Alright lads. New to this. . Was away for the last year or so travelling. Bad form to find out that Gratton nearly folded last year. They normally have a strong team...
Printable View
Alright lads. New to this. . Was away for the last year or so travelling. Bad form to find out that Gratton nearly folded last year. They normally have a strong team...
Killumney going well so far, wonder if they ll have the ability to put a run together early? Wonder how ll they ll fair against the stronger teams? They cruised through last two league campaigns without being fully tested, remember Wilton stuck a few passed them last year in the AOH, ny thoughts
CORK AUL AREA
MUNSTER JUNIOR CUP
Preliminary Round Draw
Kanturk v City Wanderers
Blackpool Celtic v Casement Celtic
Glenvale v Macroom "A"
Macroom "B" v Blarney Street Ath
Park United v Grattan Utd.
Greenwood "A" v Kinsale
1st Round Draw
Glenthorn Celtic v Glenvale or Macroom "A"
Park United or Grattan Utd v Leeside "A"
Springfield v Richmond
Dunbar Celtic v Leeds
Macroom "B" or Blarney St Ath v Ard -na -Laoi
Douglas Hall (AUL) v Coachford
Blackpool Celtic or Casement Celtic v Greenwood "B"
Greenmount Rangers v Kanturk or City Wanderers
Innishvilla v Ballinhassig "A"
Castleview v Grangevale
Rathcoole Rovers v Wilton United "A"
Knockavilla Celtic v Leeside "B"
Killumney United v Cathedral Celtic
Parkview Celtic v Greenwood "A" or Kinsale
Ballinhassig "B" v Blackstone Rovers
Carrigtwohill Utd v Kilreen Celtic
Hibernians FC v Pearse Celtic
Fairview v Ballincollig
Glen Celtic v Buttevant AFC
Leeview Ath v Waterloo
2nd Round Draw
Dunbar Celtic or Leeds v Rathcoole Rovers or Wilton Utd "A"
Killumney United or Cathedral Celtic v Glenthorn Celtic or Glenvale or Macroom "A"
Knockavilla Celtic or Leeside "B" v Leeview Ath or Waterloo
Castleview or Grangevale v Greenmount Rgs or Kanturk or City Wanderers
Fairview or Ballincollig v Parkview Celtic or Greenwood "A" or Kinsale
Innishvilla or Ballinhassig "A" v Park United or Grattan Utd or Leeside "A"
Hibernians FC or Pearse Celtic v Springfield or Richmond
Douglas Hall (AUL) or Coachford v Ballinhassig "B" or Blackstone Rvs
Glen Celtic or Buttevant v Macroom "B" or Blarney St Ath or Ard-na-Laoi
Blackpool Celtic or Casement Celtic or Greenwood "B" v Carrigtwohill Utd or Kilreen Celtic
3rd Round Draw
I v F
G v B
H v E
J v A
D v C
Why are Kinsale in preliminary round??? Who favourites for premier this year...????
Why shouldn't they be in it. They go into the draw like everyone else.
Blackstone 1 Carrigtohill 3
Good win for us today after last weeks disappointment. Overall i think we deserved the win and played some good football with a couple of well worked finishes. More importantly, 3 points.
Pitch was in great nick, credit to the guys out there.
Didn't think premier teams had too. Relax, asked a question like... We not allowed ask questions Nah..??
No prob with that bud, just wondered why you questioned Kinsale when there are numerous other premier and premier a teams in the prelim draw. no panic.
Bohemians 1 - 0 Pearse Celtic
Great 3 points for us today after last weeks disaster............
On the game big wind swirling around in the Fairfield today we had it behind our back in the 1st half and took the lead in the 30 min when Wayne (Docker) Doherty smashed a great header from a Christy Bullman flick on into the top corner
Pearse went at us in the 2nd half but we defended brilliantly with David lynch our centre half having another man of the match performance clearing heading tackling everything himself and Graham Healy , Keith Callaghan and Damien Rea really playing well for us today.
Myself getting sent off in the last 10 mins after a second yellow made it harder for the team!!...... but the defence really held strong and got us a well deserved 3 points...thank god!
Sorry overthehill. Only had quick look at it, didnt even notice bud...
Disapointing result for us yesterday away to Leeds. After a good Mossie campaign and a great performance last week to beat Greenwood 3-0 we were very poor yesterday. Gifted Leeds 2 soft goals and didn't trouble their keeper enough. Away to Carrig Saturday in the Munster Junior Cup. Will need a much better performance down there.
Interesting couple of weeks so far, Kinsale look to be hitting form after a shaky mossy Linnane, over the hills Killumney have started superbly, Springfield looking strong in premier a, Glen Celtic and promoted Watergrasshill are flying, Douglas Hall starting where they left off last season. Even at this early stage a lot of these teams look like the teams to beat.
I have to agree with you on a lot of what you said Radio. I don't think that Kinsale will struggle this year at all. They never do, just have 1 look at the trophies they have won over the last 10 years. I still believe that whoever finish above them will win the league & that includes Wilton.
Killumney have started well but from what I have heard they haven't really played much yet. They will be strong but I think a top 5 finish would be credible.
Springer’s are very like Killumney in that they have won 2 leagues on the spin & I fully expect them to go up again this year.
