Question! - Is Junior football not "Sunday" football?? What if a team refused to play midweek?? Surely a teams of junior players can't be expected to sacrafice work for a junior game? Can they??
Printable View
I think it is reasonable to suggest that most pitches would have required an official pitch inspection yesterday. Also its not just about whether you deem your pitch playable (the fact they had ther floodlights turned on in an attempt to thaw it suggest they had doubts) but you should also take into consideration the fact that the other team and supporters had to travel. As this game wouldn't have finished until 6.30 it is safe to assume a hard frost would have set in at this stage meaning most people faced a difficult and potentially dangerous journey home. Also could St Michaels not have got a local ref to make a call on whether the pitch was playable and this would have decided where the rescheduled game would have been played. I don't expect Celtic to make much of a fuss anyway as they have no fear of going to Cooke Park.
An absolute disgrace and an outrage that Saints keep home advantage and everyone else in the country lose out,sure what is the point in even talking about it we all know how THIS LEAGUE works,they will have no luck for it,best of luck to Clonmel Celtic the whole county (and Limerick) :) will be rooting for ye
It's an absolute embarrassment, people will come on hear & defend the decision which makes things even worse. I would have more respect for people if they just admitted the fact that every other team are second class citizens compared to St Michaels. the game should have been scheduled for half two at the latest also the reason it was'nt was that St Michaels had something else up there sleeve. People wonder why players from other clubs withdraw their services for the tsdl, maybe cause it feels more like your representing St Michaels than the league as a whole cause this quite obviously proves that no other club in the league really matters. They are just there to make up the numbers. Would they have cared aboput peoples welfare on Sunday night coming home after the game in treacherous weather, hardly cause once St Michaels win the "Holy Grail" of the fai then thats the only real interest they have. An absolute joke of a club.
your wrong there balls, i know a man from cahir who tried to get on it two years ago and he cudnt, was given weird reasons as to why
look michaels get the vip treatment from the league cause of their affiliation with lewis, we just have to get on wit it, johnny lyons rang lewis and told him he wudnt travel to the game yesterday, lewis didnt bother gettin another referee to inspect the pitch, amazingly enough i heard 2 referees called off the game in the Complex cause teehan cudnt get into clonmel. some strokes being pulled here! unreal! i heard the michaels pitch was playable!
and what happened with having there hometown man refereeing there b game last week was even worse. Like a bunch of gangsters.
Yeah they said it was playable but does anybody believe for one second that they could not have got someone else to ref it if it was, the whole situation suited them down to the ground to keep hold of home advantage. They may be a big club that have won lots of trophies but they lack class in abundance. Fair play is not in their vocabulary. They will do anything they can to win an FAI. If your not good enough to win it on the field of play then just accept it.
proves the are weary of celtic, i hope the celts take them, michaels deserve nothin more
If they lost home advantage they would probably go crying to Delaney again. They'll end up making a mockery of this competition again.
the worst part is they deny it all, they have a selection of people involved with the club who will do whatever it takes on or off the pitch. Seems fair play is only for fools.
Heard from St Michaels man, the Club rang the referee and the league several times to try call the game off because the pitch was unplayable. Lewis wouldn't budge. The referee contacted Lewis early in the morning and again at lunch time because he couldn't travel. The league had ample time to either get the pitch inspected or to find a new referee!!:mad: What time were celtic told not to travel??
Someone at Celtic should be on the phone to FAI Junior Council to get this looked into. John Hadnett lives only 15mins from Tipp Town!
The game did not have to have linesmen, I'm sure Tom Keating or Michael Freiberg could have checked pitch and as grade 1 refs done the game on their own.
I don't understand how Old Bridge loose home advantage to Town now in FAI.
Ferryhouse wouldn't leave Old Bridge or any team play in their facilities on Sunday it had nothing to do with the pitch the pitch was fine. Bridge shudn't loose advantage over that.
I don't know why the game was nearly played in the complex as well. Heard Lewis was pushing it to go ahead for some reason.
The real reason the game was called off was because a YETI yes BIG FOOT himself had taken up residence just behind the trees in Cooke Park. He established himself a home there and could not be budged. While assembling his home there he unearthed a cache of weapons with I something A written on top he also came across some bones which have been identified as Equine (RUMOUR HAS IT ITS SHERGAR). Also discovered were flight tickets to and from Dallas Texas dating back to the 22nd of November 1963, yes folks the day Kennedy was shot! I KID YOU NOT!
