I was only taking the **** thats why i used ;)
Id be the first one to stand up for Skinny and i know he really only goes out on a Sunday
Printable View
not getting my point either .. what can be done if management are happy to have a few drinks with player on a saturday night... if any player then dropped for going out on a saturday night he should be man enough to let management know in front of his team mates
how can they they justify dropping him when some players are drinking night before with managers .. would need proof to back it up not just rumours .. :ball:
i agree with you .. but if this is the situation at a club then managers must be ok with it.. i find it very hard to believe that newtown management would be ok with this for a player to go drinking with them before a game .. is it the usuall rumours or has anybody got 100% proof that players & managers are drinking together before matches every saturday night.. :ball:
Newtown Players and Managers meet up every Saturday at 3.00pm in the Lodge. They have 4 quick pints and then head down to the Knights for a few shots of either Butterballs or straight Vodka, Then they head to the New Bar for a 6 Bottles of Bulmers Original Cider, next stop is the Crossroads Tavern for a couple more shots of either Butterballs or straight Vodka. The Disco is a must as most of the Team can't leave it at that,they need to show their face.
When the Disco ends John Kelly is waiting outside in the minibus to bring them out to SixmileBridge to Andys house where they drink until they are finally ready to show up for their game on Sunday morning.
If any player doesn't go to The Bridge they will not be selected to play.FACT
Dont know if this story is true but the horses mouth told me.
Many years ago Red Austin was the Newtown manager and he used to do a tour of the pubs,bare in mind only the Knights,the GAA,Nellys and the Honk,(no self respecting Newtown man ever set foot in the Xroads only to collect the Wesley Webb) at the time.One Saturday he brought Tommy Mcd with him to spot any offending players and they found none.On the way Tommy had 2 pints.Next morning Red picked the team and Tommy was in shock to hear he was dropped for drinking before a match!!!! And there were no Knights hand stamps in those days!!!!
Well said ice man, nobodys business what way Newtown management run their team or what Skinny does.
This is not professional football. while all managers encourage their players to go handy on a Sat nite, in general they have no problem with players havin a few beers. Skinny as any other player should not be the subject of these conversations, good luck to the lad, he turns up every Sun morning on time and ready for action.
Let's leave this behind and move on to relevant matters.
2 Clare teams left in the FAI next weekend.
How do people think they will fair out???
www.claresoccer.net updated
what was yesterdays team?? seems unlikley that clare will get a resul against limerick... they hammered waterford/cork yesterday!!
BTW why is this forum so quiet?? surely there is something to talk/give out about... come on people lets be having ye
Limerick League Pld 2 Pts 4
West Waterford East Cork League Pld 2 Pts 3
Munster Senior League Pld 2 Pts 2
Clare League Pld 2 Pts 1
This is the table as I see it going into the last round of games... I imagine Clare will find it hard to qualify as they would have to beat Limerick by a few goals. They are -4 goals at the moment.
I know Evan Glynn played full back yesterday and Shane O'Connor did not get a run. Heard nothing else about the game or team.
john healy,evan glynn jay stretton,brendan rochford donal brody
jamie cullen david russell ali mcmenimen eoin o brien
cheeky n kieran up front
liam murphy on after 25mins for d brody (inj
mike malley half time
Limerick League Pld 2 Pts 4
West Waterford East Cork League Pld 2 Pts 3
Munster Senior League Pld 2 Pts 2
Clare League Pld 2 Pts 1
This is the table as I see it going into the last round of games... I imagine Clare will find it hard to qualify as they would have to beat Limerick by a few goals. They are -4 goals at the moment.
I know Evan Glynn played full back yesterday and Shane O'Connor did not get a run. Heard nothing else about the game or team.
All depends on whether teams level on pts decided on goal difference or on head to head results. Does anyone know which it is for this competition?
any views on clare involvement in the F.A.I both youths and junior. who will be expected to go furthest between newtown and the rats? would also like to comment on newmarkets achievement on getting to the last 16 for the second succesive season.any comments on this?
Much deserved on the part of Newmarket youths. Beating two Limerick sides on the way (one a comprehensive 6-1 win over Knockainey, and the other a 3-2 win against Corbally with a weakened side). Probably the best youths squad Newmarket have in recent years, and here's hoping they can go at least one further than last year.
Well done to Avenue also, on reaching the last 32 and giving Newmarket a good game last Saturday.
Just wondering does anyone posting here follow the 3rd Division ??
Rhine Rovers unbeaten on top with 39 goals scored...
Newmarket B slipping behind after a defeat to Corofin B at the weekend.