It's early days for Watergrasshill and Glen Celtic but I believe that if you get out in front early & not drop too many points then it can prove an uphill battle for other teams to catch you as so many teams have shown in the last few years.
Douglas could very well surprise a few people friday night & dump another top team out of another high profile cup competition. There could also be another upset out in Clashduv Road between Greenwood & Kinsale even though I thought Pearse and Greenwood weren't aloud play there anymore.
I don't think Douglas Hall doing well is a "big" surprise - looking back over the last few years they've been very strong, just missed out on Division 1 title for the last few years - AOH 1/4 final last year, semi the year before, out of town in Munster Junior last year, runners up in AUL 1A last 2 years. Could be one of the games of the weekend against Coachford... I guess what is most impressive is that their Senior side, their MSL Junior side and their AUL side (3rd team!) are all playing at a very high level.
Killer "B" back in the house!!!
I totally agree with you Innish but from I heard a lot of the players that missed out on the league last year got fed up & moved to the Munster junior side. Now I could be wrong but that's what I heard. Also Coachford are Premier while Douglas are in 1a so the latter are the underdogs. Plus if u read the comment I made I said they could surprise a few friday night in a 1 off game not surprise people with their league form. Douglas are always strong at any level and few teams do well on their astro.
pacman just said id let ya no that wilton lads are big fans of your's especially daly.just wondering who or what club your associated with?
Fair enough - I suppose the Douglas Hall v Coachford game falls into the category of Coachford being favourites but few raised eyebrows if Douglas Hall were to win it...
As another question - when do Douglas Hall play on their astro? I know the friday evening games - do they play all their home games on Friday evenings under lights? I guess my query stems from if the main pitch is available on a Saturday or Sunday do the junior sides play on it or is it reserved for the MSL senior side?
Douglas Hall ( Division 1 ) side play all their home games on Friday night on the Astro surface Innish. They are a fine side and are well used to playing on this surface. We played them two seasons ago and won 1-0 up there so hopefully we can continue on our winning ways Friday night.
Hi all,
Just a query on Postal Celtic - are they gone? Innishvilla are down to meet them in the St Michael's cup but I can't see them on any league tables and can't see any games that they were scheduled to play???
Junglegym,
Thanks for confirmation - I wasn't certain that they played all their home games on a Friday night.
Innish, they are gone, looks like a bye for ye!
Few upset's on the cards over the weekend I'd say....
Ya I was always a big fan of Daly's. Great player, usually takes no more than two touches of the ball and never gives it away. Best midfielder in the AUL in my eyes anyway. Played against him a few times in the past. As for Wilton they play ball all the time so I'll always appreciate that.
As for myself, dont play any longer. Played premier with some northside teams a few years ago so would be familiar with a lot of the northside teams. Know a good few lads playing with Blarney Street and a few with Leeside so I'm usually most interested in their results.
Anyone know who Leeside playing this weekend???
Friendly vs Greenmount in Murphys farm at 11 am tomorrow. Very long injury list so a mix of A+B with one or two foreign imports
Cheers boo. Was out at your "b" match yesterday in knockavilla as a neutral. Think Ye deserved more than what Ye got. Plus the standard of referee was very poor and even seemed a bit bios. Sent one of your players off, probably deserved but the knockavilla player should of went too.
That friendly was cancelled this morning. Sorry couldn't give notice. I heard all about the B game and the ref but no point in commenting. I heard our player and the knockavilla player should have went. Supposedly there was niggling off the ball, then both struck each other in plain view of the ref but only ours was sent. Surely if both strike each other both should go irrespective of who hit first??
Why was carrig losing to us such a big shock. We played them down there last season and lost on penalties. We were by far the better team and should of won by more. . Have you seen us play or even followed any of our results so far??
I'm only back in the country 3weeks so no didn't follow any of your results. Seen Ye last year alright wasn't impressed but this is a different year I suppose. Have Ye brought in a few or what cause looked like Ye needed a few players to be a good team. As for Carrig, they must be disappointed to be out so early..
saw that game kc, second time seeing carrig this year, and they seemed to have a completely diff side from the first one. poor up front this time, and lack a bit of creativity in my opinion, dunno if they were missin lads r what. ye have some lovely players and good pace around the park, defo better side. early days yet though for a lot of sides?? nice set up down there.
Thanks for the compliments firsttouch. Good set up alright. Strange how all one side of the pitch wasn't cut though. I was talking to one of the lads and they said they were missing a few. Sets up a lovely derby game with casement if they win their game.
Carrigtohill 0 Killreen 2
Take the chances presented to you and you will win games. We didnt, Killreen did. One down at half time and deservedly so. To be honest it could have been worse. 2nd half we dominated possession and had a few chances but it just wasnt to be. We were missin a few as stated by a poster but not going to use it as an excuse. Disappointed to be out.
"should have won by more".........i think not.
Did the few at the game tell you about the one where our super striker lobbed there keeper and a horrible bounce took it onto the bar? Or the one where the ref blew for offside after Jos rounded their keeper when he was 5 yards on. Doesn't matter, good game. They'll be sorry to be knocked out. If they were missing a few they'd be some side at full strength cause the 11 they had were handy as it was. On to next week when their rivals Springfield come to town.