Lets hope Don Trappatoni can convince him to change his mind because he is way better than any other fullback we have.
Printable View
Lets hope Don Trappatoni can convince him to change his mind because he is way better than any other fullback we have.
Surely Finnan is regretting his decision, what with the opportunity to work with legends in the game Trappatoni (All time great manager) Gentille (Legendary Defender) Brady?(Irish legend).....
We definitely need him back..
Hope 'Trap' can persuade him..
I thought he had a good game, though his crossing wasnt great to be honest.
Though, we need him back in the green shirt, 1 more campaign!
he played so well because he has retired from international football and can solely focus on club football, didnt ye know?!?!
No, thats not what I read on the official Liverpool website...
Finally Steve, can you tell us what was behind your decision to quit international football?
As I said a couple of weeks ago, I felt the time was right to quit. I've enjoyed my time with Ireland. But I thought it was probably right to do it now before a new manager came in, so he has an idea of the squad he's got for the next campaign.
Was the thought of prolonging your Liverpool career a factor?
Not really. If it helps my club form then great. But it was just about it being the right time to do it. If it helps my Liverpool career, great, but that wasn't a factor.
source-
http://www.liverpoolfc.tv/news/archi...80206-1031.htm
He, along with most of the other players, was probably p1ssed off with the drawn out selection process and gave up.
I wouldnt be surprised if Trap sends the mafia around to 'talk him out of retirement', he was one of Liverpools best performers against Inter and we havent anything near that quality in that position...McShane, Kelly, O Shea, Oh dear.
Slightly off topic, Kuyt's opinion of Finnan
Quote:
Steve Finnan
He’s a really nice lad. He was one of the players who helped me out from the beginning when I arrived at Anfield. We play golf together sometimes. We play computer games against each other as well and with a few of the other lads when we travel to away games.
Didn't do much for Kuyt's game though ;)
I thought Finnan was excellent last night. He is will be sorely missed by us.
Doesn't really matter because I can't see him coming back, its well known Liverpool have a pretty sh*tty attitude towards internationals, I doubt he has the balls to tell Rafa that he wants to play for Ireland again not that he does want to anyway
but making a living for himself in the PL and regarded by Birmingham fans as their best player this season so far? He's young and will get better. Finnan was/is a good player but I think we should look for alternatives now that he has decided he doesn't want to play for us.
i think finnan should be asked back , if he says no then we all know where we stand,
they always come back when asked , he's too young to retire , and we need him.
nothing wrong at all with sending out feelers to him. It's far from grovelling , its more of a statement that we feel he has acted rashly , made a mistake and would be welcome back into the fold.
I think it would be a result to get him back for the next campaign.
Definitely worth sounding him out for a return. He's by far our best full back.
Trappottoni will be fully aware of how good a player Finnan is as he watches a lot of football on the TV. He is sure to make an approach to get Finnan back. I think Finnan can be persuaded by someone like Tardelli.