Lots of excitement :D
id expect newtown and the rats to make it thru this week and it would be great if newmarket could go one better and make the quarter finals of the youths
Ya looks like its going to be an interesting season.Quuin are going well but always drop points at end of season when gaa starts up.Cant rule out ennistymon but dont think newmarket will last pace.I see kilkishen are starting to get a few results could maybe make a push for 2nd or 3rd.Bridge celtic will cause alot of problems espically at home.
great to see someone talkin bout 'the forgotten division'!id agree with your tips for the top in this division but would you consider corofin b as a good outside bet!??a good mix of experience and youth,capable of a good cup run also,ye heard it here first lads!!!!:cool:
Not so sure about corofin b. played them a few weeks back.Were good for 30mins then started fightin with themslves and ref.Some good players tough.good win against newmrk so they can beat the better teams on their day.
Kilkishen have fallen too far behind to mount a serious challenge in my opinion...
Corofin B deserved their win over Newmarket at the weekend but they didn't show much that says they can be title contenders...
I think its hard to look outside Rhine Rovers, Newmarket B and Bridge Celtic B for the champions...but its early yet
I would agree that it would be very hard to look past Rhine Rovers. In fairness the two johnstons for Rhine would be a welcome addition to any permier side and i every one else i think are fighting for second and third respectivley.
thought Newmarket would be alot better last Sunday but then again every team has an off day.
Regarding Corofin this was the first day we had nearly everyone availible for selection due to injury and the Queens Nite Club:) and again this will strike again during the season so i don't think we'll be in the shake up.
Yeah Rhine are in fantastic form but they will drop points at some stage and that will give the chasing pack an opportunity to bridge the gap.
Newmarket were missing their two danger players through suspension
on Sunday but thats no excuse for the poor performance, and another stupid red card at the end of that game means that the team will be changed around a bit for the game against Newtown B at the weekend.
Maybe some of the younger lads getting their opportunity.
Newmarket can improve alot over the course of the season if the manager can get the team selection right and provided they can keep their discipline...
I haven't seen Bridge Celtic B, but they're the only other team apart from Rhine that are unbeaten, so they must be doing something right...
As opposed to the beaver-fests that premier division matches are ?? :rolleyes:
Im sorry sir that we don't all have a new pair of fancy orange boots for every passing move.
Im sorry that we dont wear three pairs of socks, have a pair of adidas shorts that cost us 30 quid, and wear gloves when its nippy.
We are clearly inferior...
tony .. it is a clare league forum so anybody is entitled to post about the premier / 1st division / 2nd division / 3rd division and fair play to them for getting a bit of attenion to the lower divisions.. long overdue .. the clare league is not just about preimer league... plus it makes a change talking about football rathar than having a personal attack on : certain players .. :ball:
And a thread called Second Division Clare ? And one called First Division Clare, and Premier Division Clare and Youths Clare ?....And how about threads for all the various cups that Clare teams take part in ?
Whats wrong with discussing the Third Division in this thread ? Third Division discussion is better than no discussion...which is all I can see in here
I believe the thread title is Clare League 2007-08...that, to me, suggests all aspects of the Clare League in the season 2007-08, don't you think ??
If you guys think we need different threads for the different divisions just do it.
Don't wait for someone else to take the initiative.
Just as players in the Premier Division dont give a damn about 3rd, 2nd and to a lesser extent 1st (they do want to know who is getting promoted), players in the 3rd, and 2nd Divisions couldn't care less about the teams in the Premier Division unless they get drawn against one of them in the cup.
There are as many players registered in the 3rd Division as any of the other Divisions and as this is a Clare League thread they are surely entitled to come on and discuss topics related to them and not have to view some of the rubbish that has been written over the last couple of pages.
If its Football related, regarding whatever Division it is a welcome change.
Keep Posting
[QUOTE=Tony Dorigo;820283]*YAWN*
Ah lads...give it up...Your not doing anyone any favours talking about or even playing in the 3rd division.
No one cares.
It's rubbish like the above (and I could probably quote 15 or 20 of Mr Dorigo's other 46 posts for similar examples) that drags the standards of this thread down. The title of the thread is Clare League-2007-08 and that includes all 4 divisions plus the underage. (Incidentally, Shels, nobody pulls you up on your rants about youths socer etc on this thread so it's a bit Irish of you to be suggesting seperate threads for other divisions). If memory serves me correctly, this thread was initially set up by a Kilkishen member (Pauliwallnuts) a few seasons ago and was mainly contributed to by 1st division clubs (Olympic, BunrattyB Kilkishen etc). Nobody said then that it was an exclusive club so what has changed? We all pay our dues to the Clare League, we're all entitled to our opinions.
Right so, who has a problem talking about,1st,2nd,3rd,youths and school boy on the thread??
I don't, but we can easily open a thread for each division.