Ah so winning more trophies against poor teams is better than winning fewer trophies when there is a challenge. :rolleyes:
Printable View
@kevin don't waste your breath on Goal.
@goal.....Temple ruled Cork for 10 years on the trot.
Check the Aul site to see who's won a Quad.
I have said and il say again Coachford are a very good side.
That Temple side was the best team iv ever seen play in Cork , ever.
The Greenmount side next were just at there best unreal.
Goal , for a fella who normally dose his homework I'd of expected ya to know who has more league titles.
Jason I never mentioned who had more titles I asked the question did they ever win a quad so since you know it all educate me and tell me yes or no?
93/94
Temple won the intermediate league.
The Aul Shield .
Linnane Cup.
Corinthians Cup.
I believe and I may be wrong so Jason jump in and feel free to correct me , Temple competed in the FAI senior cup and went quite far on a few occasions . So there is no argument . Temple the AUL side in the 80/90s are a far superior side to Coachford . QUAD or NO QUAD
That puts an end to that argument then
Looking back at our book for our 40th anniversary with greenmount we only ever won a treble, never done a quad, so if coachford manage the quad then fair play some achievement, but the AUL in a whole was stronger back then then it is now and I do firmly believe that our greenmount team and the Temple team would beat the current coachford team but that is something we will never know haha
Just to clarify a few things lads.
The MSL had a Senior league .
The Aul had an intermediate.
After 93/94 the Aul intermediate teams then formed the Aul Prem.
It was a 2 year transition where the 10 intermediate/ premier sides were not entered into the aul draw until the last 16 stage , bate that.
So only 6 other sides reached that stage , hence why the AOH was so valued.
@Kevin ur completely right.
It's ledgendary up the Northside that Temple went to the Brandywell and only barely lost, much to the appriciation of the Derry supporters.
I completely respect that you can only beat what is in front of ya . But we should all appriciate the Aul is a pale shadow of what it was.
Credit to Coachford for winning a superb MJC. Brilliant.
The league was won the 1st game they beat Grattan, the rest is irrelevant.
I'd rather enjoy Sunday but on any given day these 2 sides have nothing between them as long as both play ball.
The intermediate speaks for itself.
Senior / Intermediate was basically the same thing.
Temple were Aul back then.
The Shield was for the intermediate teams.
The Corinthians Cup at the time was a huge cup , basically cause Collage Cors were still big hitters in the Aul .
The Linnane was for the top 2 divisions only.
Jason/ Gavin cop on will ya Grattan don’t play football would ya cop on the defenders pump it long the forward hope for the best and run their fastest to get it I being going on about this a year boy cop on now I’m trying to be good before Sunday
Gavin or any Grattan chap on here can ye honestly say yer going to cross Sunday with plan B iv spoke about this for months please tell me ye have worked on different approach cause if my sources is right ye haven’t trained if that’s through ye be bate out the gate I be after wasting money and my Sunday hoping for a good game and then ye’ll head back to Josh talking bull about ya their best team in cork we play well please don’t kick ball and hope for best
You were on the lash I take it harsh? lol
Well, I don’t think anybody expected any different on that pitch last night, grattan are a dogged tough organised side, it doesn’t matter, they don’t have the legs to compete with coachford on a big pitch, they’re a class apart in my opinion