-
Quote:
Originally Posted by cfdh_edmundo
if the coach is picking Mido ahead of him
Is he though? Last weekend Jol explained his decision by saying he had only one substituion left and a defender got injured so bringing Mido on instead of Robbie was the better option. I don't know if this holds any water but it sounds a feasible explanation for preferring Mido in that instance.
Has Mido done anything since his impressive debut?
-
Well I hope Robbie does go, feck this rotation shyte. Whatever about it, I don't want one of our boys mixed up in it, and sure as hell not our top striker. The stubborn me wants Mido and Kanoute to go, because it'd be good if Robbie stayed with Reid and Hughton, but doesn't look like it will happen. On to Everton!
-
Jol has said he expects to keep Keane
http://www.football365.com/news/prem...y_148895.shtml
But I agree, the rotation thing is doing him no favours at all
-
I really dont know why this squad rotation idea was extended to strikers. Squad rotation doesnt make a whole pile of sense with strikers, they really need to be playing week in week out.
Robbie might get CL football if he moved to Everton :)
-
Easy, Liverpool were shattered after the midweek exertions against Juventus, City had a week to recover from playing agsint Charlton, and were at home. Liverpool looked visibly tired into the second half, City were looking like scoring, Bradley was robbed for a second.
City - draw with Arsenal, draw with United at Old Trafford, keep Chelsea scoreless, beat Liverpool, and can't beat West Brom. Nuts!!
-
Thought Kelly was very good,Carr did well considering he got booed for the whole game,O'Brien made two very bad mistakes and Reid was reasonable.I agree,its looking a little suspect for keane.
-
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tuff Paddy
Jol even gave an interview today saying he wasn't certain he'd be at the club next season, so that's a good indication.
TalkSport picked up on that last night and were asking why Robbie Keane wasn't getting his game.
Sunderland and Aston Villa are strong rumours surrounding Keane's next club but that's surely based on the club managers.
Everton were mentioned elsewhere this weekend but will they make a move for him if they don't get the CLQ place!?
Only time will tell.
-
I only saw the incident for the first time yesterday and I can't believe I was reading things like "stormed down the tunnel". He got up off his seat and walked into the dressing room because he wasn't needed. Hardly as controversial as everyone made out.
He got some cheers when he came on yesterday.
-
Quote:
Originally Posted by eirebhoy
I only saw the incident for the first time yesterday and I can't believe I was reading things like "stormed down the tunnel". He got up off his seat and walked into the dressing room because he wasn't needed. Hardly as controversial as everyone made out.
He got some cheers when he came on yesterday.
I thought it looked like he kicked something just as he stood up. Agreed that he didn't look too angry with anyone though.
-
Quote:
I was there yesterday and some of Kanoute's shooting was not far off pub team marksmanship. He is awful. How this guy is keeping RK out of that team is beyond me.
Robbie is definitely on his way. God I hope he finds a manager that can bring out the best in him. I hope he hooks up with Moyes. £52 for a ticket yesterday. Unreal.
so expensive, were the seats made from gold??? :eek:
-
jaysis arnesen's come out today and had another go at robbie for kicking up the fuss, how many times is that between him and jol now?? there'd be less of an outcry from them if he'd been drunk driving! must be a dutch/danish thing
-
Quote:
I was there yesterday and some of Kanoute's shooting was not far off pub team marksmanship. He is awful. How this guy is keeping RK out of that team is beyond me.
Robbie is definitely on his way. God I hope he finds a manager that can bring out the best in him. I hope he hooks up with Moyes. £52 for a ticket yesterday. Unreal.
this may contradict what others are saying, but i feel that Jol is maybe getting the best out of robbie keane. everytime keane comes on at the moment he knows he is playing for his future. he wants to stay at spurs and at the moment who wouldnt. exciting young and upncoming side, good irish base, london life, good wages...and as for his misses...boyyyyyyyyyyyyyy... but anyways, he has scored plenty of goals looks sharp and i think he will be back in there very soon, jol has a good point with regards to defoe and keane been too small, he tried keane in midfield as well. he realises what and asset keane is and i can see him playing regular shortly
-
Quote:
Originally Posted by livehead1
and as for his misses...boyyyyyyyyyyyyyy...
What has his partner got to do with this or indeed anything?
This isn't a British tabloid so lets keep the players personal lives out of the threads when it doesn't affect their contribution to football.
Thanks.
-
He started today against Liverpool and he scored too. ;)
-
Quote:
Originally Posted by Peadar
What has his partner got to do with this or indeed anything?
This isn't a British tabloid so lets keep the players personal lives out of the threads when it doesn't affect their contribution to football.
Thanks.
shut up!sum of d cr*p ya's talk bout on here! if you use your brain you may be able to take from that, that robbie keanes missus is another reason why he may stay in london and with tottenham so stop trying to sound like a fekin schoolteacher
-
aye peadar stop raving would ye.
robbie scored a great header today by the way. cross from kanoute.
