Looks all but done from what he is saying.
Printable View
I have no doubt he would accept a call up from either USA or us. Playing for either team would be the highest level he’s ever played. His comments RE: Ireland might simply be a way of scaring the U.S. into giving him a cap he might not otherwise receive.
it'd be pretty weird if an American born in Colorado plays for Ireland, while an Irish player raised in Colorado plays for America!
A stunning statement Liamo.
"He is pure American, the irish thing is just for his passport"
Have you talked to him?
It would be a real stretch for Ireland to play someone with an Irish grandparent, wouldn't it?
Don't think I've ever seen that happen before?
Why don't you cut the lad some slack. He is no different from the procession of foreign born lads with Irish grandparents who have worn the green.
Doesn't matter if he was born in the Amazon, he qualifies.
http://americansoccernow.com/article...visie-interest . article is from earlier this summer sets out why he is gettingbhis passport. no mention of wanting to play for us and clear aim to play atvtge highest level to be talked about more back in america.
Is he any good ? We can do with as much good as possible .
I don't know Liam. I think you're being harsh on him. There's no quote from him as to why he's getting the passport. And I think he might be as happy to play with us as the US. Those quotes don't see him stating that the US is his number one choice.
It's funny- links with Neagle and McNamara and O'Neill to us never came to anything. Will be interesting to see if this does.
true maybe harsh but as I read it he will do whatever he can to progress his club career which is completely the right attitude and fair play to him. There does not seem to be any emtion in it to play for us. Id like him to have said Im getting the passport to hopefully play for ireland cause its my dream. the much maligned pwarce at derby who is at a far higger level could have chosen scotland but threw his lot in with us cause he said he always wanted to play for us and has stuck with us showing up rarely getting a game. so the least i expect is this lad to say he wants us not the usa
https://www.balls.ie/football/ryan-j...ireland-393990
Massive egg on my face, Ryan will play for Ireland U18’s next month!
I might be jumping the gun a little but seriously think MON should call him up and cap him soon, in a 3 way tug of war I wouldn’t be confident of keeping, Wales would have capped him if they were in our shoes.
that's brilliant news, I would guess he will be promoted to the U21s very quickly and if he progresses then the senior team
Is an u18 cap binding? As in, he'll have played for Ireland, Sweden, and Luxembourg at underage level, will he still be able to represent either of the other two?
Also, the original article is here is you want to read it: https://www.thetimes.co.uk/edition/i...star-0jx7vd9w6
It is behind a paywall, but you get two free articles for registering
FWIW, when he was discussed recently on the forum, I checked his instgram account, and he had a photo of himself in a Sweden jersey from one of the games he played for them. Just checked again, and that photo has been removed...
I think at around this level you can only make one switch, tbh but hugely confident of him staying until he play in a qualifier.
[QUOTE=tetsujin1979;1970170]Is an u18 cap binding? As in, he'll have played for Ireland, Sweden, and Luxembourg at underage level, will he still be able to represent either of the other two?
Only if he officially changes association, he may not have to do that at under U18 level though ( but if he does apply to FIFA and change he is ours)
I think when you play U19 on you have one switch after that, that’s why I’m still not that confident, he could play for us next month than just switch to Sweden for the U19 qualifiers without much effort.