso??
Any over 33 league would have to be sanctioned by TSDL and FAI and Pitches could be the problem as TSDL would not stand for Junior football games being called off because the over 33's wrecked a pitch in January.
Great idea but a lot to be sorted out even to get it going next season.
my guess for tomorrow
borris 1-2 villa
cashel 1-4 celtic
town 2-1 cahir
wildies 0-3 saints
my predictions.
borris 0-2 villa
cashel 0-3 celtic
town 3-1 cahir
wildies 0-4 saints
West Hammer its to be played on astro turf not on "pitches" it will be run privately nothing to do with TSDL/FAI! Im not in the habit of repeating myself but check out Saintsfans Tipperary Facebook page for all the details.
My understanding of this is it will be for unsigned players who probably play among themselves anyway.
just to let u know Pearoso that Clonmel Town had to get clearance off the FAI/TSDL for their all weather Tournament when they started it up, will it be played on a football clubs all weather facility?? i think its nonsense but has to be done.
am, are clonmel celtic for real?? and well done to peake on their derby win, its a big deal up around there
Soccer is like a franchise, and the owners of the franchise in Ireland is the FAI. If it is ran as a League then there must be a committee, that must be protected by Insurance, other wise any injured player could sue anyone that has anything to do with the running of that league. Most insurance company's will ask if the league is approved by the FAI. All I am saying is there is a lot more to it then just a bunch of lads getting together to play 5 aside one night a week, as soon as you formalize anything then there will have to be measures but in place to protect players and organizers.
why you say that wombat??? great result for cashel today, worked hard, fully deserved of their point
Any report on the Peake Villa-Borris Derby? Interesting to know how Michael Rafter played/ is playing?
I agree with sgt bilko about Cashel in fact I think it was 2 points lost for them as they created a lot of chances to win comfortably but Celtic hung in there but Celtic have lots of problems especially middlle of park where I think they might be better putting Stephen ryan back centre half as his legs are not the same and might be bettered used to organise defence
Just looked at the St.Michaels website and they must be playing awesome football. They beat Wilderness 6-1 without Paul Tobin, Trevor Cosgrave, Cooper Fahey, Ritchie Ryan and Jimmy Carr. They must have a very strong panel this season.
Twas a decent match, it coud have goin either way. Peake scored with 15 to go and borris pushed for an equaliser but the ball just wouldnt go in. Felt a draw would have been the farest result, it was always goin to be a tight one with the odd goal winning it and peake got it on the counterattack.
Often give out that linesmen should be at every game but it was ironic that the linesman made the biggest mistake (blatantly obvious gave a borris man off side when he was in his own half and behind the passer), shockin call, he must have been paid off ha
Was at the Cashel v Celtic game,Cashel played all the football for 70mins and were hanging on at the end but Cashel should of been 3-0 up in the first half and the game would of been over!Both teams played good football and overall was a very good game!Celtic are a very good side and they try to play the game the right way!
While I agree Celtic finished strong in last quarter Cashel should have been 3 up and really rattled Celtic but fair dues to Celtic they kept at it and could have won it at the death but it would grossly unfair on Cashel who did enough to win but I still think it's a greAt point for them and I think lots of teams will earn their points away to Cashel
The TSDL have awarded St Michaels the 3 points for Peake Villa's failure to fulfill the opening days fixture
I think that is a terrible decision. I'm not too friendly with many of the Michaels boys but I'm sure they would have expected to play the match again at some stage.
Congrads to Cashel, not many gave them a hope before the game.
Saints have had a few near misses at winning the league so you can be sure anything the TSDL can do to help them get over the line it will be done,nobody is naive we all know how the system works so we move on
tsdl dont make any sense at all, everyone know they are a shambles, that decision plus the Town youth fiasco is another one of their fine administrating
Sorry but to say TSDL is a shambles has to come from someone who knows nothing of the state of some big leagues around the country. We may not like some of their decisions but all Club secretarys know where they stand and know you can not pull the wool over Lewis's eyes. The league when Lewis took over was broke and the few Clubs in it were running the show, we now have a league with over €250,000 and one of the best ( if toughest) run leagues in the country.
Some of the stuff the goes on in the rest of the Country is just unreal. We will all be here giving out stink about the TSDL in a couple of years when Tommy and Richie have gone!!
totally agree with west hammer look at cork aul as a quick example in comparison to tsdl.aul with teams folding, poor facilities, gross mismanagement a reported 220k missing from the coffers etc. tsdl is run with an iron fist by the top 2 in charge both in my opinion its a great league. it was unfair on peake to be asked to play the game but you have to just get on with it. they were never going to get 1 up on the league by refusing to play. hopefully peake can move on from this and still have a good season
West Hammer you are having a laugh,last year Lewis made teams play on All Ireland Sunday and funnily enough all games are off this weekend because Chalkie Walsh is getting married,were Peake Villa really expected to play Town and Saints in the space of 39 hours,a professional team couldn't do that,remember Town were playing 4 games a week a few years ago,it is just neverending with the Tsdl and Saints,like i said earlier we all know the score so lets get on with it but don't try and give us that rubbish about finances,sure it's great but Hitler brought massive stability to the German economy,was he a great man so?
tipp top what has it got 2 do with saints? the league made the decision to award the points. people on this are just waiting to have a pop at saints any oppurtunity they get. JEALOUSY me thinks :)
Well said West Hammer and Balls. Totally agree and I have no hesitation in saying ye have spoken for all decent people within the TSDL. Just look at their record, over 40 years each to TSDL, never opposed for their positions, totally dedicated. Yes, there were times when I totally disagreed with decisions they made but they have done some job for soccer in South Tipperary. I wasn't around in 1977 when TSDL started but am told by those older it was an absolute shambles and two men brought it to what it is today, one of the most respected leagues in the country. Now, could the personal hatred be eliminated and restore this thread to honest and constructive discussion.