Looks good. Any word on whether TD are going to appeal?
Printable View
Looks good. Any word on whether TD are going to appeal?
Thanks for the info..are they the only design pics available? Not exactly the clearest! Whats the luvly architectural thingy at the middle of the main stand supposed to be?Quote:
I feel like I've said this a thousand times but how and ever. Two stands will be completed initially the lengths of the pitch. Hold 3,000 each bringing capacity to 6,000, the extent of current planning permission. Additional planning permission must then be sought to extend the stands around in a circular fashion the ends of the pitch (2,000 each end) to increase it to 10,000. I have pictures which illustrate this perfectly. The pipeline dream is a second tier, to which the foundations being built have been designed to support. ;)
EDIT: found them...
The GAA have never had a problem with other countries bar 1. American Football is hardly an Irish game and it has been played at Croke Park since 1953 (at least then there may have been one earlier even). Cycling and athletics events have also been held there. The problem is with football and rugby which are seen as British games.
Thankfully it has changed though at least in the Republic and the likes of Kennedy are now the exception rather than the rule.
Hardly surprising (the clue is in the name ;))
It's definitely an anti-British thing, arising out of the time the association was formed - wasn't cricket also on the list of forbidden sports at the time of The Ban (and possibly hockey?). Would love to see a 20/20 game under lights in Croker:))
There was a valid point made about the shameful neglect of handball, not to mention rounders - I don't even know if kids play this any more (token "exhibition" at Croke Park this year notwithstanding). The sad thing is that Gaelic Football is a far bigger threat to the future of Hurling than soccer.
BIGOTS! :mad:
I've seen Jimmy White playing pool on the pitch at Dalymount so there's no reason with the GAA couldn't have done something similar.
EDIT: I should point out that he had a table and wasn't just knocking the balls around on the grass. Wonder if it's featured on Brady's Dalymount documentary...
Thomas Davis appealing. Kennedy really is a bigot.
Jaysus Thomas Davis are wrotten!!
Well done Shams:D
Anybody got any updates on the appeal?
Great post KH.
As someone from the true stronghold of Gaelic football (since Dubs who do GAA are mere culchie wannabes) what do you make of my pet theory, which is that Gaelic football has displaced the Irish language as a signifier of nationality, and in doing so displaced and usurped the role of a far more ancient and fundamental part of our culture?
Would we all, or many of us, be thinking and speaking in our own language, as well as playing proper football, if it hadn't been for Croke & co.? I submit that we would. Or is that completely as an imirt?
In all fairness, I would imagine this statement is a figure of speech. Get off your high horse would ya. I have to say, in all my time following the EL, I have never been as irritated by something that's going on at a different club. Thomas Davis are scum. End of story. As an avid Shelsman, I sincerely hope this p**** is told where to go next Friday. Disgusting behaviour.
A figure of speech???? I have never heard what he said as a "figure of speech". If condemning what he said means I am on a high horse then I will stay on it thanks.
Fair play to Dhamasta for deleting it so quickly.
celdrog..... it looks like your club is going to be homeless quite soon.
come back to me then and we'll talk ok buddy.
Same old, same old. We're all scum.