town drew one one with borris. Saints rock and peake also won
Printable View
town drew one one with borris. Saints rock and peake also won
Was anyone at the Town game? I couldn't make it,wondering how they performed? The result was undoubtedly dissapointing..i hope it's not a sign for the rest of the season..we should really be beating Two Mile Borris. Not an ideal start..good result for Saints,,i thought they would struggle more against Celtic. If anyone can post about Town's performance i'd appreciate it:)
tough start for cashel in premier. Peake town and saints in first few games. Will have major bearing on season how many points they get early on
Peake bet Borris 2-1, just about deserved it. Borris will not be a pushover as some people seem to think this season. they have made signed some good players over pre season and will be very tough to beat
decent start so for peake two from two. Who have borris signed
Brian Barrett from Holycross and Gary Byrne is back playing again. big physical players which is what they needed. The Buckley lad is back playing who got a serious injury a few seasons ago which is like another new signing
Clonmel Town 1 - 1 Old Bridge
Clonmel Celtic 4 - 1 Cahir Park
Great result for Bridge tonight away to Town, would have been a nicer result if Bridge had beaten Rock last Sat night. Town don't look up to much definetly in transition period. Eoin Leahy put Bridge 1 up 5mins into 2nd half, Tony Scully replied with great header. Both teams could have won it at the end but Bridge defended real well when pressure was on.
Only sour point of the night was as usual TSDL refereeing decisions. John Teehan played nearly 10mins injury time , he was just waiting for Town to score, game didn't fin till 9pm it was practically dark and he kept playing and playing and giving Town frees and corners in quick succession.
Once again it shows that the refs want the big teams to win and will do anytin and give them enough chances to do so but at least tonight Town didn't get the goal and Bridge deserved the draw.
Few Town players got niggly and ratty as usual at the end when they couldn't get that 2nd goal, few little kicks out here and there but what's new....!!!! Come on the Bridge
so what do ye think now cashel??? league contenders?? try learning to walk before ye run ;)
Ron I wouldn't think a 2 1 defeat to saints is a bad result after all saints beat both town and villa last season and both them went on to play in a play off for the league.They are probably favourites to win the league this season with town being so weak. Our aim isn't to win the league this year but hopefull in the next 2 or 3. Needless to say Ron you weren't at the game last night as we done very well and on another day we could have got a draw out of it.
Lads what is going on with town their title challenge is pretty much gone after 2 games. I know they have lost players but i don't think anyone could have predicted this much of a fall.
I just think that saints started to show form at the end of last season when villa slipped up on a few occassions They went through last season unbeaten only for one or two stupid draws they would have won the league. Im not rulling villa out to win the league that would be madness as they have a good side.
A little unfair ron
Firstly, overall Michaels were better and deserved their victory. But (there's always a but isn't there!!!), had Fitzelle scored with a close in header early on, the whole game may have been different.
But yes, if my aunt had testicles and all that. Fair enough. The goals given away were sloppy, as was the penalty, which thankfully from our point of view was missed.
As always, finally.. refereeing decisions... some were ridiculous. Cashel were denied a cast iron penalty about 20 minutes before the end, and considering Michaels were a man down at that stage, could have caused a lot of jitters.
They won every 50/50 decision, and lets be honest and fair. But does anyone think it acceptable, that the father of St. Michaels most important player, spends time alone with the referee, in the referees dressing room, before the game starts?
Overall though, St Michaels did very well. They aren't unbeatable, but it'll take a very good team, who's on their game all night
ah i was only havin a laugh tryin to get a reaction, i do wish cashel all the best this year. and your spot on with michaels and the refs. we already heard about the injury time that was played in the complex. its a disgrace. then the refs wonder why they are not respected? who was sent off for michaels?? what are their new players like???????
i was at cooke park last sat night for the game against st michaels and celtic were denied two clear cut pen decisions. apparently after the game the referee told the celtic management that he may have made a mistake in not awarding them. would he have made the same mistake if it was the other way around i doubt it very much.
a little unfair is right,but he is right at the same time.cashel were very good last night and showed that they will be very hard to beat.going forward they are excellent,the likes of flynn,slattery and bargary showed they are top class players.in defence they were a little shaky and maybe thats what bet them last night.sloppy defending.
i think what really bet cashel last night was experience and lack of top flight football which i think they will pick up very quick with a few games under their belt.
as for decisions last night it is always the losing team that think they were treated badly.we had alot of decisions that went against us but i will admit the ref was not the best.the sending off of Pa Quinn was a definite sending off.but the penelty decision was never a penelty,just before that the cashel man handle it but nothing was givin.so you can say that it was 50/50 decisions.?
overall it was a good game.great result for us,2 from 2 and im hopin we continue this form and go on to win the league.i feel we are due one.clonmel town have an uphill battle.peake will be there or there abouts and thats it.
You're right about the losing sides always having the bigger issues and I didn't want to sound bitter (which I'm not because overall the better team on the night did win), but bias being bias, we'll always crib
Michaels were probably a little more tactically aware last night, actually going 4-2-4 at times, which takes confidence (or balls!!!) when playing away. It worked for them though
There's a nice mix of youth and experience in the team, but at the same time they could have been got at a little more in certain areas. I won't say where, let other teams figure that out.
Another huge factor, is Chalky. Plain and simple. He's not teh quickest anymore (but by no means slow), but positionally, he's top class, defending and attacking. But, more importantly, he's a leader. No-one questions him. If he says stand on your head, the Michaels player he says it to, stands on their head. Organisation like that, is hard to beat.
What they could cut out... Paul Kennedy's nonsense up front. Playacting, mouthing and generally acting the eejit. No need or place for it.
And last but not least, Cashels new pitch looked and by all accounts played, excellent. A credit to the club and all involved in it.