Well, they have already referred to the team as the "Airtrix XI".
I don't think even the League of Ireland players will be used to playing in front of crowds as low as this. :)
Printable View
"Young" Joe Gamble coming on... Ha, some of this commentary is comedy gold.
2 nill to Man city now
Obviously, Gamble would have put that away was he not so young and had a bit more experience...
And now for the day's main challenge; off to find a shower.
"...very much the poor relation here..."
Cringe. Just, cringe.
I thought the home team played very well, with Barry Molloy outstanding. The goals from ManC especaily the 1st two was down to the team not having much experience playing together, as they were caught out by two punts over their heads and got caught trying to lay offside.
The commentators patronizing bull**** was hard to take.
Damien Hancock :bulgy: :bulgy: :bulgy:
Grabbing the spotlight for himself as ever.
The FAI sold out the manager and players, fair play to Rico and the players for getting on with it. I was following bits on a stream and just felt ill listening to the "commentators". Disgusting. I almost watched the match I was at in protest.
I actually thought McClean played poorly. Was he carrying a knock?
It's all League of Ireland XI in the Celtic game at the minute. Celtic are pretty poor. Daniel Kearns looks a very promising prospect.
Embarrassing looking at those in the crowd draped, without any irony, in tricolours and the like whilst contriving against the Irish team.
The Sunday Mirror's dreadful Ciarán Ó Raghallaigh actually has the temerity to slag off League of Ireland fans for not attending the game
"Plenty of excuses why Irish LOI fans didn't get off their ass. But there's always some excuse. No reason not to support league/players." - www.twitter.com/Ciaran_O
That's coming from a supposed "hardcore" Celtic fan despite the fact there's feck all Irish Celtic fans at the game, despite being a rare chance to actually go and watch their team play. Instead he has a go at fans who watch their teams week in week out, for not supporting a made up team featuring two or three teams in the League. I've no idea where to start with an idiotic opinion like that.
It's almost embarrassing losing 5-0 to Celtic.
It is embarrassing. Richardsons record as manager of the L.O.I team reads Played 3 lost 3.
Goals for 1, Goals against 15.
In fairness the 5-0 was very harsh, just lost concentration and looked tired in the last 10 minutes. 1-0 was a fairly fair reflection of the game before the stupid peno from Ventre. Neither performance was as embarrassing as last years disaster. Kearns was very impressive for the league side.
I hate to say it as I've always admired the man, but Rico has been put in to flog a dead horse. I still think he's one of the best managers in Ireland, though what can he do with an understrength side against full time pros and he and the players all being treated like crap. If the LOI had any gumption they'd insist the FAI (as the guardians of the game) organise a regular LOI Select and have them play matches not just when it suits JD and his cronies to get a few more bucks.
Rico is a fuking headache. If I hear him say 'apply yourself' one more time I'll stick a dictionary down his throat. :D