-
Robbie Keane?... Oh yes he's the one from Tallaght that actually turns up for World Cups :D
-
Quote:
shut up!sum of d cr*p ya's talk bout on here! if you use your brain you may be able to take from that, that robbie keanes missus is another reason why he may stay in london and with tottenham so stop trying to sound like a fekin schoolteacher
Your the one chattin crap don't think Robbie Keane's Girlfriend comes into his choice of clubs :confused: ..
Girlfiend come and go very easily...
Great goal today by Robbie.. Pity Liverpool equalised..
-
Quote:
Originally Posted by paul_oshea
robbie scored a great header today by the way. cross from kanoute.
I wouldnt exactly have called it a great header. It took a wicked deflection off Carragher, if it didnt hit him Dudek would have collected it easily.
-
Jesus lads.This is the type of stuff we would find in an English Forum.We all know that Robbie is not the greatest striker in the world but he is the greatest one we have in Ireland at present.He wears his heart on his sleeve and never stops trying,always looking for the ball even though his choice of position when he wants the ball is open to criticism sometimes.He is scoring regulary although again should score more, but bringing his girlfriend into this is just silly, nieve and punitive.Leave the bloke and his personal life alone and if there is any criticism let it be constructive.
-
Quote:
this may contradict what others are saying, but i feel that Jol is maybe getting the best out of robbie keane. everytime keane comes on at the moment he knows he is playing for his future. he wants to stay at spurs and at the moment who wouldnt. exciting young and upncoming side, good irish base, london life, good wages...and as for his misses...boyyyyyyyyyyyyyy... but anyways, he has scored plenty of goals looks sharp and i think he will be back in there very soon, jol has a good point with regards to defoe and keane been too small, he tried keane in midfield as well. he realises what and asset keane is and i can see him playing regular shortly
:D Peadar, maybe he was talking about 'misses', missing the goal ;) :D aye right!!
-
Quote:
don't tell Peadar or anyone to 'shut up' . It is not nice. Peadar's my friend, leave him alone!! :D :D
As Eire06 said, i hardly think she is the reason for staying, i am sure she knows how to pack a suitcase. :rolleyes:
-
Keane going to Newcastle?
-
Quote:
Robbie is the greatest striker we have ever had.
Robbie is the greatest striker we will ever have.
End of thread.
I know . . . let's start a Liam Lawrence one . . . he's scored a few this season and his name is Liam. :D
I know . . . let's start a Dave Kitson one . . . he's scored a few and he's got red hair.
I know . . . let's start a Franck Queudrue one . . . he's French!
well said
-
GGGGGGGOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOAAAAAAAAAALLLLLLLLLLLLL !!!!!!!!!
World class striker and football superstar Robbie Keane bags another
goal for Spurs to add to his impressive tally :)
-
Quote:
Originally Posted by tricky_colour
GGGGGGGOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOAAAAAAAAAALLLLLLLLLLLLL !!!!!!!!!
World class striker and football superstar Robbie Keane bags another
goal for Spurs to add to his impressive tally :)
Apart from the goal, I'm sure he was rubbish. Sure, he scores goals but they're only tap-ins and penalties, they don't really count for a striker. He's so rubbish, in fact, that I'm going to start a thread saying as such. While I'm at it, Duff is rubbish as well and also deserves a lengthy thread while the harshly-treated Ian Harte deserves a call-up. Kerr is a brutal manager, lest I forget.
-
I think that makes Robbie the Premierships joint 4th top goal scorer,
(league goals only).
Another 15 and he will pass Henry :p
-
Aye, only Defoe, Johnson and Henry have more league goals than Keane this season. 5 league assists too.
Good to see Richie Dunne get a goal too. :)
-
Quote:
Originally Posted by Donal81
Apart from the goal, I'm sure he was rubbish. Sure, he scores goals but they're only tap-ins and penalties, they don't really count for a striker. He's so rubbish, in fact, that I'm going to start a thread saying as such. While I'm at it, Duff is rubbish as well and also deserves a lengthy thread while the harshly-treated Ian Harte deserves a call-up. Kerr is a brutal manager, lest I forget.
Meeoow ! Firstly a goal is a goal, right place right time and all that. 2) Duff comment, eh...oh right! 3) Harte...no thx. 4) Kerr; think "brutal" isn't justified at all...so we should have beaten Israel but we weren't beaten and China wasn't an important game but we beat them! :D
-
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tired&Emotional
Meeoow ! Firstly a goal is a goal, right place right time and all that. 2) Duff comment, eh...oh right! 3) Harte...no thx. 4) Kerr; think "brutal" isn't justified at all...so we should have beaten Israel but we weren't beaten and China wasn't an important game but we beat them! :D
I think you misunderstood the sarcastic tone of Donal's post :)
It was actually a pretty good goal, just saw it on the news.
