bus schedule
Printable View
The city is 25 minutes by train from Frankfurt Airport. It is the home of Blue Nun wine, and there is a major wine festival on the Friday, Saturday and Sunday. This city is already looking like a good choice by the Georgians. The only concern now is getting tickets.
that was quick.
geysir are you going?
http://www.orn-online.de/aiportshutt...ch_noflash.htm
Looks like a lot of hotels in maniz are all booked
Most might stay in Frankfurt for this one, it;s 20 odd miles
that thing makes no sense geysir, what is the second list for then? cos both say days 1234567....also dont ye love the bottom line:
All datings without guarentee
Check out the Inter City Hotel in Frankfurt for Accomodation. Stayed there 2 years ago on way to Stuttgart. Great location right across from train station and great value at €64 per twin room per night B+B. www.intercityhotel.com
Now all we need is confirmation that the game in on in Mainz
good man geysir, make your way out to ruislip on the 14th of september as well.
looks loke its in mainz now in germany. i think we will win the game now it aint in georgia. get in.
It might double our resolve, but it deprives us of the support. Terrible mistake by the federation to go with the easy option (close to Italy), rather than Turkey or Azerbaijan where we could have recreated a real home match atmosphere.:mad:
I agree. The Georgian players should be fired up due to the recent problems in their country and I haven't seen anything yet under Trapatonni to indicate that the dark days are well and truly behind us. It will probably take him a few more competitive games before we really see the fruits of his labours.
I'd be happy with a draw. A win would be nice but a defeat would be a disaster particularly taking the resulting loss of confidence into the Montenegro game and with the possibility of another disaster their our chances of qualification will be almost destroyed before even getting off the ground.
Fifa have confirmed Mainz
http://www.fifa.com/worldcup/organis...ke+place+mainz
FAI have also confirmed it and have sent reps to Mainz to negotiate with the Georgians regarding tickets
www.fai.ie
i think we will win this game. a draw is no good with this tough group.
i believe we will take the three point we need.
the hermans arent going to know what "hit" them:
found the location for the kickabout:
http://lh3.ggpht.com/_GRIclqPFQ-I/Rn...U/IMG_1073.JPG
great drinking spot by the looks of things.
Fair play to FAI for reacting quickly - this time!
Ryanair flights have come down since yesterday. Just got Dublin-Hahn on Sat and back Sunday for €258.00
got stansted hahn friday evening back sunday morning for £90
neil i found a p lace for you and SH in Mainz:
Room category Group
Number of female participants: 0
Number of male participants: 3
Room category Escort
Number of female escorts: 0
Number of male escorts:
http://www.diejugendherbergen.de/
Geez boys, for a while it looked like this could be going to pennos. I reckon hats off to the boys from the FAI on this one, no doubt once Karlsruhe had been ruled out they mentioned the fact that many boysingreen had bought tickets on the back of the Karlsruhe statement.
Though I would've preferred Karlsruhe, I can't really complain as its still only a wee jaunt up the motorway from Strasbourg...see y'all there...
Sounds good already got my nice place to stay though. Going to be in Cologne though on Thursday night, so need to find a place. Anybody know any good spots in Cologne.
Anyone flying from the New York/NJ/PA to Frankfurt go to Priceline.com. The return flights cost $672 from Newark to Frankfurt flying out Friday at 5.40pm arriving Frankfurt 7.05am Saturday. Return flight leaves Frankfurt 1.10pm sunday arriving back into JFK at 4.00pm (EST). If you want to gamble and name you own price then you should get it for about $480 return.
Booked Hotel in Mainz last night, sources were bang on, now to cancel hotels in Stuttgart, Munich, Karlshrue, London, oh and Tbilisi:D
Anyone want to buy flights from Dublin to London. Prague, Vienna, Tbilisi etc going cheap :D:D
Lads, it could be quite fun that weekend...there's also a wine fair on in town! Mind and pack your spare liver...
Annual Wine Market
28 - 31 August and 4 - 7 September 2008
Every year Mainz’s Rosengarten and Volkspark are the sites for the Wine Market, the last weekend in August and the first weekend in September. White wines and rosés from the previous year are offered as well as some reds as well as wines from earlier vintages. It’s a great chance to meet hundreds of vintners and thousands of other wine lovers, discover new wines and simply have fun on a fine summer day.
Mainz boasts no fewer than eight major wine events starting in March with the Wine Tasting Days in Mz-Hechtsheim; the Sekt (sparkling wine) Fest in Mz-Hoefchen; and, Johannisnacht (Summer Solstice) in town in June; the Wine Fest im Kirchenstueck (Mz-Hechtsheim); the Wine Fest in Mz-Ebersheim; and, the Vine-blossom Fest in Mz-Laubenheim, all in July. Mainz-Hechtsheim hosts the Vintners‘ Days festival in September and the Rheinhessen Wine Forum takes place in October in Mainz’s Museum of Ancient Shipping.
As if all that were not enough, virtually every village in and around Mainz on both sides of the river celebrate wine festivals in Spring, Summer and Fall!
Stadium is Tolka Parkesque
http://www.stadiumguide.com/bruchweg.htm
lovely neat stadium, looks good. is that solar panels on top?
btw all accomodation seems to be booked up for saturday night. Got the etap where i normally stay for 49 euro for the 3 of us for friday but no look on the saturday night.
What is the most likely way the tickets will be sold, via the FAI or direct from Mainz (the way the Columbia tickets were sold by Fulham).
This is from part of the fai statement.
"In the interim the FAI has sent a team of staff members to Mainz who are in the process of negotiating a ticketing operation for Irish fans at the stadium in the days leading up to the match"