And 27 individual awards.;)
Printable View
We beat Charlestown 4-1 with goals from the Louisburgh Lion (2), Makelele and Dave Horkan while Spiderman got us the goal to beat Erris United. Not playing particularly well at the moment but still getting the results. The B team against Fahy produced some atrocious football with lots of hoofing and heavy tackles and the rain made it less enjoyable.
Another win for the Junior team, defeating Crossmolina 4-2 with goals from the Louisburgh Lion (2) and Dave Horkan (2). A little bit of controversy about the Crosmolina goals, particularly the first one; the second one is a one in a million chance that you woould see scored.
The B team drew 1-1 with Celtic B with Danny Murphy netting.
Two big cup games tomorrow night with the Juniors away to Erris United in the Westaro Cup semi final and the B team "home" to Bangor Hibs in Milebush Park in the Touhy Cup semi final. Hopefully two wins out of two!!;)
The big one in Celtic Park at 2:30, Sunday afternoon. Castlebar Celtic V Westport United. Form will not matter here in this one and expect this game to be ultra competitive as normal!!:D
In underage gossip, in the top of the table clash, Westport United U.14B team defeated Straide and Foxford 8-4 in Foxford to go two points clear with a game played more. The half time score was 2-2 but Westport were excellent in the second half and, crucially, kept their discipline when frustration got the better of S&F Utd.
Did Steven not score for ye?
How times have changed. As normal we are looking forward to welcoming our Westport friends this Sunday but it is not seen as a big game anymore at Celtic Park since we have moved into the Eircom League. With teams like Sligo Rovers, Derry City, Galway Utd. etc coming to Celtic Park, the Westport matches have not the same appeal. I do know that who ever lines out for Celtic will give it their all. Big game for UTD & Ballina. Westport should take all three points based on the players lining out for the A team at the moment. Good to see you challenging for Under Age trophies again, be it you are relying on your B team to do this for you.
After Flawless and Dave Horkan putting us into the Westaro Cup final, the game on Sunday was pretty disappointing. Westport failed to take their chances, despite Makelele's goal, and lost 2-1. No complaints.
Your the only one that calls Stephen Danny Murphy. Does that constitute a "nickname". As for Makalele, i know Johnny is dark skinned, but black he ain't!
I heard that a number of Westport supporters were looking in wonderment at the Eircom League flag that was flying in Celtic Park last Sunday. As for the game itself Celtic took their chances and the Port did not look like scoring once Russell gave the Champions the led. I was surprised how poor Utd were. Will the manager be under pressure after this result and more importantly the performance. Its Ballina's to loose now.
thought that the b team have the makings of a decent enough side who try to play good football from the back-much like the first team.chris ryder is a very good player who is wasted at full back,where he has played since we beat yee.the weather that day didnt do much to enhance the fare that was on offer but the game was played at a very high tempo by two very commited sets of players.westport were unfortunate not to score but davey feehan in the fahy goal was unreal and pulled off a number of quality saves.we did have the ball in the westport net on more than the two occassions that we were credited with but unfortunately the offside caught us out a few times.
Has the mind games begun with The Prodigal Son talking about the B/Team is this the new Fergie in disgust???
The real question is. Brendan O'Connor is under pressure by those who will be studying his form. Should he not deliver he could be on the way out along with his Galway compatriot.
Ballina on the other hand hold all the aces, and good luck to them, all they have to do continue the good form they are in.
Will you ever learn you cant buy the league,and by all accounts you have tried.
With your fancy couch man and the players you brought in hasn't worked.
Should you not win the league there will be alot of egg on red faces:o
The boys came through 3-0 at home to Glenhest last night through two oggies and a penalty from the Louisburgh Lion. Only saw the last 30 minutes. Manulla did us a massive favour by beating Ballina Town 4-2!!:D Has Ballina got the bottle to keep their noses in front??
There is a fundraising barbecue and disco in The Quays pub next Friday night at 8:00. Tickets are on sale for €10.
Say that to some of the supporters that left Celtic Park fuming at the display. I have to hold up my hands and admit that there are players out there that are underperforming. I am not going to name names and some of the absenteeism through injuries and emigration do not help the cause either. We won the FAI Junior Cup in 2005. It's over. Time to move on boys.