-
Yeah, did cross my mind !! ....wasn't so sure though without the :D ...... :)
-
Yes Just being Cynical I am sure. That was a great goal by Keane last night and he lasted all the game which is good news,keep it up boy.
-
Did anyone see Defoe when Keane scored? He was the last player to leave Keane after the celebrations and he had a big smile on his face. He obviously wanted to show the crowd that he doesn't care who's scoring as long as its the team. I don't think he was as happy inside as he showed on the outside though. :)
-
Gary Lineker said after the 2001 FA Cup final that Michael Owen judges his performances by only one marker - goals - whereas Henry would be happy if he ran rings around defenders without scoring. That's why Owen scored 2 and Henry got none.
I think Robbie looks hungrier now since Mido arrived and maybe he's become more goal orientated, rather than being happy to showboat a bit.
Just a theory!
Tantrums aside, Robbie seems to have responded well on the pitch whereas Mido & Kanoute have done sod all since Mido had that really good debut.
I hear Clinton was unlucky last night. Good goal disallowed followed by a handball for City's penno. Anyone see either incident?
-
Quote:
Have to agree with you there. Said it before, but that Peadar the ladder sure is one serious fcuking numty. He should spit those marbles out of his mouth.
-
Quote:
Said it before, but that Peadar the ladder sure is one serious fcuking numty
here here well said.
-
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stuttgart88
Gary Lineker said after the 2001 FA Cup final that Michael Owen judges his performances by only one marker - goals - whereas Henry would be happy if he ran rings around defenders without scoring. That's why Owen scored 2 and Henry got none.
I think Robbie looks hungrier now since Mido arrived and maybe he's become more goal orientated, rather than being happy to showboat a bit.
Just a theory!
Tantrums aside, Robbie seems to have responded well on the pitch whereas Mido & Kanoute have done sod all since Mido had that really good debut.
I hear Clinton was unlucky last night. Good goal disallowed followed by a handball for City's penno. Anyone see either incident?
He was offside, just. He was goalside of Onuoha when the ball was crossed, definately beyond being in line, so he was offside.
As for the penalty, it looked like he was jumping for the ball, but hit reyna (I think) and his hand hit the ball. Unlucky at best. Definaetly played better than Heskey though, so he might get in for the weekend's game against Everton
-
(ESP)-JOL'S STRIKER DILEMMA CONTINUES
2005-04-21 10:21 (New York)
JOL'S STRIKER DILEMMA CONTINUES
By Duncan Bech, PA Sport
Tottenham boss Martin Jol admits Jermain Defoe and Robbie Keane are not his
preferred strike partnership - but insists they remain quality finishers.
With Frederic Kanoute in the treatment room after sustaining a neck problem
against Liverpool and Mido only available for bench duty thanks to a stomach
injury, Jol found himself short of options against West Brom last night.
The Dutchman was forced to pair Defoe and Keane in attack and the partnership
made a negligible impact as Spurs found themselves comprehensively outclassed
and a goal behind in a one-sided first half.
But the introduction if Mido at the interval breathed new life into Spurs'
attacking machine and it was the Egyptian striker's physical presence which laid
on the equaliser for Keane.
Their performances in the first half was further evidence that England
marksman Defoe and the unsettled Keane are not at their best when deployed
together and Jol admitted he would rather not use them in tandem.
Jol said: ``We played Robbie and Jermain against Crystal Palace away in
January and lost 3-0. But sometimes there is no other solution.
``Kanoute needed treatment and Mido is on a special programme because he was
injured. I had a chat with him on Tuesday and asked if he could play 15 or 20
minutes if necessary, as he was not 100%.
``I like to play with Kanoute and Defoe or Keane, but Defoe scored last week
and Keane scored against Liverpool, so they are still two very good players.''
Midfielder Andy Reid insists last night's partnership can work provided the
team play a style of football to suit Defoe and Keane, but hailed Mido's
contribution upon his second half arrival
``They are two quality players and as long as we keep the ball on the ground
and play football, then I don't think it's too much of a problem,'' he told the
London Evening Standard.
``They are good enough to adapt and we are a good enough team to adapt. If we
can't, then we need to improve.''
He added: ``We were disappointed to lose points to West Brom. It's a home game
and we feel we can beat anybody at White Hart Lane. But we have to look at the
positives.
``In the second half we played some good football. Mido made a difference,
they had some powerful lads at the back and he came on and matched them, which
helped us.''
-
Quote:
Originally Posted by Littlest Hobo
Have to agree with you there. Said it before, but that Peadar the ladder sure is one serious fcuking numty. He should spit those marbles out of his mouth.
:rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes:
-
Quote:
Originally Posted by Littlest Hobo
Said it before, but that Peadar the ladder sure is one serious fcuking numty..
Quality response for you all.
You think that Robbie Keane will stay in London because of his girlfriend and then I'm the one that gets abuse. (personal abuse at that)
Foot.ie is officially a village.
We've elected our idiot! :rolleyes: