Incidently, what's the site with all the co-efficients etc?
Thanks
Printable View
Incidently, what's the site with all the co-efficients etc?
Thanks
Last time I saw Shamrock Rovers play a team from Luxembourg, the aggregate was 8-2 in Rovers' favour. Mind you that was a great Rovers team
1966 European Cup Winners Cup, First Round
•First Leg : Shamrock Rovers 4 Spora Luxembourg 1 (Johnny Fullam, Billy Dixon, Mick Kearin, Frank O'Neill (pen.))
•Second Leg : Spora Luxembourg 1 Shamrock Rovers 4 (Billy Dixon (2), Mick Kearin, Frank O'Neill).
Airtricity League teams should easily be beating teams from Luxembourg or is that heresy to say? By all accounts though Dundalk missed a hatful of chances so perhaps the scorelines didn't reflect the dominance.
we did beat them easily last night , scoreline defintiely does not reflect the game, we hit the woodwork 3 or 4 times .
next round will be different , levski are a formiable side (beat lazio away last season in the group stages, not saying lazio's are the greatest team in the world , but they are a lot better than LOI teams), I just hope we can get something from the away leg even a close loss with an away goal 2--1 something like that (they haven't played a match yet apart from a couple of friendlies, so that might help a little.
Rovers and Fingal also have tough matches , Fingal more so , as Portugese teams are very technical
http://www.xs4all.nl/~kassiesa/bert/...trank2011.html
Jaysus, didn't realise that if Pats were in europe this year we'd have been ranked so high. Maybe next year, eh...
We hit the bar twice, the post twice and they scored in the 90th min, took a little bit of the gloss off it, we should have been 4-0 up at HT. But the real win for Dundalk fans was having the match in oriel, tremendous work by all in the club to make this happen, first euro game we could host for 19 years.
The 2-1 win and 5-4 agg score did not really reflect our dominance over the two legs, but its the same prize as if we had won 4-0, advancement to the next round, and mission accomplished, plus we are unbeaten in europe, so far !
Thanks to fans from other clubs for going, great to see bohs, rovers tops, and I believe others too.
id be hopefull that rovers with there squad of players might progress. fingal seem to have a tougher task but you never know, will they play in dalymount?
yeah sunday is going to be a tough , tough game for us,
its seems as though we've changed from being a 2nd half team , to a 1st half team .......we look like we just run out of steam after about 50mins, any new signings coming ?
seems like you would struggle without faz and fenn if they got injured at the same time. hope they stay fit for the european games anyway.
You could also try www.flashscore.com
id imagine levski would be of the same standard as steau bucharest, hopefully they get a decent away result.
I'm confirmed as driving up from London for the TNS away game on the 20th July now if any curioius exiles fancy a lift.
did you get tickets from TNS steve?
It was a great performance 5 goals so far is very decent. And after the 1st leg, the nay-sayers used a comparision of a Lux. team getting well beat as a reason to criticise Dundalk, so in the same way Duffedange's result against Randers surely proves how strong Luxembourg teams are at home. It will keep the anti-Irish Football crowd quiet for a while.
Maher and Fenn had great games. Maher was so busy it was inevitable he'd get booked, a little earlier than he might have liked. I think Dundalk are now carrying 5 yellow cards into the next game, one disadvantage of playing in early rounds.
Quay Celtic was another top I saw after the game, there was a few Drogheda Utd. tops too.
I know Dundalk invited other fans to wear there own colours. But I think it is gate-crashing the party or stating temporarily support for the team. I bought some souvenirs on the night, something that's tangible to Dundalk.
Delighted with Portadown and Glentoran results. Stay unbeaten at home is a platform for success.
Portadown one of only two unseeded teams to reach the next round, the other an undervalued ETO Gyor of Hungary.
Yeah - Bohs was sold out when I rang them. TNS were very helpful.
I'd give a wink and a nudge to any Bohs fans who didn't get a ticket through their own club to consider the TNS route instead. Plus I think they're cheaper that way as well given the exchange rate.... ;)
Good feature on rte's six one tonight on Dundalk's match last night.
I did see Maritimo play a few times last against the usual teams, in Porto, Benfica etc. They are a decent enough side but Fingal do have a realistic chance of doing some damage to them. I think it is 60/40 in Maritimo's favour and with the league out of season, it is a good time to play them.
Also, Shamrock Rovers have a great chance of qualifying, Bnei are of a similiar level if not ahead Rovers, it is 50/50 game imo.
Dundalk have a tough ask, I can see them struggling badly in Sofia. 80/20 in Sofia's favour.
With a good few drums etc being played at league matches would it be good for as many of those as possible to come together as one for the home legs of the euro matches no matter who you support. It would make for a cracking atmosphere at the games even though some may already have it at their games but imagine the noise of all the diffrent drums playing for 90 minutes.
thinly veiled
"lads we've feck all support of our own, any chance of coming to our game?"
Whatver about people going along to watch the games, and (for want of a better phrase) wishing the LOi club well. I'd never speak to a Pats fan I found out was singing/chanting/drumming (whatever) for another LOI club. Mind you that might encourage a few to do it...
( Steve Martin line in The man with Two Brains "My God there must be hundreds")
Sent you a PM and then I remembered that watching a European game in Oriel Park put's another of the European Old Guard on the list for me.
Still have to see the likes of former Yugoslav Premier Division Zeljeznicar (of Sarajevo) and FK Vojvodina who missed out on qualifying this year but newly promoted Spartak Zlatibor Voda (Subotica and Serbia) will play in Vojvodina's ground in Novi Sad. Another remider for Dundalk to be proud.
You wouldnt encourage fans of the other teams to come out and cheer on St Pats if they get drawn against a big team next year if they qualify and that they are close to making the group stages or would you just want St Pats fans to show up ?
anyone want to be a longford fan for a few weeks? just because we have none