You, me the neighbours dog. God :eek:, anybody but Venables. He would do a terrible job as Ireland manager.No, there not lining up outside the FAI buildings but appartenly there have been 25 applicants for the job!
Printable View
Part of the general feeling of failure and disappointment in our Football association stems from the fact that they seemingly are happy to choose a candidate from those potentials who just "throw their hat into the ring" , instead of forcefully hunting the likes of Hodgson, Van Gaal, and even Mourinho (jaysus!) , and selling it with a passion, saying "Here's the deal, heres the draw, and here's what your wages would be. What can we do to make you take the job?"
As it is ( because at the moment, we're standing against the wall, head down, shoulders shrugged, like the plain girl at the dancehall who'll dance with ANYONE as long as they just ask her) the footballing quagmires that are Derby, Bolton & Birmingham were for the vast majority of candidates, a more attractive proposition for employment than a young international team, that despite it's faults, HAS genuine potential.
The poll was simple - Is Venables the man for the job? My opinion - No.
Simply ticking the boxes of "Has done it before. Is currently unemployed" is NOT GOOD ENOUGH. More should be required from an applicant to be considered favourite for the post, but sadly, an element of lazy journalism has watered common thinking to such an extent that we are starting to truly believe Venables is the best we can get.
If we are to puch at or above our weight at pitch level, we have to start by punching at or above our weight at managerial level, and that means hunting with vigour a suitable capable candidate who has a hunger for sucess, and NOT simply settling for the first unemployed hack that says he wants the job.
FAI agree to bring in English headhunters
By Daniel McDonnell
Friday October 26 2007
THE FAI has agreed a deal with an English headhunting firm to accelerate the process to replace Steve Staunton.
Chief executive John Delaney and President David Blood spent yesterday in negotiations with the recruitment experts who are believed to be experienced in the football industry and also work for the English FA.
Discussions took place in the association's headquarters in Merrion Square and at the nearby Merrion Hotel where a deal was hammered out.
It's understood that the consultants, who were flown in from the UK at short notice on Wednesday night, will be tasked with providing a shortlist of potential candidates to the FAI.
The developments contradict comments made by Delaney at the announcement of Staunton's departure on Tuesday night.
While he confirmed that the process of replacing the Louthman would be outsourced, he said that the next course of action would not be ratified until a board meeting next week where a list of 'football people' to be given the responsibility of finding a new man would be drawn up.
Criticism
Delaney also suggested that there would be patience in finding a successor but it appears that the FAI are keen to move quickly after a week where they have come under criticism.
Last night, an FAI spokesman, when contacted by the Irish Independent, denied that talks of any description had taken place.
"We categorically deny that any meeting took place today between John Delaney, David Blood and anyone else in relation to the senior international manager's job," he said.
The English FA frequently use such recruitment firms to fill key roles within their association, with the sports practice of international company Odgers, Ray and Berndtson currently involved in the process of appointing a new chairman.
Ireland's next match is against Wales in Cardiff next month where under-21 boss Don Givens will be in charge.
That will be the last match of the year with no further action scheduled until February. The FAI are keen to have a new manager in charge by that point.
Headhunting, a Bondvillain is advocating, is actually proactively seeking people IN employment. Any twit can get in touch with someone out of work.
Where is the imagination?
Once this process is over will the FAI be able to honestly say they took every measure necessary to approach, interview and select the very best candidate available given their budget? Will they fcuk.
This is a search based on a whim, or worse, based on the demands of a shady character who has the FAI by the short & curlies due to the seemingly perpetual sponsorship arrangement his company has with them.
Ok,
Don't lambaste me. I am only relaying something I've been told.
Got a call from someone I trust.
He claimed a junior FAI official was in Hackett's of Lr Baggot Street photocopying some papers today when the machine jammed.
Assistance was needed and during the conversation it transpired the guy was making 15 copies of a managerial contract for Terry Venables.
Believe it, or believe it not :D
Hard to believe that the FAI dont have a photo copy machine.
Its like one long continuous Monty Python sketch isnt it.
Even a photocopy machine has feelings.Quote:
photocopying some papers today when the machine jammed.
... the guy was making 15 copies of a managerial contract for Terry Venables.
Has anybody phoned up Hacketts yet and asked to speak with the assistant who had to help a customer?
soccerc is turning into the boy who cried el tel
Arenīt contracts printed on watermark legal paper?
All top city centre hotels have conference/meeting facilites like er phones/faxs/copiers etc.
Where was the meeting held - Statoil !
Hacketts
Legal Documents
Dedicated service to the legal profession
Rapid response to meet crucial deadlines
Experienced with sensitive, fragile and oversized documents
Hackett Reprographics offer expertise and experience to meet the requirements of the legal profession.
Confidentiality and security is key and Hackett embraces these important features in accordance with their ISO accreditations.
Hacketts understand that legal documents are unique and that their reproduction with regard to accuracy and quality is essenti
Who photocopies anymore? Surely just print 15 copies straight off. Even I have that much technical grasp.
if louis van gaal becomes ireland manager i will stop attending matches and quite possibly watching them, he is odious, arrogant and completely and utterly in the grip of a napoleonic complex, :mad::mad::mad:
I cannot stand him , file under W with rednapp , jamie and shearer ,Alan.
I actually know Joe Hackett senior, very nice man. Top class tennis player in his day.
"Rapid response to meet crucial deadlines" - maybe Hackett's should choose the manager!
Fair play to that photocopier. :D
if El Tel is in Dublin then we are ******. Any sightings?
Im actually not on the selection commit-tee, but when Delaney runs out of Pro-venables people to join his task force and rings me, your objections will be duly noted.
However, should we draw the Crimea in the next Euro qualifiers, his complex may prove invaluable.
I propose that 2 votes for Venables be removed.
Noely's vote - drunk at the time and pressed the wrong button.
Cymro's vote - I object to the validity of his voting rights.
Well, my vote may be invalid, but I do think you could do worse than Venables. Maybe not the ideal candidate but the ideal candidates all seem to be ruling themselves out! Or at least being linked with other roles.
I honestly believe that Venables would do a very good job if appointed.
I believe as an international manager the first thing you need is the respect of the players - Venables would have this. Secondly, it would help if you had experience, knowledge and success in international football - which he has (although i know some people argue he wasn't that successful). Finally, you need to be able to select and organise your best team in the space of a few days so that every player knows their role and performs it to the maximum. My opinion is that he would be able to achieve this also
What makes you believe this? He certainly didn't have it at Leeds, (even Lawrenson who's in favour of the appointment admits that he was told that by Trevor Birch).
I think a lot of todays' footabllers view him as someone whose time has been and gone. England certainly didn't look organised when they played his favoured Xmas tree formation at any stage during the last campaign (away to Croatia for example) and her can't pass all the blame onto McClown for that.
He didQuote:
and he can't pass all the blame onto McClown for that.
From Wikipedia
'in 1984 he took the role of manager at Barcelona, earning the sobriquet "El Tel". Venables was recommended by Bobby Robson, a good friend of the Barcelona President and who himself, years later, would take over the team. Terry used a very English system, a classic 4-4-2, which took advantage of outstanding defenders like Gerado, Migueli and Julio Alberto and a hard-working midfield led by German Bernd Schuster'
I remember years ago there was a 4 part ITV type soap drama set around EL Tels years in Barcelona. He was cast as some north England football muck savage trying to communicate his idea of what 442 was to the sophisticated multilingual Barca team,
why is the grass longer in the corners boss?