[quote=renovater;730260]Well said thunder!! but is not up to the manager to deal with under performers.
Thats makes no sense whatsoever! If someone is underperforming he shouldn't be picked!
westport supporters did`t see any flag due to the massive crowd from castlebar blocking it.Castlebar are an average team but stole the points against the run of play.Dykes should resign if that`s the best he can muster of players from all over mayo.:confused:
Reno, I have to say I don't contribute to these threads anymore (passed over to the but am I glad I can remember my password so I can revert to you and your like. Sniping, sniffling, Ballyheane. We've won more with our under 16's than Ballyheane juniors will ever muster (and the only pay i got was an orange at half time).
Trying to buy the league? No-one over here is interested in the bloody league you numpty! Get over it. We've won it three times in four years - christ we're sick of seeing it. Westaro Cup - Blah, AIB Cup - Blah also. ZERO INTEREST.
We're after regional and national honours. If you want to sling mud in the doldrums of Ballyheane be my guest. Just sling it in the road to Castlebar not back the road to Westport.
Did I hit a nerve. I know it must be difficult that a Eircom League flag will never fly over the Sports Park (it would be great to see for the real Utd supporters). By your reply I see you know very little about Celtic. Gavin Dykes rested all the U-21 players for bigger and more difficult Eircom League games ahead. He did play two young players who will not start on this years (07/08) U-18 team (but will play a big part in the defence of the national, provincial & Mayo titles won in 06/07) and two U-20 players coming back form injury. By Celtic's standards the team that were good enough to be Utd was not a great team but what they did show was Celtic's fighting spirit. For all of Westports possesion they were with out any ideas and when Celtic went ahead they never looked like scoring. Celtic have moved after winning our National title why not Utd still, looking back at that great day. You are left behind by your bitter rivials. As for out side players I think you had four players not from Westport, I suppose it OK you Westport to bring in players but for Celtic on no. I hope your ex manager who welcomed all the Sligo players to the mayo League is happy to welcome all your new OUTSIDE PLAYERS. How times have changed.
I do not understand why you bring in Celtic to your tiff with a Ballyheane supporter. Are trying to tell me that Westport are not interested in winning Mayo titles well why don't you do what Celtic have done and join the Eircom League and leave all these Juniors titles behind to teh clubs who are (you have already won your national title why not move on). You cannot compare Ballyheane with Utd, Ballyheane might (and will never) match Utd on the pitch due to population, but they sure have shown you up if you compare the Sports Park to Quigley Park. Your Youth set would be not something you can shout about with all you best players wanting to move to Celtic to win something. When was the last time a Utd youth team contested a Connacht Final. I suppose you will ignore thsi reply so be it. Keep it going ballyheane FC your a credit to all that is good in Mayo football.
I was at PQP on the June Bank Holiday weekend and it is definitely ahead of the Sports Park. Sports Park was the leading ground in Mayo from 1953 until approx 1990. The club cannot expand there.
Only Danny Fallon and Eoin Torpey have moved to Celtic; the latter spent most of his underage football with the Castlebar-based club. Danny Fallon's team mates in Westport have no problem with him moving and wish him the best of luck. Incidentally, Westport United U.16s beat Castlebar Celtic 1-0 on Monday evening with Shane Geraghty netting.
Don`t be deluding yourself with this eircom league flag fiasco flying over celtic park.Any mickey mouse junior club around the country like yourselves can enter a team into the u-21 league, it`s no big deal.
That`s as far as it goes for your crowd as you would`t last 5 minutes in the senior league with that support, stick to your level.
Celtic a Mickey Mouse club who hold the record for most Connacht junior Cups (9), Connacht Youth Cup (8), Mayo League titles (16), Mayo FA Cup (5) won, need I go on. If Celtic are a mickey mouse club what are Westport Utd a one team wonder (national title not even won on the pitch). Come on join the big clubs and stop hidding behind your one Junior Cup (court) win, why not join the rest of the MM clubs in the Eircom League or are you waiting for the champions league. Give me a break.
