Heard that NCW second goal was well off side and that the ref gave NCW a very dubious penalty. Apparently, even NCW Players could not believe their luck. Justice was done when NCW missed it. Glin Rovers hit the bar twice. Big clanger by Glin GK who dropped the ball for the 3rd goal in almost last kick of the match to gift NCW a tap in. Tough on GK who played well – happens to the best!! Not taking anything away from NCW whom are a fine side, you take the chances you are given and they did that to a T! Glin Rvs are a match for any team on their day – had a bad start to season though!! Not sure if Junior Football is affecting them or not?
01/10/2012, 9:49 PM
nathanbrown
Jaorta, firstly I only commented on what I heard and stated I wasnt sure about it, from speaking to a senior member of the Shannonside team I was told that they had approached Ivess but he apparently turned them down. I do agree that the 2 lads that left Kilcornan left to try and do better for themselves and train under an experienced coach as they are young and have a lot to learn. I also agree that Ivess would have nothing to gain by going to Shannonside, hes surely pushing 30 and what can he gain by going there, but I do think he is a very decent goalie. I would have him very close to the oscar traynor panel if we had one as there isnt many around better than him.
Im not getting in to a debate about it because its just my opinion. Yours is valid also. While i mentioned it though I think it is very disappointing not to have a oscar traynor panel this year, there is the makings of a very good team with all the youngsters blossoming in the last season or 2 I think we couldve challenged for honours
02/10/2012, 1:26 PM
super6
Cant recall glin hitting the bar twice and the pen was a definite but there was a debatable hand ball leading up it to be fare.Big mistake by the keeper as you said and made some decent saves throughout the match but gifted ncw victory in the final mins.
02/10/2012, 1:31 PM
super6
Premier Division
PREDICTIONS Newcastle West V Rathkeale 1130 (G. O’Connor) NCW to edge it
Abbeyfeale Utd V Killeaney 1130 (J. Roche) Home
Newcastle West Rovers V Ballingarry 1130 (P. O’Brien) Away if it goes ahead
Shannonside V Carrig Celtic 1130 (P. Manning Score draw
02/10/2012, 2:31 PM
desmondwest
Carrig went 4-1 up, abbey awarded a controversial penalty in the 2nd half, Carrig missed a penalty & hit the upright twice in the last 15mins... Blue boy ''Abbey really should have got something from this game''..cant see how you could justify that statement !!
02/10/2012, 2:42 PM
sexyfootball
Desmonder, Super6 is right! It was a deafinate penalty but also true about a potential handball before the final goal of the game to! Dont remember the hitting of the crossbar either though. Your right about Glin being a match for anyoone on their day but they always have too many off days during a season & as you said the junior football will be affecting them massively also. Newcastle wernt great but still got the win and at the end of the day the result is all that matters!
02/10/2012, 5:09 PM
fanaticfan
i agree with sexy football and super6.it was a clear penalty and cant remember glin hitting the bar twice.i also think there was a handball before the final goal being scored.glin are a match to any side in the desmond league and will put it up to other teams in the coming weeks.newcastle didnt play well and as sexy football said they came away with the win and are now in the next round which will be a tough game for newcastle away to abbeyfeale.
03/10/2012, 12:08 AM
Desmonder
Ye all cant be wrong so I stand corrected about hitting bar twice and penno being dodgy! Was not at it so was relying on account from a friend! Are many NCW players involved with Senior Footballers. The final is not scheduled for few more weeks! Talking about dragging it out! GAA season is very long!
07/10/2012, 9:54 AM
western gale
Saturday, October 6th
FAI Youths Cup 1st Round
Newcastle West Rovers 5 Tralee Dynamos 0
07/10/2012, 2:19 PM
western gale
Sunday, October 7th
Reidy Cup 1st Round
Rockhill Rovers 3 Granagh Utd 2
Premier Division Newcastle West 3 Rathkeale 2
Abbeyfeale Utd 3 Killeaney 0
Newcastle West Rovers V Ballingarry off
Shannonside 2 Carrig Celtic 1
Division 1 Adare Utd V St Itas off
Old Mill 1 Askeaton 1
Glantine 4 Kilcornan 1
Division 2 Creeves Celtic 1 Feenagh 2
07/10/2012, 5:04 PM
western gale
Reidy Cup 1st Round
Rockhill Rovers 3 Granagh Utd 2
Division 2 Creeves Celtic 1 Feenagh 2
Ballysteen 3 Newcastle West B 3
Division 3 St Bens 1 Athea Utd B 2
