ya 1 nil to cashel and from what i heard well deserved too
Printable View
Confirmed, Cashel won 1-0 from a goal by David Slattery. Penalty in the first half. Slattery had to come off injured shortly afterwards when he should have won another penalty. He was really starting to come into his own at the time.
Colin Bargary also had a goal disallowed very harshly. Ref said that another player was offside and interfering with play. Very very unlucky on Colin. He also took two brilliant free kicks, one hit the crossbar with the goalkeeper beaten all ends up.
Mickey Coleman played very well up front and covers every blade of grass in the opposition half.
Cashel's defence was excellent. Derek Hayes had a fantastic game and Paul Hoare is pulling the strings there brilliantly now. Both full backs were solid as rocks and the goalkeeper did what very little he had to do, very well. All in all, if they continue to grow in confidence, they will be a very hard unit to break down no matter who they play.
Both of the Flynn's had good games.
The balance of the team is starting to come right and they can take great credit from the start of their season. Remember, they also have some very strong players like Eddie Walsh to come back from injury yet, and when he's fully fit he'll be another great addition to the team. The injury to Slattery hopefully isn't too bad, but Cully is a very good replacement and might really benefit from a run of games.
The referee had a good game, apart from the second penalty call, but things are looking good for the team.
Not taking anything for granted, but one more good result next weekend against Clonmel Town, and Cashel should be delighted with their return to the Premier League. Hopefully they can secure themselves up there by Christmas, and then look to building on more good results all over again.
Fair play to Cashel, that is undoubtedly a great result for them. Unfortunatley I can't report the same for Clonmel Town. Another dissapointing result and to be honest it's hard to see how things are going to turn around from here. On top of the bad result the manager was sent off which is never a good sign. There seems to be a lot of frustration running through the team, and the least you would expect is for the management to hold it together at least! Worrying times for Clonmel Town players and supporters, but what can be done to change the situation?
I wouldn't share that sentiment. Town were the better side tonight, the looked a lot more cohesive than in previous games and there are signs at least that more positive times lie ahead. And now for the real star of the show tonight " the ref" and i use that term loosely because this guy is about as far as you can get from being a ref as is humanly possible. I fully understand that refs have tough, thankless task in many respects but the ref tonight was a blatant cheat. The last time I saw a display as bad as this was funnily enough from the same ref 2 seasons ago in what was accepted by both teams on the night as a disgrace. For the record it was the Town V Michaels game from 2 seasons ago. From the off it was obvius that there was only room for one ego on the pitch and christ what an ego. He talked to the players as though they were children and refused to engage with them at all. He denied the most blatant penalty i have ever seen and i've been around a long time. The manger did well to hold himself in check for so long in the face of such provocation and it was actually only after he sent him off that he really lost the rag. Celtic are defineltly an improved side even from last year and will be there or thereabouts at the end of the season. I think Town will stabilise over the coming weeks and start to build for the future.
I agree on some of your points. Town didn't deserve to lose, yes it was a penalty but I have seen plenty of pens not given against Town. We were the better side in the first half and as I say we should have won the game. The real problem is that we have nobody in midfield and upfront to help Moroney. I just hope that the players we have stick with it. If we lose to Cashel on Sunday, then we are into a relegation battle.
The ref was a joke, he is a joke and will always be a joke. He should not be allowed ref a game of any standard. That said, what Blossom said to him last night was out of order, no matter who he is, you cant speak to somebody like that. Town are in a crisis and it requires calm heads to get out of it.
Celtic will be delighted and they will be in the mix for the title.
Is it just me who thought celtic deserved their win..saying that town missed two glorious chances but overall i think celtic defo deserved the win.. they have a very young team and if they can keep everyone together theyll be a serious force over the next few years (could go close this year too) 2 centre mids last night were 20 and 2 centre backs 19..on another note young Cleere from Ballingarry that came on for town looked very good and is an exciting prospect ..
Graet win for Cashel the lads played excellent last night and could have won the game by more. David Slattery was very good in the firt half before he had to go off injured. Glenn has the team very well organised and playing good football. I was very disappointed in Villa last night they created only 2 or 3 chances in the game. Their keeper was very good and pulled off some fine saves to keep them in the game Im nearly sure that he played outfield for Two Mile Borris over the last few years ?? Donal Duggan is a big plus for Villa to have back this season he looked very good last night.
