Printable View
A:ball: NY LIST OF FIXTURES OUT YET ??:
[QUOTE=smellyfeet;519879]
Sunday Coming
Mountshannon V Newtown
Olympic V Bridge UTD.
Rinneana v Moher
Avenue v Bridge Celtic
Why are Newmarket and Lifford playing on Monday???
lifford must have a u-21 game at the weekend.
Lifford play Limerick FC in U-21 League 3pm Sunday, so i presume the league is allowing us to play monday. Didn't really know what was going to happen when the league started up again. I know for a factthat we wanted all our home games played on saturdays, which wouldn't have affected the Clare Legaue games but the Eircom League clubs get preference for when fixtures are played because of their Senior side's games
How do you know it wouldnt effect Clare League sides to play Saturday?? What about in winter noone will play Saturdayafter noon???If the Clare League side didnt want the game on Saturday then they would have a perfect right not to want to play???Am I right or am I getting you wrong????
i think lifford wanted to play their u21 home fixtures on saturdays, but its down to their opposition to agree to the game being played on the saturday. i think all their away games are on sundays.
I was saying Lifford hope to play all their u-21 matches on saturdays and Clare League matches on Sunday. However you can only pick when you want your home matches on in the u21 league. kerry league, lifford ul/aa don't always get the home game times they pick because it doesn't suit the eircom league sides due to their senior fixtures. hence limerick overrode our choice (I'm presuming haven't actually spoken to management) and got the fixture moved to sunday.
I personally don't know if an arrangement has been made with the clare league with regards fixtures not clashing but I'll try and find out. Even if we got all our u21 matches on sat and clare league matches on sun this would weaken our u17 and youths teams every 2nd saturday. I don't know what will happen in winter... but other clubs shouldn't be forced to play on a different day if it doesn't suit them.
How would lads feel about playing the odd game on saturday if it ever happened?? I know people have work and manage underage teams etc... just wondering how they'd feel if ever it happened??
but other clubs shouldn't be forced to play on a different day if it doesn't suit them.
How would lads feel about playing the odd game on saturday if it ever happened?? I know people have work and manage underage teams etc... just wondering how they'd feel if ever it happened??[/QUOTE]
Yes you are right teams should not be forced to play days other than Sunday to suit Lifford. The whole Clare junior league is based around playing primarily on a Sunday.Most players plan their family/social and work lives based on playing Sundays. Teams have players who work shifts/go to college and who are not readily available on other days, they have committed to the club for the season based on Sunday games.Playing Saturdays could potentially
weaken Liffords opposition due to unavailable players. I'd be against it completely. I'm interested to know if N'mkt Celtic were consulted about playing Monday night:confused:
Belive it or not if you study Paddy Dunne he is very good on the rules misses little ,rarely makes a bad call in relation to the football and generally protects good players from dirty play.
Having said that he makes a complete balls of his management of players with constant confrontation,lecturing,and influencing results by his interpretation of fair play with directives that are outside of the rules and generally annoying people,which he has no right to do.
Lads believe it or believe it not, I met Paddy last weekend working in Shannon Airport he was at the metal detectors.. he recognised me from playing with BC and let me through with 2 handguns, a kitchen knife and a pair of bladed soccer boots..(Only joking, but he was at the airport security.)
in fairness to Paddy i have seen him over my ten years of playing in the clare league have a good game.... I can remember it well because everyone commented on it, we played a Sligo team in the FAI 2 years ago and to be honest he was great.. Other than that I'd have to agree that his anger management and debating skills leave alot to be desired.
:ball: paddy dunne what more can u say.. u dread looking at the paper to see if paddy is to ref ur match and if he was u no that his going to feck up the game..paddy dunne is not a ref he should be not aloud near a football pitch sure makes up his own rules at times..1 word for paddy keep to ur day job!!!
anyone see it? great coverage once again, all credit to the clare people at the end of the day. and john o'neill making excuses already.. "we may struggle in the league because of our involvement in the eircom league 21s". boo ****ing hoo. shudda thought of that before they entered it, will theye even finish it out? apparently miles adrift at the bottom of league, walkover given in last game and little sponsorship. i admit i am not up to date with the details but anyone know why a clare league representational side wasnt considered? and why digifone park was given to them for home games??
apparently miles adrift at the bottom of league, walkover given in last game and little sponsorship. i admit i am not up to date with the details but anyone know why a clare league representational side wasnt considered? and why digifone park was given to them for home games??[/QUOTE
Lifford received a walkover from Kilkenny City last weekend because Kilkenny could not field a team (disgrace in my opinion for an Eircom League club). Have you checked the league table? We now have 4 points which is no more than 4 or 5 points from nearly every other team excluding Cork City who are running away with the league and if you saw the football the play you'd understand why... High tempo football... a different class. Lifford were winning 1-0 at half-time down there but lost 3-1 in the end. The Clare People didn't bother covering that. If you want to have a go at somebody, have a go at the clare league for not having a representative team in it like kerry for years! Or is it just easier to jump on the "I don't like Lifford" bandwagon. Don't know why Lifford got Digifone but at least its being used and not just lying dormant.