Division 4 Shountrade 1 Newcastle West Rovers B 1
07/10/2012, 8:38 PM
fanaticfan
went to the newcastle west vs rathkeale games which are always great games to watch and wasnt disappointed either this morning.ncw went up 3-0 with goals from daniel power and 2 from the fitzgerald fella.they seemed to back off a bit and then rathkeale came back into it and got 2 goals to make it a good end to the game but ncw held out 3-2 winners
ncw rovers game called off this morning over their pitch,can rover not just play the rest of their games away from home or something cos they might be able to play a match then cos most of their home games seem to be called off
Munster Youths Cup 2nd Round (extra time & penalties)
Newcastle West Rovers V Pallaskenry 230 (S. Hartnett)
Youths Division 1
Newcastle West V Broadford Utd 230 (P. O’Connor)
Youths Division 2, all 230
St. Itas V Askeaton (P. King)
Feenagh V Creeves Celtic (J. Roche)
Bally Rovers V Ferry Rangers (D. Wallace)
Sunday 14th October
FAI Junior Cup 2nd Round (extra time & penalties)
Rathkeale V Newcastle West Rovers 1130 (P. O’Connor)
Newcastle West V Castleisland 230 (P. O’Brien)
Pallaskenry V St. Brendans Park 230 (T. Fitzmaurice)
Ballingarry V Burren Utd 230 (P. Manning)
Broadford Utd V Ruan Utd 230 (G. O’Connor)
Connolly Celtic V Killeaney 230
Newmarket Celtic V Abbeyfeale Utd 2pm
Richard Hogan Cup 1st Round (extra time & penalties)
Newcastle West Rovers B V Ballysteen 230 (D. Wallace)
Rathkeale Reserves V Granagh Utd 230pm (S. Hartnett)
Weekly Observer Premier Division
Glin Rovers V Shannonside FC 1130 (D. O’Gorman)
Division 1
Old Mill V Breska Rovers 1130 (G. O’Connor)
Athea Utd V St. Itas 1130 (P. O’Donnell)
Rockhill Rovers V Glantine 1130 (P. King)
Askeaton V Kilcornan 1130 (L. O’Connor)
Division 2
Feenagh V Carrig Celtic B 1130 (E. Barrett)
Division 3
Ferry Rangers V St. Bens 230 (C. Dalton)
Division 4
Bally Rovers V Shountrade 1130 (J. Roche)
Shannonside FC B V Glin Rovers B 230 in Shanagolden (L. O’Connor)
Creeves Celtic B V St. Itas B 230 (P. King)
08/10/2012, 10:26 AM
fanaticfan
Rathkeale V Newcastle West Rovers 1130 (home)
Newcastle West V Castleisland 230 (home)
Pallaskenry V St. Brendans Park 230 (away)
Ballingarry V Burren Utd 230 (home)
Broadford Utd V Ruan Utd 230 (home)
Connolly Celtic V Killeaney 230 home
Newmarket Celtic V Abbeyfeale Utd 2pm away
Richard Hogan Cup 1st Round (extra time & penalties)
Newcastle West Rovers B V Ballysteen 230 (away)
Rathkeale Reserves V Granagh Utd 230pm (home)
Weekly Observer Premier Division
Glin Rovers V Shannonside FC 1130 (away)
Division 1
Old Mill V Breska Rovers 1130 (away)
Athea Utd V St. Itas 1130 (homel)
Rockhill Rovers V Glantine 1130 (home)
Askeaton V Kilcornan 1130 (away)
Division 2
Feenagh V Carrig Celtic B 1130 (draw)
Division 3
Ferry Rangers V St. Bens 230 (home)
Division 4
Bally Rovers V Shountrade 1130 (home)
Shannonside FC B V Glin Rovers B 230 in Shanagolden (home)
Creeves Celtic B V St. Itas B 230 (away)
09/10/2012, 8:06 PM
last man back
Lads fai 3rd rd draw is on fai junior cup forum ncw and abbey due to meet again if both win
09/10/2012, 9:26 PM
Jocon
Glin shannonside looks to be a good game @ weekend seen shannonside a few times this season seem to be getting stronger with games, great game against carrig last week although carrig could have easily won too draw prob fair result, predictions ?? Draw for me
09/10/2012, 10:01 PM
Aldo
FAI JUNIOR CUP 3RD ROUND DRAW
Classic fc or Dingle Bay Rvs v Rathkeale Utd or NCW Rvs
Ballingary or Burren Utd v Pallaskenry Utd or St Brendans Park
Bridge Utd or Rhine Rvs v Avenue Utd (Clare)
Connolly Celtic or Killeaney v Broadford Utd or Ruan Utd
Shannon Olympic or Killarney Athletic v Kilkishen Celtic or Mastergeeha fc
Ennis Town Rock (Clare) v Bridge Celtic or Tralee Dynamos
Listowel or Killarney Celtic v Coole Fc or Spa Road Celtic
Newmarket Celtic or Abbeyfeale Utd v NCW or Castleisland Ties to be played 3rd/4th November
11/10/2012, 8:22 AM
super6
A couple of good ties the weekend with abbey playing the clare champions and NCW playing kerry league runners up and winners to play each other. i expect broadford to win handy the weekend too.Best of luck to all teams the weekend hopefully all desmond teams progress to round 3.
11/10/2012, 1:05 PM
BoyBlue
Tough game for Abbey against the Clare champions who were only beaten in extra time by pike last Sunday in the munster champions tournament. Hard to see anything but a home win.Ncw V castleisland should be a good game both good teams this season, castleisland might just have too much from what I've heard about them.