Another bad result for town again last night they really need to pull it together well hopefully not until after we play them:D:D.
As regard the Ref's most of them are very bad and always have been Its only when your loosing games and things aren't going your way that you realise just how bad they are.
Exactly it was always other teams who reckoned they were treated badly when they played town(town usually won these games) now they are not going too well suddenly they think the refs are against them..they are just finished its the end of an era ..celtic are now the best team in clonmel and will prove it throughout the season ..charlie must be delighted he left at right time
Was at the Town Celtic match last night and thought it was Celtic who deserved the win. Town had 2 shocking misses alright but Celtic took their chances and were much the better team in second half. The lack of strength in depth town had was very worrying from their point of view whereas celtic had players on the bench who could change things eg Brian Waters who did excellent for the 2nd goal. Johnny Cagney was outstanding. Its a very young team and if they keep that squad together they could be excellent for years to come.
The referee was absolute muck but I thought he made awful decsions for and against both sides and wasn't biased at all.
Have to agree. Town were short Barnes, John Shanahan and Marky Power. But thats it. We are a mess, pure and simple. We were better first half but after that, Celtic bossed the game. Jim McKell is a truly awful, awful ref. He should NOT be allowed do linesman never mind ref a game. Yes town were denied a clear penalty but that happens every team. But his overall display was even lower than his normal useless standard
As for Town, I don't know what the fix is. where are all the players gone? I honestly thought Martin Quinlivan was the man, he obviously isn't. Getting sent off doesn't help. I was one of the people who called for McKeever to go, I am forced to eat my words. The current set up is a shambles!!
From all the whinging from the Town people on this forum about the referee last night you'd swear they'd been beaten................hang on a sec.....they were!! .........Explains alot then!! ;) Always someone else to blame...
To be fair, I can understand your joy at town's difficulties but nobody here is blaming the ref for our defeat. the fact of the matter is Jim McKell is a brutual ref, he was very poor last night, for both sides-plain and simple. Celtic deserved their win, they were the better side.
I saw Tony Scully and Muiris Walsh having a serious chat last night after the game, they both looked very worried- so they should be!!!
Complexman, I can assure you I feel no joy whatsoever at Town losing, absolutly none. However I was at the game and agree that Celtic deserved to win, it was a good game of ball up to Celtic scoring the winning goal...Town, Blossom in particular then lost the plot. I didn't see the ref do too much wrong to be honest, apart from the penalty shout (which was never a penalty)there wasn't a bad tackle or incident in the game, it flowed along nicely. It's too easy to blame the ref, bit of a cop out really. Dwane Burns got several chances from the ref and Town were right to take him off before he was sent off. I hope Town recover from this.
PS has Barry Ryan a challenger for the most hated man in TSDL football in Jim McKell??:D
just to go away from the subject,Micheals won again last night,another good performance,but i must admit i was very impressed with cahir.they have a few new faces and the manager looks very young.but they looked good in some parts of the field..
great result for Cashel last night.i said it at the start watch out for cashel town.they have without doubt some of the best footballers in the league and its startin to show..i got a text last night sayin that the injury to david slattery is pretty serious,somethin with the knee,anyone from cashel know anythin about it?
i went to the cashel villa game and must say i was hugely impressed by cashel, they were young, fit, well organised and best of all were the only team trying to play football. they have a great attitude and are a great addition to the premier. whatever teams get outside the league in munster and fai are really going to earn it this year and that can be only a good thing. cashel are a credit to their club and management team and were full of ideas, they could and should have won more comfortably. villa on the other hand seemed clueless when in posession, resorting to hoofin the ball aimlessly, i dont think they forced one save from the cashel keeper. its all set up for a saints return to the top
Heard that too! Can anyone confirm that?? If it's true it's an absolute disgrace..talk about having the wrong attitude! Granted a few players left this season, but there is still a good team there so i dont think thats the problem. He has been trying to impose his own system on the team which doesnt happen overnight,,takes time for players to adjust and results to "blossom". Im absolutely disgusted,,Town are a joke at the moment. Winning the League 6 years in a row and then self destruction within 3 games of the new season,,just not good enough. I hope we dont embarrass ourselves against Cashel this weekend! If we lose things will be even worse than they are now..if thats possible!:confused:
is Dwayne Burns back playing for Town? what are people's opinions on this if so? I'm sure if Town wouldn't take him another club would have so!