lads do any of ye know what league the team carew park drew in fai senior cup st peters athlone are in or a link belong to them thanks lads
Printable View
lads do any of ye know what league the team carew park drew in fai senior cup st peters athlone are in or a link belong to them thanks lads
St Peter's of Athlone play in the Leinster Senior League. I think they would be a Division One side in it. Their pitch is situated on the Ballinasloe side of Athlone (approx two-three miles from Athlone), off the main road. It is called McCarthy Park and it is a good pitch and a wide pitch. St. Peter's wear green/white hooped jersies and they are more renowned for underage football in the region.Quote:
Originally Posted by l.f.c......
thunderblaster your a legend thanks alot
thunderblaster just logged in lenister senior league official website and went throu all the leagues there know were to be found maybe i said legend to soon :D
http://www.galwayadvertiser.ie/dws/s...ort/57832.html
It's the game followers of soccer in Galway have been looking forward to for weeks. On Sunday afternoon at Terryland Park (3p.m kick off) Galway Hibernians host Waterford Crystal in the penultimate round of the famous Statoil FAI Junior Cup.
Hibs' FAI Junior Cup form has been exemplary this season. Mark McPhilbin is a most capable goalkeeper, with a defence that continues to be inspired by the immense Stumpy Ward and central partner Eric Browne who is another talented Hibs' defender.
Manager Paul Reidy possesses a wealth of midfield options. Johnny Walshe, once admired by Shelbourne, has been a key contributor thus far. Anthony Kelly's footballing prowess is notable, while Spanish import Juan Rojas adds a dash of flair to the Bohermore side. Rodney Grant's season has been hampered by injury, but the former West United captain will relish Sunday's battle.
In attack Tommy Ward has been in prolific form, particularly in the FAI Junior Cup games. In a well contested tie with Bellurgan Celtic Ward struck a brace of critical goals to safeguard Hibs passage into the final four of the competition.
Waterford Crystal narrowly defeated Salthill Devon, but that game took place in the Munster city.
Last Sunday's preparations may not have gone according to plan when Hibs surprisingly lost to Abbey United in the Connacht Cup, but they will be especially eager to recapture their winning touch.
A Galwegian victory is a distinct possibility, and with a large home crowd expected the Dyke Road, HIbs and Waterford should witness a fascinating battle on Easter Sunday. Reidy, an under-rated player for Galway United, is a shrewd football man and Hibs' mixture of spirit and skill may be enough to outwit a well regarded Waterford Crystal team.
It will be a tough game but heres to a Suir Side victoryQuote:
Originally Posted by galwaygirl
Did you sign Juan Rojas for €50,000 from Sporting Real Costa Del Aguilera in some Marbella local league? :rolleyes: :D :p :eek:Quote:
Originally Posted by galwaygirl
Ladbrokes are just covering their own backside with them odds. They do not fancy another Carew Park style sting again. :cool:Quote:
Originally Posted by joeSoap
Carew Park supporters will be well pleased to hear that Denis Whelan will be available to play against Westport United in the Semi Final of the FAI Junior Cup in Jackman Park on Sunday. Whelan was sent off in the enthralling quarter final encounter against Ballynanty Rovers and his availability is a boost for the Southill side that are aiming for their first ever national final appearance. The only downside is that Whelan's suspension comes into effect for the final, therefore ruling out the influential star, should Carew Park do the business. All of Limerick will be in Jackman Park to cheer on Carew Park to ensure that the FAI Junior Cup stays in the Treaty City. :)
Any last minute predictions? Will it be an all Munster (like last year) or an all Connacht final (never happened before) or will it be a Munster V Connacht final? The next ninety minutes will be the key to either progress to the biggest cup final in the country for all four sides or elimination from the competition. Who is the weakest link?
these games might be only at a junior level but there will be quality players on show, so whoever takes there chance on the day could shine.i expect both semis to be tight affairs with only the odd goal deciding it.let the action begin
carew park v galway hibs in the final!!!
Results were:
Galway Hibs 0 - 1 Waterford Crystal
Carew Park 1-1 Westport Utd at the end of 90 mins and extra time (Carew Park won 3-2 on penalties)
So the final is Waterford Crystal vs Carew Park on May 8th. Not exactly the final everyone wanted to see, but we'll have to make do.