Judging by your name you spent too much time looking over a bar counter to understand plain english and the direction of a conversation that does not involve:
- talking about the demise of main street or
- are supermac's chips nicer than the four lanterns?
I was not involving Celtic - I said Castlebar - there are more teams than your shower. But maybe with the beer goggles on you failed to see that.
Fair point regarding our youth setup etc but there's nothing new there for me so I'm not biting back on that. If that's all you have to say then start you're own thread (see above for some suggestions).
Otherwise, stick to polishing glasses and talking rubbish - you (like your club) are good for something and that warms my heart.
P.S. I am fully supportive of Celtic's EL U21 team. A great thing to have in the county and fair play to ye for doing it.:cool:
We have won our National title and on the field for that matter and moved on to the Eircom league, So Utd are now only interested in one competition Mayo Leagues and Connacht Cups are minor trophies. Eircom league clubs consider the FAI Junior Cup as a minor trophy so what are Utd then a minor club. Of course Celtic would loved to win the Junior cup but it is not the main goal for the club anymore we are after bigger tophies now. We are paying our manager but not as much as yee are paying your Galway man. The fundraising we are doing at prseent is going towards our full size astro turf pitch @ Celtic Park. Come over some night and we will turn the lights on for you so can have have a look around.
There is a differants between Ballyheane and Westport and that is the size of what Westport can pick from however its your club who told untruths at the agm!! It appears you are trying to win at all cost pay and steal any player you can come across,even its a Ballyheane player.
you have fail to argue your point only to condem Ballyheane.As was my point that your manager was being put under pressure by its own club.
I can also tell you that the manager was not long ago at the start of the season told that he had to take a pay cut or else.
I surgest you go back to where you hid your self.
By the way you fail as a club to take the next step.and that is why the Eircom Flag does'nt fly in Westport.
I dont believe any club gets tied of winning, may you do:(
Have to agree with what you have said .And it is true we cant compare our selves with the big clubs of MAYO. but we do have guts and determination
As for youths of Westport watch out you lost your to best underage to Celtic
And it won't be long that they may head else where if you don't change your policy's within your club.
You had the public meetings alreadly this year.next could see your youthsmove else where.I will keep my ear closed to the ground
Bigger trophies? token u21 league
You are only an ordinary junior club like any other club who happen to have an u21 team in a league that is meaningless.
Your club won`t be going any further than local level for a long time so come off your perch before you fall.
You can have all the facilities in the world to get the glory hunters in, but win the fai cup to be taken seriously in this country.:confused:
The Junior cup (and yes we would love to win it) would rank behind the Eircom League, FAI Cup senior & Intermed., U-21 League & Cup according to the FAI. Since you have won the Junior cup whats next for this serious club. Is it the meaningful Mayo League for you. We will move on & up words and let you have your low standard of Junior football. To be a serious club you need more than one national trophy, but at least the people running Utd know this.
Lads take it easy the big ego's are getting in the way!!.Lets face it you are only as good as your last day. Westport for there part feel they must win the super league,While Celtic hope to go on and win the Eircom u-21.WHILE on the other hand Westport want to live the pass.
All I can add is that Celtic ambition seem to be on the right track,while westports failed to leave the train sation.
and further more is that Westport you have lost the plot.and the gray one has the vision.
Gnasher, please revert back to NOT contributing. You do not represent the views of all and sundry in Westport so do not make statements with "we" in it!
You only try (and succeed) to incite stupid arguments; come on, what was that statement about main street and supermacs chips about!
Stick to football. Stick to YOUR OWN OPINIONS, and do not make out that you represent mine or anyone elses opinion!
Good lad!
At least I have the balls to contribute - go back to just reading the thread and talking muck in the pub like the rest of them. These are my opinions, fair enough if I have'nt got the time to do a Poll on the streets of the town but at least I've unearthed another new poster to the thread. Now maybe you'll begin a more suitable debate for yourself.
Main Street and Supermacs chips - if you can't follow then don't bother jumping in.
Lads,can be bring this thread back on-topic.
I suggest putting each other on ignore if you can't see eye to eye.