You’re right, thought I saw somewhere he was 31. Still not too old to do a job by any means. Surprised to see he only got 4 Ireland caps (3 in 2010 and 1 in 2013), felt like he had more than that
Printable View
Yeah, never understood that - and very rarely in squads too. Given our problems at left-back I kind of thought he might still be an option now tbh. Though he was never really more than a bit-part player for Preston the last couple of seasons (only 12 games last season for example).
Good to see players like that (and Amond and Doyle) coming back though.
And good business for Rovers too; should keep them afloat another few months :p
Greg Sloggett has signed for Hartlepool United in the National League. Had been linked with Dundalk and Pats this window, though not by many good sources
He is - though Hartlepool is probably further away. Herself is at Bristol City. Cheltenham isn't too far away from there. Hartlepool is miles away. I don't know is it still a thing where you can train with Club A midweek and play for Club B then. Though it doesn't sound a good idea really
Yeah it’s a 10 hour round trip to drive from Bristol to Hartlepool. I’ve heard of that training plan when a player is loaned out to a lower club that doesn’t train as much as the full time parent club do, but in this case Sloggett has signed for Hartlepool on a permanent so he’s only on the books of one club to train and play with anyways
Yeah actually bit of a moot point if it's a 10 hour round trip. I doubt they live together half way between the 2 either. Unless it's a situation like Longford used to have where only the games are played in Hartlepool and they train in some other town closer to Bristol. Even if that's the case I doubt the training ground is 3-4 hours away from Hartlepool.
Sean Patton currently on trial at Portsmouth:
https://www.portsmouth.co.uk/sport/f...tarlet-4705459
Leo Gaxha linked with Athlone according to the Mirror
not sure why a young 5'10" striker would bother signing for a Caulfield/Horgan side in the first place. He's played 82 minutes all season
Gaxha announced as leaving for Athlone by Galway United.
Aodh Dervin also departs, for an undisclosed transfer fee, to Dundalk.
Goalkeeper Jack Brady showing as a Galway United player on FAI Connect. No official announcement yet from Galway or Longford, but also reported on local radio in Galway
He deserves his shot at pro football, could be a solid longer term fix for Galway if this does go ahead.
Very smart by Galway, trying to weaken us before the weekend, they're running scared
Zach Elbouzedi has signed for Pats from AIK in Sweden. Delighted with that signing
That's a very good signing for Pat's. He was great for Kenny for the 21s.
Dundalk seem quite fond of paying transfer fees for a club that supposedly doesnt have a pot to pish in, A couple in this windo alone. Not sure about this signing, we need a striker and good ones are hard to come by and observations earlier in the thread, well the last thing thats needed is disruptive types. Buuttt Daly has quietly being going about transfer business in this tough window well imo, he would surely know the kind of character thats being signed from within LoI and the right manager with a player that has a point to prove and it could work out quite well.
Impressive couple of days for Rovers financially, whatever about the close call on European winnings such sell ons are great business albeit you dont know if a player will progress but not in ye cant win.
Sloggett opting to Hartlepool at face value is an odd one when wanting to be closer to Bristol, Id guess at it being a good financial offer for a player that wants to move on from LoI. Wages go a tad further in Hartlepool than well all other places in the UK and Ireland, bit grim, public health nightmare, keep a hand on you phone at all times spot.
Would ordinarily be incredibly excited by a signing like Elbouzedi but this season and general success - or lack thereof - of our more marquee signings has battered me down to a "let's see" attitude.
Great signing on paper though. Had said since the start of the season that we had far too many left-footed wingers/attacking midfielders which made it feel like every starting line-up lacked balance in some capacity, so he addresses that whilst also just being a good player at this level generally. I like that each signing so far has had at least some element of proven quality to them rather than the more risky punts you often see being taken on lads coming from the UK.
Jaysus, Slogs to Hartlepool, that's a pretty grim part of the UK, says a lot about the LOI salaries that he'd opt for National League football and life in Hartlepool. Standard not a million miles off LOI top tier i guess. Maybe Chloe is about to announce a move to the northeast also, as others have noted, it's a long way from Bristol to Hartlepool.