Cobra you're forgetting Aido is a lazy fecker with short legs!;)
He also has short arms at the bar:D
Printable View
that could be the same flight as us. we booked our hotel through www.sofiahotels.net and they organised for a taxi to pick us up upon arrival. think they charge €20
For any late bookers, the summary thread is now updated to everything up to page 24 of the thread. Will definitely get it finished this week (and I know I said that last week!)
Is the Sveta far from the city centre, stadium, pub etc
AidoM, the new Cilla Black.
McCarthys...are ye showing the Meath V Dublin march on the sunday....need to find an irish pub showing it, im sure therer will be plenty in the same boat
Hi , If you are looking for a flight to Sofia and live in G.B Swiss air fly from Heathrow on Friday Morning changing at Zurich arriving at Sofia at 15.30. Cost £168.if you book with a company called treminal A.
I think I only have 1 post a day so heres some answers to some of the questions.
The money changing place on Vitosha bvd opens at 9 in the morning and closes at 9 at night.
Its just on the side street before pizza palace restaurant 5 metres down.
With regards to tourist activities it depends. If you have time you could go up to the mountains on the cable car or chair life, some small restaurants up there and walking trails but .... I cant see that happening with hangovers etc somehow!
In the city itself theres not a lot to see, u will notice this yourselves when you arrive.
PLaces to meet before the match, a good idea would be NDK park at the top of vitosha bvd where they have outdoor bars about 5 or 6 small ones but the park is big so maybe a perfect meeting place or eagles bridge which is down past the stadium, there is a small man made lake there wit restaurants bars, paddle boats etc.
A copy of your passport or licence is fine.
I would walk to the stadium on Saturday as the roads will be blocked off by the police, it will be much easier. 20 minutes maximum.
With regards to clubs to try, there are some good ones. The bouncers wont set on you at all but if you give them an excuse they will do their job.
For live music the Swinging hall is very good, back and front stage venue, 5 euros to get in. Its in Lozenets area, 5 leva in taxi from centre.
For techno, chervillo, dont like this crap but people seem to go there for some strange reason.
If you want to see a different type of lucb go to Sin city, its turbo folk club, huge not too cheap but I think it should be visited if you want to see some of the most beautiful women in the world. Not my scene either but a must to be seen even for a drink!
If you want a whole area of clubs together go out to Student city which is 10 mins outside sofia, 9 leva in a taxi, full city of students and booze here is some places is very cheap and its rammed with students. Clubs there include the viper rooms, jim bean and many more!
Beware fake alcohol, if ur drinking spirits and they odnt taste right assume its fake and hand it back, fake whiskey hangover not nice, believe me!
A lot of bars close about 2 or 3 but there are places that are 24 hours, mr piza, ugo on vitosha bvd, happy bar and grill.
We are flexible normally! :)
Enjoy.
hmm fake alcohol, i think im going to be in overdrice paranoia for the 3 days then. Its bad enough with the sh1te pints in Tanland, so dont know what im going to do out there!
Should try a few of the local bottled beers, get a taste for one of them and away ye go.
Always drink Jameson but as the local bulgarian savoy whiskey is less than half the price of jameson, have got use to savoy plus ye get more as they measure jameson but pour their own stuff with out the measures.
just three weeks to go cant wait now.Any good restuarants McCarthy.
I've been had !!
Who was 1st to quote Sveta hotel ?
just checked it out on tripadvisor !!
All I can say those who ever has booked the Radisson im truely Jealous and cannot believe i have to stay here, check out the beds there that old there shaped like canoes and as for the decor looks like something from the 1950's :eek:
http://media-cdn.tripadvisor.com/med...-the-sveta.jpg
No she is free with the room :D
One good thing on tripadvisor , it said Sveta had a beer Garden! weather in Sofia today is 21 degrees so fingers crossed its nice and sunny in 3 weeks !!
Just had a nose on Radisson web site, and its fab , it also has Flannigans irish bar, yes im very Jealous :mad:
I have come to realise that stars mean nothing. I was in a 4star in mexico,with 3 different restaurants, pools, 2 bars, lovely rooms bar a weird smell throughout the hotel and then I was in a 4star in morocco which definitely didn't compare in any shape or form, and then another in Europe which couldn't compare either. Stars mean nothing unless 5 star. Its like Math.rand(0,5), a magic random number that they come up with.
Looking up my 3rd hotel now as 2 more lads going and hotel Nikky cannot take 2 more so will cancel it when get some where else for the 4 of us.
Good few fans staying in hotel rodina,it gets some awful reviews on tripadvisor.
Have found hotel beside all these Irish pubs for €44 for twin room per night, hope they have 2 rooms available, great location.
[QUOTE=JT,New'09;1159469] I've been had !!
All I can say those who ever has booked the Radisson im truely Jealous and cannot believe i have to stay here, check out the beds there that old there shaped like canoes and as for the decor looks like something from the 1950's :eek: [QUOTE]
Looks like the authentic Bulgarian experience to me, much better than the standardised luxury of Radisson! :p
In fairness it's also about half the price of the Radisson if memory serves (Radisson booked out now anyway).
Just checked out your hotel and its fab checked availability and all they had was a delux suite €750 for the 3 nights ( thur - sun ) They must be out of standard doubles or twins.
Ah ill just go with Sveta, as there is 11 of us booked into this Hotel and be too messy changing, Ill slum it for the weekend :eek:
Prob be so hammered I wont care anyhow. I think the location & been so central may outweigh the bad points ( hotel rooms its self ha ha ha )
[quote=eaststand85;1159511][quote=JT,New'09;1159469] I've been had !!
All I can say those who ever has booked the Radisson im truely Jealous and cannot believe i have to stay here, check out the beds there that old there shaped like canoes and as for the decor looks like something from the 1950's :eek:ah sveta will be grand its only for 3 nights :oQuote:
Looks like the authentic Bulgarian experience to me, much better than the standardised luxury of Radisson! :p
In fairness it's also about half the price of the Radisson if memory serves (Radisson booked out now anyway).