Number 3 is a bit of a Glenn Whelan type player I think. Quiet but effective. You don't notice him until he's gone.
Printable View
Number 3 is a bit of a Glenn Whelan type player I think. Quiet but effective. You don't notice him until he's gone.
They must be defensively brilliant. None of them has been at fault for any goal last season.
Rory Feely off to Barrow in League 2 apparently, I've seen it all now if lads like him are getting moves over there.
We have signed James Doona from Cork City and Derek Daly from Crumlin Utd. Didnt even notice that DD had gone non league!
Ryan Rainey resigns for Harps...
Paddy Barrett signs for Shels. Had a good season with us in 2021 but wasn’t the same player after a long layoff in 2022. Had a year left on his contract but we agreed to release him. For his own sake I hope he can get himself back to somewhere close to what he was.
doona is finished. lost 2 yards of pace and cant beat his man off a dribble anymore.
Are Longford working off a far smaller budget this year?
If he doesn't do well, his career might be on the Furness. Seriously though, and it's a topic that comes up from time to time on social media, and it's an uncomfortable truth, but the majority of League 2 clubs all have bigger budgets than nearly all clubs here bar Rovers,Dundalk and Derry. And as long as that's the case, players will always leave a LOI club that potentially could be in Europe for the mundane safety of double or triple his wages, slogging it out in the early rounds of the FA Cup or FA Trophy.
I see he only made 3 starts towards the very end of last season, if he has a full injury free pre-season under his belt he could be a very shrewd signing for us replacing Negru we are well stocked in central defence with his addition so not dependent on him playing all 36 games
Feely is a good athlete and that is about the extent of it as far as I've seen. Fair play on getting the move.
Fair dues to Feely's agent- his performances were inconsistent, to say the least. I don't think that he's absolutely terrible (I'm in a minority amongst bohs fans) but has a habit of missing tackles, and also giving cheap fouls. He cost us points, but I felt Ciaran Kelly cost us more, while both got a move away. Baffled.
If both thrive when away it will point to coaching issues under the previous management team. Hoping for some signings for our defence early in the new year.
Much of Kerry's squad will be announced tonight when Dennehy talks to the press - will largely be a mixture of last season's under-19s and KDL players, but will be surprised if Matt Keane at least doesn't come on board.
And he's duly announced this afternoon.
Sensible first signing. He'll be the captain?
Would presume so, not too many other current LoI players from the county who would be available!
That said, another arrival will be announced at 3.
Phoenix Patterson off to Fleetwood Town…
Who've also signed Dave Harrington from Cork.
Also off to Fleetwood -- David Harrington, Cork City's (Men's) Young Player of the Year, for a fee believed to be in 6 figures. Harrington will compete for the keeper's jersey with Fleetwood's current number one Alex Cairns, and with Jay Lynch and Leicester City loanee Jakub Stolarczyk (www.therealefl.co.uk 19 Dec).
I thought the six figure sum was what Everton were paying but he failed the medical ?
You can take us out of that line, might have around €1m in the bank still, but new owners running a tight ship post p6 and will be doing so for next few years by all accounts.
Maybe no harm as won't be outbidding Rovers and Derry for any players so just need to be 'the best of the rest' until reserves / monies in build up, either via euro prize money or main owners biz shares sales etc.
That said will be much closer next season with Pats well positioned, Sligo too, maybe one of Shels or Bohs will all fancy euro ambitions.
Aodh Dervin signs back with Shels for 2023
Tadhg Ryan joined Derry,awful any time I seen him last season ….
Yeah that's a weird one especially for a club with their ambition and resources. Wasn't upset to see the back of him from Bohs.
Was close enough for third last season in fairness. Not much between Dundalk and Pats. It does seem very much like it will be Rovers and Derry again, with the best of the rest scrapping for third. Odds are that it will probably be the same top 4 again. (Though, as Eric Morecombe might have put it “not necessarily in that order”)