Dundalk were the better side but anyone could have won by the time ET rolled around - two tired looking teams, loads of space to attack into, errors all over the place.
Congrats Cork, some well-deserved silverware.
Printable View
Dundalk were the better side but anyone could have won by the time ET rolled around - two tired looking teams, loads of space to attack into, errors all over the place.
Congrats Cork, some well-deserved silverware.
I thought it was a good tough hard fought and exciting final where everything was left on the pitch, spoiled somewhat by the poor ending :)
Sounded like a great atmosphere all the way through and both supporters had a blast.
Cork definitely deserve some decent trophy over the past 2 seasons.
Fairly enjoyable game there, at least after the first half.
Evenly matched, but sometimes you need a bit of luck, and that's what Cork got. Fair play to them.
As a pedantic aside, did Maguire get booked after he scored? Took his jersey off but didn't notice the yellow being given out.
Good teams win the double. Great teams win the double double.
Congratulations Corkies.
Last minute extra time winner, I must say I enjoyed that
Good result for the league, Cork needed that to give them some momentum for next season. Much more impressive performance from Dundalk considering their trip to Russia they looked knackered from the 2nd half onwards. Thought it was a decent enough game but like all finals needed a early goal.
Disappointed with the result but not the performance.
I was very proud of the team, they oozed class throughout and it was going to take something like a cruel deflection in the last minute of the game for us to lose. That is football though, it can be cruel.
Looking forward to the rest of the season, we have some big games coming up. I hope O'Donnell and Shields didn't pick up bad injuries.
Congrats cork. Disappointed with the result and a cruel way to lose but thems are the breaks.
Hard to fault any of the lads and it was a tight with no clear standout side.
Disappointed but we don't have to wait too long to set the record straight and we will have a proper rest and recuperation
I'd also like to extend my congratulations to Cork City.
It is fitting that they have a piece of silverware after all the great work over the last three seasons.
Congrats to Cork. Would have been tough losing to Dundalk again. Enjoyable final.
Much appreciated. A lot of dundalk fans after shouting about how it's only the fai cup, but right now this means everything to me. Just as special as that night up in tolka. The last decade supporting this team has been a rollercoaster, winning the league the cup and the setanta cup, and then all that happened after that, the club on its knees and we thought it was all over. Bursted with emotion when that goal went in, it just makes it all worth it. I love my football club.
I've nothing but respect for dundalk and I wish ye the very best of luck in the rest of your fantastic European campaign. And of course renewing our rivalry next season
Fair play to the Dundalk fans who posted on here congratulating City.You are real football fans,I salute you.
Delighted for Cork, well done - as White Horse is magnanimous enough to say, it's great to see such a good side get some reward.
Congratulations to Cork.
Credit where it is due - the FAI Cup is a fantastic competition and is really difficult to win. Although hugely disappointed at the outcome, I wish only the best for all the Cork supporters and the team and management, especially after all the disappointments over the last 3 years. Enjoy the feeling, boys and girls; we don't planning on giving you many more over the next few years!
Enjoyable game between two evenly matched teams, though I thought that, despite some Cork highlights, Dundalk edged it. Went with a friend from work (Cork-boy!) who hadn't seen LoI teams in action in a few years, but who went away impressed by the fitness levels and skill.
Congratulations to Cork - a well deserved end to the season, and, hopefully, a springboard for the next.
They celebrated winning the EA Sports Cup enough (by they I mean the pre-bandwagon fans) and any reasonable Dundalk fan would say that was one of the early milestones in their success. Some of us would be very happy with an FAI Cup as a consolation prize anyway.
Congratulations to Cork anyway. I thought they just about shaded it in normal time but Dundalk edged it over 120, but don't think either side could have had too many complaints if it had gone either way.
One last point from me on the cup final.
Ronan Finn. Unbelievable. I have no idea how he put in that effort after his playing so well in Russia two and half days ago.
It was the best performance I can recall in a cup final.
Am I the only one who thought it was a ****e final?