Get a grip people please!
Is that true ???
Damn...
Wait, that's all a lie, isn't it.. Yeti can't speak English.. how do you know he did all those things?
On the wider issue however though.. personally, I think it is wrong in any case, that a club should lose home advantage over what is esentially an act of God i.e. the weather. In fact, changing fixtures based on the weather could lead to games being played on dangerous surfaces, just because a team wants to retain home advantage
St Michaels weren't the cause of the freezing temperatures last weekend.. so why should they be disadvantaged by them.. no more than Old Bridge should have been either. The original fixtures should stand
It is all much ado about nothing,i am surprised Saints keep home advantage but there is a rule in place so where is the problem with taking advanage of this,be foolish not to,i do not think Celtic will mind a whole lot either because they tend to do better in cooke park,we might be debating all this again next week as i can not see games being played again the weekend
Why doesnt anybody from Clonmel Town raise this issue!!! There's not much being said about them getting home advantage if Old Bridge's pitch was ok to play on. Bish Bash, (Barry Ryan, whatever you call yourself!!!) Mega Tots, you will drive yourself to distraction with your stupid personalised comments!!! Get real people, weather is weather at the end of the day - some of you on here are making mega assumptions with referees, travel etc, games at this time of year are always getting cancelled for one reason or another - so get on with it!
I agree that it is a silly rule but argue for it to be changed then rather than be ignored. There are lots of rules around that I do not particularly like but at the same time know they have to be respected. Seemingly the rule says that if a game cannot take place due to weather conditions the fixture is reversed. Why was this applied in 2 of the 3 games refixed for Sunday week but not the St Michaels/Celtic game?
We are only asking the question as to why in two cases (Bridge/Town and Moneygall/Ballingarry) the FAI Junior Cup rule about games being postponed due to the weather was applied (i.e. home advantage changes) but seemingly ignored for the Michaels/Celtic. Surely you of all people should know about FAI Junior Cup rules after last year???
I'd like to actually see this rule. Wasn't it the weather that was the cause of the referee not being able to travel. Therefore, wasn't it the weather that resulted in the game being postponed. Also the league had ample time to find another referee if it wished to do so. As someone stated earlier, Hadnett lives closeby. Therefore isn't it the league who called the game off due to the weather conditions??
The Armed Yeti is obviously a defensive tactic that St Michaels are using in fear of retribution from Limerick gangs after robbing Pike last year. The equine bones and the JFK shooting??...........Prince Karim and JFK obviously at some stage stood between St Michaels and winning the Fai Junior Cup.............................................Is there nothing that they wouldn't do???
Lads,keep away from the personal attacks/insinuations if you want to keep posting in this thread.
No i'm not Barry Ryan i'm a supporter of Clonmel Celtic if you look back through the archives of this forum you'll see that. I'm not surprised that people have come on and make little of the whole situation. Its wrong whats happening its contradictory to the rules that are stated for each and every other club but i guess those rules dont apply to St Michaels as they do for everyone else. Also its pretty childish to assume any user on this forum that has an issue with St Michaels is automatically Barry Ryan.
You're missing the point Rory, Any League can create a new cup competition and in creating the rules for that competition, decide how drawn games in that competition are decided (penos or extra time, replay, etc) as long as they are in accordance with the Fifa directives. As far as I know going straight to penalties is a legitimate way the decide the outcome of a match............My "gripe" is that no one it Tipp seems to have ever seen a copy of the rules governing thes local cups!!
Communication?? Wassat??
I think the Information Technology age has passed the TSDL by. They have a very good website although I don't see any reasons why they couldn't have competition rules posted on there.
However it would be a great idea if they spend some of their money on updating their IT skills. Surely it couldn't be that difficult to use email for communications?
League cups in waterford all go straight to pens after a draw, this is mainly due to them being midweek games at the end of a season and light being an issue
The only non-league games in the TSDL that do not go to extra time after draw are Shield games. These are ran in all but Premier Division. The best thing to do is scrap this straight to pens rule from shield games and all concerned will know all non-league games have extra time after drawn 90 mins. Also Ref at one of the said games was told it had to have extra time but said "I'm the ref and I Know the rules"