keane/shoulder chips, andy/fat chr!st lads come up with something new, PLEASE! :)
Printable View
keane/shoulder chips, andy/fat chr!st lads come up with something new, PLEASE! :)
andy reid is a great player and possibly our best player at the mo so a bit more praise lads come on...a great lad
Where do they sell them shirts, !!!
some nice comments about reid on bbc here:
http://www.bbc.co.uk/dna/606/F972347...267857&show=50
Another blow up over late comers to Sunderland training and who would have guessed it, but Andy Reid arrives late for training on Monday and is going out on loan to Wolves.
Apparantly Andy is bunking in with Liam Miller and gets a lift in with Miller.
Keane blew his top and said something about just because he scored on Saturday means féck all on a Monday.
Reid said something like, you wouldn't know much about that (scoring goals) Roy, you couldn't even bend a cucumber.
Exactly, the fat jokes are just a little tiresome at this stage. He is the one Irish player that i am excited about at the moment. A very exciting player with an exceptional passing range. When on form he can make Ireland and Sunderland tick. His performance at home to Germany was one of the very few bright spots from the last campaign. Unlike a certain Mr. Ireland he doesnt disapear during games and he actually wants to play in the green jersey
okay sorry, i had to, but this guardian article is flattering to reid (well, his skill anyway) and comes with such chuckles as:
"Whenever I saw him I thought of Bob Paisley's observation about Ray Kennedy: 'He's not quick, but he's nippy.' Paisley had a habit of making pronouncements so gnomic they came with their own fishing rod and cap, yet you always knew what he meant, just about."
http://sport.guardian.co.uk/columnis...270805,00.html
If his size is getting people talking about him then I'm happy.
this is the one and only player i have ever hyped to friends about ( ok well apart from duff ) and now finally he is proving it. I remember the first time watching him live and the vision he has was unreal - the only other to match him was keane and thats why they are so good together. you cant get this feel for a player by watching him on tele, you need to see the whole pitch and position of players to realise this. Reid is class - he could be world class with the right midfield partner.
He was without doubt world class against Germany. When Cyprus put pressure on him in the next game though he wasn't half as good. It'll be interesting to see how well he does now that everyone in the premiership knows about him.
The fact that there is a lack of players who can pass/shoot with their left foot probably contributed to this. Most small left footed players end up as a LB pr as a left winger. It started at Forest where they had CMF covered and needed a left winger. He played well there for a few seasons and then Spurs brought him in to fill that roll. As he's become more mature and confident on the ball it has become apparent he has what it takes to play CMF.
I'm not sure but I think he started off as a striker and even played a few games for Ireland at U21 in that position or did I just dream this? If so this would also have retarded his development into a CMF player.
you are wrong about him having poor stamina. Thats a very lazy view that alot of people have of him because of the way he looks. Look at the goal last week he scored, it was in the 95th minute and he was still getting forward into the box. Everytime I see him he works hard and Ive never seen him go down with cramp. Few years ago when he was at Spurs Martin Jol said that Reid was consistantly in the top few players at the club when they did fitness tests
He's a great footballer and we need him...end of.
he looks quite broad here but not actually fat, very small though i think thats probably why he looks squatty:
http://www.cuchulainnsgaa.com/
Have to disagree with you there... I seen play a few games for Charlton and ireland and his tackles in the last 20 minutes of games are very scholes like... Less relevant when he's playing more advanced I know, but for me he does lack the engine of a 'complete' central midfeilder..
Still a quality player...
2 bonus points in the fantasy football this week. Jones beat him to man of the match.
The guys judging the man of the match for the premier league fantasy football really do love Reid. Chosen as 2nd best player yet again. 5th game in a row in the top 2 players. Dunne was chosen as motm. I watched the first half and Reid wasn't as involved as usual.
I saw the full match and although it wasn't his best performance recently, he certainly made a positive impact. He constantly looked for the ball and nearly always found his man with a forward pass. He's so comfortable on the ball and when he found himself under pressure he easily got himself out of trouble and made space. Once there were 3 men surrounding him and with 2 touches he had found a gap and went through it.
He also protected the back four and made some good tackles and kept tracking runners. Also, he picked out Whitehead with a beautiful cross for their goal. There's no doubt he controls the game for Sunderland with his football intelligence. Just as a comparison, Ireland for City was anonymous and didn't contribute to the game in any way. None of the City midfielders contributed as much as Reid
It's also worth noting that Reid was well marked by Man City because I wondered whether he could cope with playing under constant pressure.
Players like him are always going to get special attention from opposing teams, I can't see why he wouldn't be well used to it by now!
there should be a separate steven ireland hair and andy reid blubber jokes forum at this stage.
Wouldn't mind, but I'd hazzard a guess Reid is many times fitter than half the people that frequent these forums, so in fairness, the less said by people the better ;)
It's a bit like John O'Shea ( GOAL not JOSH ) sniping at Stapleton constantly about his lack of speed and challeging Frank to a 100M sprint. Speed was not a part of Frank's game and didn't slow him down ha ha. I think Reidy has a physique like Maradonna had, sorta. with a bit of work like. :o but it doesn't impact his game right now at least, he'll need to shed some wight though in the coming years.
For us, against Germany he wasn't put under any pressure.
In our next 2 games he was much less effective as he was given more attention.
I think it would take a very careless coach not to see the difference between his influence in those games.
Trap will have to earn his reputation with us, he has real job now.
Haven't been watching much footy lately but every UK paper I read harps on about Andy Reid's talent week in week out, usually in the vein of "Reid doesn't look like an athlete but he's one hell of a player". Given that these guys don't look at him with the green tinted specs that most of us do, that's fine praise. With his physique any chance of slating him would be taken I reckon.
Reid did very well today playing off the front men. I'd say his pass rate success was very good and was probably the best player creatively on the pitch.
Duff came on for a run and did ok.
Well Miller is already transfer-listed. Depending on if they stay up and who they can attract to the club in the Summer, I'd reckon he'd prefer to send McShane out on loan to the Championship. Hopefully to a club where he would have an experienced partner to learn from.
Reid class with the ball and not afraid to get stuck in.
Duff gave reid a bit of a kicking when he came, must reckon that his place is under threat.