Well done Carew Park.. Was at the game and after a nervy start they settled and ran out worthy winners.Should have won the game in 90 but that won't bother them..Fully deserved their win and lets just hope thay can go all the way.. :) Gordon Stewart, what a legend..... :D
Well done also to Waterford Crystal on making the final.I still can't believe that they are still there, but that shows how much I know, Isn't that right ThunderBlaster, Got the 2 semis wrong this time.... :p
What would have been your final? For the record, Carew Park won 4-2 on penalties.Quote:
Originally Posted by smiaras
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark_no9
Quote:
Originally Posted by Thunderblaster
You got one out of two right, I got both right. My prediction for the final is Carew Park to win 1-0 and Albert Slattery to get the winner.Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark_no9
Well deserved win for Crystal, roll on the 8th of May, Congrads Lads
Anybody know where the final is - I'm presuming its at the Cross - :confused:
ya turners cross may 8th
can any park rangers supporters tell me how good are this waterford crystal side???
A solid if not spectacular side. Decent in all areas, but defensively very good.The centre backs are two big lads and take no prisoners and will not give the ball away cheaply. The left full is excellent and hard to get by. the right full is where you might get by them and this could be the key, in around the back. High balls into the centre forwards would be wasted they will win them all.In midfield, the middle pair will not be intimidated and will work very hard all day, but Albert on his game should do it in this area. The two wide lads are average enough with the left sided one being pacey enough but not blinding. The two up front are one big lad and one average size(Tynan)and should not frighten Koyce and Carey but Tynan has been scoring well for them all season in this competition so beware. Their strenght is their belief in themselves and Rea has them playing a tight game that says dont go a goal behind or they will tighten up like a ducks arse. Hope this helps you. Well done yesterday and good luck in Turners Cross on May 8thQuote:
Can anyone tell me what Carew Park are like
No disrespect to ye but nothing anybody tells you about these lads could prepare you for them, just dont start a row with them. :D
Are these guy's really that badQuote:
Originally Posted by riverside
thegaffer there not bad at all its just a pity the green eyed monster is around one or two clubs in limerick at the moment. i thought it was just pike that were the team that hates to see any limerick club but them selfs win anything outside limerick now we have park rangers on board aswell thegaffer let me explain carew park and park rangers have not seen eye to eye over the last couple of seasons so you might be able to understand why they want carew to fall flat in the fianl. as for pike well every club in the town dont see eye to eye with pike. pike are and always have been full of crap my friend riverside would nearly comfirm that for you. not one of thoses pike lads wanted carew to beat westport all because they got hammered by the same crowd 3_0 at home in the fai.
sorry gaffer to answer your first post
carew park are a very hard working team
back four very soild just check the stats on the league table
midfield is were carew could win this cup they have two very good wingers maher and wheelan in the centre albert sla who on his day is one of the best in limerick and paul quinn
ger ned will be a handful the rest ye should not be troubled to much
Easy there L.F.C, I wouldn't be given Waterford Crystal too much info... Gaffer again no disrespect but you'll have to come to "Stab City" and see for yourself how good or bad Carew are.. ;) Look after your own and all that...Quote:
Took me up wrong here. I hope Carew win it.No green eyed monsters with Park,just letting Gaffer know it wont be easy,he seems a decent sortQuote:
Think thats very hard on pike, I'm sure the likes of pike and janesboro are a bit disillusioned with the likes of carew park in the final of an FAI, pike and boro have worked hard for years trying to get their pitch in order and have great facilities each of them, carew park and balla don't own a pitch between them and got further than them both this year, look at it that way and its not hard to understand why they've mixed feelings about carew getting to a final, good luck to carew hope they win it, was at the semi on sunday, standard was very poor for a FAI semi, it really is anybodies FAI this yearQuote:
Have Carew ever been in a big final before ?
What odds are given for the final? Surely Carew Park are the favourites now!!
One or two reports suggest that they are a carbon copy of Wimbledon F.C; long ball merchants.Quote:
Would have been a ridiculous venue had the results gone the opposite direction on Sunday.Quote:
Originally Posted by riverside
they were beaten by fairview in the munster junior final a few years agoQuote:
Originally Posted by Bad Bob
Easy up there Whistler...he's entitled to his opinion be it constructive or criticism...You are always going to get the knockers & begrudgers even in your own city. Your right it will be a fairytale if ( when in my opinion ) they win it , then let the begrudgers have their say when the Cup is in the Wheel or getting kicked up and down the "hill" :DQuote:
Originally Posted by whistler
Great to see Carew in the final ...Hope they go on and win it now Fair play to them
don't begrudge carew a thing, just putting forward how pike and boro may be feeling, hope and think carew will win it myself, saw them in the last two games and don't think theres a team in limerick that would match them for team spirit and heart, fair play to them, think it is their year, reports from the granville and park games suggest crystal aren't a great side but they must have something about them to get this far
Belief and spirit and a good team effort does that sound familiar
Heard a rumour that westport are going to lodge a complaint ( not another one ) against carew - they reckon there was an inelligible player
not sure of the details - can anyone shed some light?