Realisically for him to fulfill his potential properly he will eventually need to move on, but I just dont think he is in any major hurry to do that
Printable View
The thing about the McGeady move, and most moves from the SPL is that when a fan and a player talk about "big clubs" they're talking about 2 different things entirely. To a fan, a big club has history, tradition, a way of life even. To a player it's the one that gives them the most money for the longest term, or the chance to further themselves most.
I don't think any player really views Celtic and Rangers with any more respect than they do a Championship team that are in and around the playoffs.
As for McGeady, other SPL signings indicate that he'll do OK. Look at Cuellar. £7.8mill and performs solidly, for the same money Dunne came in and is being talked about as a potential player of the year. Barry Ferguson's done OK, but is being outshone by Lee Bowyer, Craig Gordon seems to do OK in between horrific injuries.
If it was me, I'd be investing my money elsewhere. Although, anything that gets Paddy McCourt closer to first team football is fine by me.
I'm sorry but I would have to say that is complete nonsense. Footballers are renowned for not being the brightest but (and Im taking my green and white tinted glasses off here) I dont think any of them would view Celtic (or Rangers for that matter) in the same light as
a West Brom, Swansea, Cardiff, Sheff Utd, Leicester,Crystal Palace or Blackpool even if they could earn higher sums of money with those teams.
In fact I don't see anyone in the bottom half of the Premiership that would be seen in the same light - do you, really?
Perhaps footballers are blinded by the salaries but you ask the footballer in Europe or South America that 'Celtic' have shown interest in you or 'Bolton' or 'Hull' have and Id be willing to put a wager on who he would initially be most interested in.....until they talked money of course;)
11 Stoke
12 Blackburn
13 Sunderland
14 Wigan
15 Burnley
16 West Ham
17 Wolves
18 Hull
19 Bolton
20 Portsmouth
Does a European Cup won in 1967 put food on McGeady's table?
That's how footballers think.
In this case it depends on how much food he wants on the table.
The club that won it do - yes.
So you think its all about the money? Maybe you are right but Im sure the wages earned at Celtic put more than food in these players mouths - its not insignificant wages but obviously not on a par with the Premiership or even Championship.
If you think Celtic is all about a '67 European Cup win then perhaps you need to get out a little more.
Im not interested in debating the merits of Celtic over a West Brom or Hull or whoever - its a no brainer for me.
Obviously you know footballers better than I do and they wont be interested in the stuff outside of $$$$ they get each week.
Celtic holding out for 11mil according to the mirror.
whens the last time west brom et al played in the champions league??
thats what attracts players. any right minded person will pick the champions league over the championship anyday.
cop on lads celtic is a far bigger club.
there is more prestige playing for celtic but the challenge is higher with WBA.
But a player will also consider the teams he will be playing against.
A new signing for, say, Sunderland or Blackburn will be playing against Man Utd, Arsenal, Chelsea, Liverpool.
In Scotland it would be Rangers, then Hibs, Hearts, Aberdeen, Dundee Utd etc.
No comparison in terms of opposition.
It's kind of obvious Celtic and Rangers are big clubs in a small league and Bolton and Hull are small clubs in a big league. Players are just like the rest of us- some of them would prefer the big club, some of them would prefer the big league but i would imagine most of them would prefer the big pay cheque. I think it's going a bit overboard comparing Celtic to Championship teams though to be be honest.
Its a fair point and I agree that players will obviously consider this, but its then nothing to do with the club you are choosing. In this example its the league they are choosing i.e The Premiership.
EDIT: Well actually it was the championship in the original point I was responding to. Admittedly stronger than the SPL but not by that much that you would get 'prestige' from playing against Blackpool rather than Aberdeen - Not in my view anyway.
I think that McGeady really does need to make the step up now if he really wants to bring his game to the next level. I wouldnt mind seeing him at Blackburn or Bolton.
It didn't do the Duffer any harm back in the day.
Can't fault McGeady for his love for his club but he is not going to improve his game in Scotland.
For those interested, McGeady is playing at the top of a midfield diamond formation at the moment for Celtic, more of a number 10 type role rather than wide on the left or right. Early days yet so will have to see how he does but I believe its the position he's always seen himself in. Mowbray perhaps taking that on board more than say Strachan did.
This is the crux of the issue with McGeady. He is more of a natural 'number 10' than a winger. It's my belief that we can never really make a complete judgement on him until he plays in this position consistently. Indeed, Trapattoni himself said, shortly after taking the national job, that this is the position he sees McGeady filling for the national side at some point.
Fingers crossed he moves club during this transfer window!