I hear the Nenagh Kinsale game was on, heard they lost but wondering how the performance was?
Printable View
I hear the Nenagh Kinsale game was on, heard they lost but wondering how the performance was?
They played okay, but still not firing like they were last season. Both goals were uncontested near post headers, things that should be pre-empted on the training ground. They really got at Kinsale in the 2nd half when they were 1-0 down, I think if they scored in that period they would have gone on to win. The old failing of not being able to put the ball in the net, they still lack a greedy, pacey, finishing no. 9. Steffen started up there but he's needed in the middle of the field, Sossy's too slow, so the answer is not in the club at the moment. I do feel the future is bright though, they may pick up a striker from somewhere, they're still a young squad, and the schoolboy section of the club is starting to thrive and is being built on very sound foundations.
The best striker in north tipp has moved 2 austrailia a Mr. Hynes,best by a mile imo.But i think you made a good pint town play some good football alot of it has no end product.Not having a go at town just think if they had the likes of jimmy up front they would be hard to stop.
You a town fan skunk
should be 2 wins for the nenagh sides the weekend with us , celtic with a possible tricky one with rearcross.and agree with Celticlads view that Jimmy was by far the best forward around. he scored 30 a season no matter what
probbly the big difference lads between south tipp and north tipp is the attention to detail in assembling squads....you guys never go recruit a centre forward from limerick or south tipp??
clubs in particularly nenagh hooper, believe in playing their own local players and rely on players from the area in and around.It may not help with results and strength in a squad but it gives the local people better association with the players instead of recruiting a so called outsider. Plus it gives youth a chance instead of bringing someone in that will disapear after a season or that!!
thats a fair point daz....but in order to be sucessful and give those local players who are good enough the opportunity to challenge for big trophies and play in big games surely its worth bringing in a player or 2? is there no ambition to someday win a munster junior cup?
I do see your point and there is ambition. Wont be surprised if Nenagh AFC beat Clonmel in 2 weeks in MJC.we,Celtic will run Pike close too if not do better. Our current junior team has about 6 current youths players on it and they seem to be doing okay. We only building a team this season as we have very young side.know went off the point there a bit but maybe we could do with the odd player or two. The problem is that it probably hard to be get a decent outsider for want of a better word in as after the 2 Nenagh teams and one or two other teams the standard is extremely poor boarding on disasterous. So that can cause a problem to do what you are suggesting?
Few inches of snow here this morning, another weekend without games?
I would agree with that (Facilities etc), maybe you could attract a few more lads from the country clubs. Maybe a few quid to some of these lads may turn their heads. I dont really follow who is who with the various teams but from what I have seen in the First Division, Borrisoleigh have a forward called Kent who is a real handful and Sallypark have a very good midfielder by the name of Padraig Ryan (I think).
Back from my days playing with Newtown there are a couple of lads that now only play hurling but were fantastic players, would be a real handful for most teams.
Kent is a fine striker,is ryan a tall lad sometimes plays up front if so he too is a good player.Shepard from toome is handy and young quinn at port is a hand full.Birdhill have a couple of good attacking players also.As for paying lads its just not an option for a club like us.
Rearcross 0-3 Nenagh Celtic we played well in patches,still not hitting top gear but 3 points all the same.Danny,Scully and Gonzo got the goals.
the league is definately between 2 nenagh clubs now after others slipping again the weekend. Birdhill not turning up is a joke. They have a good team but does anyone know what the story is with them??big games for both nenagh clubs in MJC.im a celtic man and we will give pike a good game.fair play to nenagh on their win last weekend and wouldnt it be great to see 2 nth tipp clubs in quarters of MJC
it would be great. even though im involved in south tipp i sincerely wish ye all the best and know that if ye forget the reputations that come with these so called limerick big guns ye have every chance of progressing, with any luck we will have 4 tipp teams still in contention come the quarters
Tipp cup started .do you see anyone bar the nenagh teams and maybe blackcastle winning it???