Just said I'd edit this because I started ranting... there is no bandwagon against Lifford, but I do feel that each club in Clare only wants what is good for them. When teams are playing out of the county why not just support them instead of putting them down!
Has anyone got the full set of youths fixtures for tomorrow. How many teams are in the league?????:confused:
(I thought this was starting next weekend but there are fixtures in the Champion)
i have to agree with shelbourne, the only fault with paddy dunne was he was too confrontational an trying to totally boss the players but as a ref he was very good..
as for the newmarket game i was talkin to 2 of their players an they dont want to play it on a monday, clare league is sunday soccer. surely when lifford set up the u21 the clare league knew their could be clash of certain games??
Any results from this mornings games???
great result for bc any match reports:ball:
Avenue 0 Bridge Celtic 4, (Daniel Aherne 3, Paul Mcevoy1) - Great start for us but we need to follow it up on Wednesday night against Rineanna.
We went down to 10 men with 25 mins to go, I think ref Mike o'brien was watchin all the incidents on sky sports during the week and got excited...he sent Pat Murtagh off for nothing. It was 3-0 before the sending off and I can't remember a clear chance that Avenue created other than a free kick in the first half..
Any other results and scorers?
Rineanna 2-0 Moher
Mntshn 0-4 Newtown
Olympic 1-1 Bridge
Newtown scorers.
Ryan Kelly
Davy Wall
Derek Byrne
Chris Dunning
Not really, if they are not happy there is no point staying. No players are bigger than the club. Bit disappointed and surprised with Greg (Captain last year) but Anthony has absolutely no loyalty whatsover so I wouldn't get too attached. Also neither of them like to train too much.
Shane Devanny and Jonathan Downes played in the middle of the park yesterday and I thought played very well so we'll be ok. Both lads are extremely fit and cover more ground than Greg and Anthony.
That aside I think we will miss Gregs creativity in midfield.
Tuesday, August 29
Gallivan Kennedy Youths League
Connolly Celtic v Bunratty (off)
6.45 - Kilmaley School - J Deniffee
Hermitage v Bridge United
6.45 - Fairgreen - D McCarthy
Turnpike Rovers v Newtown
6.45 - Lees Road - F Coote
Wednesday, August 30
Maloney Hardware Premier Division
Mountshannon Celtic v Bridge United
6.45 - Scariff - P Markham
Bridge Celtic v Rineanna Rovers
6.45 - OBriensbridge - M OBrien
Shannon Olympic v Avenue United
6.45 - Shannon - M OHalloran
First Division League Cup Section A
Turnpike Rovers v Connolly Celtic
6.45 - Lees Road - J Stanford
Kildysart Celtic v Corofin Harps
6.45 - Kildysart - F Coote
First Division League Cup Section B
Bunratty v Cratloe Celtic
6.45 - Bunratty - P Cullen
Thursday, August 31
Moher Celtic v Lifford
6.45 - Liscannor - J Deniffee
Newtown v Newmarket Celtic
6.45 - Ballycasey - P Mulready
Rock Rovers v Kilmaley United
Second Division League Cup Section A
Avenue United v St. Pats
6.45 - Fairgreen - M OBrien
Ennistymon Town v Lifford
6.45 - Lahinch - D McCarthy
Second Division League Cup Section B
Kilkishen Celtic v Bridge United
6.45 - Kilkishen - P Markham
Friday, September 1
Shannon Olympic v Tulla United
6.45 - Shannon - F Coote
Third Division League Cup Section A
Inch Crusaders v Cooraclare Celtic
Hermitage v St. Pats
6.45 - Fairgreen - D Kasule
Third Division League Cup Section B
Newtown v Rhine Rovers
6.45 - Ballycasey - M OHalloran
Manus Celtic v Bridge Celtic
6.45 - Tiermaclane - P Markham
Saturday, September 2
Newtown v Newmarket Celtic
2.30 - Ballycasey - F Coote
Lifford v Turnpike Rovers
2.30 - Lees Road - J Stanford
Bunratty v Bridge United
11.00 - Bunratty - J Stanford
Hermitage v Cratloe Celtic
11.00 - Fairgreen - M OHalloran
Sunday, September 3
Avenue United v Newmarket Celtic
11.00 - Lees Road - P Cullen
Moher Celtic v Mountshannon Celtic
11.00 - Liscannor - D McCarthy
Rineanna Rovers v Shannon Olympic
11.00 - Rineanna - P Markham
Lifford v Newtown
11.00 - Lees Road - M OBrien
Connolly Celtic v Kildysart Celtic
11.00 - Kilmaley School - J Stanford
Hermitage v Rock Rovers
6.00 - Fairgreen - M OHalloran
Kilmaley United v Cratloe Celtic
11.00 - Tiermaclane - P Mulready
Lifford v Kilrush Rangers
11.00 - Lees Road - F Coote
Ennistymon Town v Avenue United
1.15 - Lahinch - D McCarthy
Shannon Olympic v Newmarket Celtic
1.15 - Shannon - P Markham
Third Division League Cup Section A
Inch Crusaders v St. Pats
1.00 - Lees Road - F Coote
Hermitage v Cooraclare Celtic
11.00 - Fairgreen - D Kasule
Third Division League Cup Section B
Bridge Celtic v Rhine Rovers
6.00 - OBriensbridge - J Stanford
Newtown v Manus Celtic
11.00 - Ballycasey - N Bennett
Monday, September 4
Bridge Celtic v Bridge United
6.30 - OBriensbridge - P Markham
Turnpike Rovers v Burren United
6.30 - Lees Road - D McCarthy
Kilkishen Celtic v Tulla United
6.30 - Kilkishen - P Mulready
Tuesday, September 5
Cratloe Celtic v Newmarket Celtic
6.30 - Cratloe - F Coote
Hermitage v Lifford
6.30 - Fairgreen - M OHalloran
Turnpike Rovers v Bridge United
6.30 - Lees Road - J Stanford
Bunratty v Newtown
6.30 - Bunratty - P Mulready
Wednesday, September 6
Newtown v Avenue United
6.45 - Ballycasey - P Markham
Rineanna Rovers v Newmarket Celtic
6.30 - Rineanna - M OBrien
Shannon Olympic v Moher Celtic
6.30 - Shannon - P Cullen
Corofin Harps v Connolly Celtic
6.30 - Corofin - F Coote
Burren United v Kildysart Celtic
6.30 - Doolin - J Stanford
Thursday, September 7
Lifford v Bridge United
6.30 - Lees Road - P Markham
Bridge Celtic v Mountshannon Celtic
6.45 - OBriensbridge - P Mulready
Bunratty v Rock Rovers
6.30 - Bunratty - M OHalloran
Kilmaley United v Hermitage
6.30 - Tiermaclane - J Stanford
Kilrush Rangers v Avenue United
6.30 - CBS Kilrush - F Coote
Friday, September 8
Tulla United v Newmarket Celtic
6.30 - Norrie Henchies - P Cullen
Olmpic started slow and Bridge were well on top in the first half but failed to put away the few chances they had.
John Ryan was introduced at half time and made an immediate impact.
Olympic were without Jimmy Houlihan and Joey so John made an impact up front as Bridge were relatively untroubled at the back in the first half.
Trevor Maxwell opened the scoring on 70 mins following a Darek Mostovoi flick on. Olympic equalised on 72 minutes (not sure of scorer).
Draw was a fair result. Good game of football, both sides got the ball down and played. Olympic were a bit more direct in the second half.
Happy enough with the Bridge performance and Olympic will definitely trouble a lot of teams this year.
Lifford 1 - Newmarket Celtic 0 wasn't at the game but anyone that was could ye give us a report
Congrats Murphman I heard that Bridge Celtic were excellent and could have been a lot more than 4-0. Great result for a team in their 2nd season in the premier. Olympic also got good result against Bridge. Good to see teams coming up from lower divisions and doing well in the premier. Avenue could be in trouble this year. Bunratty were one of the favourites last year and look what happened to them. Hugh Kelly obviously spotted trouble and got out before a ball was kicked. The U21 league should stand to Lifford this year and could be a 3 horse race with Newtown and Bridge United this year.
ANybody know how long midweek fixtures will go on - it will be getting very dark for evening games shortly.
Newmarket had good chance saved brilliantly early on but then Lifford dominated most of 1st. Hit crossbar inside 5 mins and went on to play some good football... trying to keep the ball on the ground. Grass was very long and the council really need to cut it!! Lifford created a couple of decent chances most around the edge of the box before Paul Johnson hit a great strike from about 25 yards bottom corner.
Newmarket got much better in the 2nd half but still overused the long ball... although somtimes to good effect. The had some good chances especially from set pieces and hit the crossbar at one stage. LIfford had a couple of chances 2nd half but failed to convert. The new 3-sub rule was a pain in the arse with Brian Hehir having to play on with serious cramp for 20 mins.
Good win for Lifford who hadn't beaten newmarket for a couple of years at least. 4 youths players played in what was a fairly young side. The young lad who came on for Newmarket on the right played some great football 2nd half. Heard he's only 16??