Super Kev after 4 mins!!!!!!!!!
Printable View
Super Kev after 4 mins!!!!!!!!!
Doyle after 4!.... I wonder if it was scored with his dead leg :p
threads merged
stoopid work
come on city :ball:
2-0 doyler on 27th
Relax L@ngers. We're totally focused on next Sunday. ;)
Shelbourne 30 16 9 5 48 29 19 57
Bohemians 31 12 14 5 42 28 14 50
Cork City 28 13 8 7 38 26 12 47
C'mon City!
If it stays as is we are second as we have less conceeded
:) :D ;)
Goes on goals scored not goals conceeded.Quote:
Originally Posted by Used2BHibs Fan
That way you're encouraged to get goals. So a 4-3 win is worth more than a 1-0.
SuperKev hattrick is what we need!
49' Longford Town [0 - 2] Cork City
4' [0 - 1] Doyle
27' [0 - 2] Doyle
What time did it kick off?
1-2 to city. This is a result!!! Woo Hoo. Second place here we come. :D
excellent stuff. Now for Pats!!
Sin e! Phew
Another 3 points. People are begining to take notice now.
Dark Horses or Contenders???
a shock win for Dublin City vs Shels on Thursday will set us up nicely to win the league. Dreaming on....
Next Friday night at the Cross there should be a brilliant crowd and atmosphere.
I think the lads will play out the rest of the season as if they have nothing to lose. The season has been sooooo heavy for them in so many ways, I think they are banging in goals now for the fun of it.
Collins is as shrewd as a fox. I can imagine how he will present this match to his squad. They know that it would be the upset of the year. As they are almost certain to go down, there is little else left for them to achieve. They may not play Shels again for many years, so I reckon the players could be highly motivated to take this scalp before going down.Quote:
Originally Posted by JDB
great to see city win 5 in a row ,and doyle having scored 5 goals .The last few seconds were dodgy.Roll on St Pats friday night.Anything could happen this season.
* threads merged again :)
up the rebels
brilliant stuff
its now mathametically possible to win the league and its also ACTUALLY possible we can win the league
eh..stadler,aswad,euphoria ;)
Even if we beat Shels, I think we will still be a point behind them.Quote:
Originally Posted by thecorner
Fantastic result tonight. When last did City win 5 on the trot? Feck that, when last did City win 3 on the trot away from home?!?!? I'm reckoning the start of the 98/99 season?
Should be a massive crowd Friday. Another 3 points...anything is possible!
Pats and Derry games are so imporant now.
If we can go into the Shels game having won 7 in a row we'll have nothing to lose, we could really go for it.
Drogs games will decide a lot for us, could be the difference bewteen 1st and 4th
It's looking interesting at least!
well done city :)
Great win for City tonight, this result really heaps the pressure on a Shels team who thought they had the league sown up months ago. Doyle is on fire, it surprises me the amount of goals he scores with his head. The guy has a fantastic attitude, every time he has been hacked down this season, he has just gotten up and played on. I wonder what price City were for the title 5 or 6 weeks back (i actually looked up ladbrokes and paddy powers now for current odds but couldnt find any for Eircom league, i did find the odds for the Finnish championship, so it wasnt a total waste of time :D ).
Pipe down people ..... take each game as it comes. If we lose on Friday ... the árse will fall out of it and Stadler and co. will be in full flight again. We'll be the worst team in the league we should hang our heads in shame for even thinking that we could win.
We are still behind and Bohs can still ACTUALLY do it aswell !!
bohs will be eating our dust by next weekend ;)Quote:
Originally Posted by A face
It was a good first half we played a good game and so did lford but the 2nd half it was not that good we just sat back and let the 2nd half roll on. I thought that all the team played well on the night.
As for the fans that were there we had a good laugh and a good sing song. We had all the colour there too. :)
Fair play to you all who made the long trip.
Well done to the team as well, but as XR said, Longford are history now, SPA are all that count.
Wouldn't they, possibly more than anyone, love to f*ck up this run. We need another 100% performance. It is hard to see us beating the same club 4 times in the one season......
I wouldn't get too excited about this one tbh.
Longford definitely had one eye on the Cup final.
We were flattering ourselves at 2-0 up in the first half. Longford possibly even had the better of what was a pretty even first half. Dempsey in Goals for Longford should have saved both of Doyle's efforts, he had a nightmare, and after the second City hardly tested him at all.
Second half, as Ian said, was more about protecting the lead and while it was professional, it wasn't pretty. The late rally by Longford nearly caught us napping in the end.
Ratings for what it's worth:
Devine: 6, few good stops and claims, but fumbled at times. Could do little about the goal.
Hoggy: 8, solid in defence and got forward well. Good to have him back.
Greg: 7, solid at the back, biting into tackles.
Benno: 8, Made the first goal, rock steady at the back
Dan: 6, did well enough, few 'bambi on ice' moments and the odd stray pass
Woods: 6, did ok, not great tracking back, got caught for their goal.
Gamble: 8, Very Good, growing into the role, hard tackler, good distribution
George: 6, Never really got going, a few nice passes here and there.
Kearney: 9, getting better and better, looks stronger too every time I see him, takes defenders on, some excellent crosses, the only creative source for us last night
Doyler: 8, two scrappy goals, pace and workrate were good
Flynn: 7, worked hard, got little service to be fair, made a few half chances
Behan: 7, strong when he came on, few shots on goal.
Digger: 10, :D Legend warming up at half time and came over for a chat and a photo
whos digger?
Quote:
Originally Posted by connaithe
ah come on... ur not serious are you??????????
Stephen O'Brien, Longford's legendary keeper. LOI hero. :cool:Quote:
Originally Posted by connaithe
He was rested last night, and had a chat with us at half time :)
Quote:
Originally Posted by tiktok
I was just going to ask what he was doing warming up at half-time but then I remembered that they've got the cup on Sunday.
If he ever gets a testimonial he'll surely want it to be against City. :D
Quote:
Originally Posted by Peadar
and played at the cross with digger in goal for both halves in front of the shed :ball:
legend
yee played ok, but we defo had one eye on sunday, no digger, no dean....kirby at right back. make shift team really. but yee tok your chances well.
great noise by the cork fans, yee did the club proud :)
Take note of Tiktoks comments. Longford conceded two crap goals last night. In between the goals your defence looked very dodgy and had so many Longford players not been dreaming about Landsdowne Road a draw would have been very much on the cards.
Liked the display of flags and banners and the half time entertainment with Digger and yourselves. Also note that your meeting behind the goals with the Longford Chairman, Jim Hanley, was cordial and you moved when asked. Well done, DFC take note. :)
very true. why were we moved though? just wonderingQuote:
Originally Posted by observer
I wasnt there what happened, why were fans asked to move?
The seats and structures behind the goals (on the left hand side of the TV gantry) are deemed to be unsafe. To be fair, when the stewards said it and we had a look around, they're in a bad state, looks like someone kicked lumps out of them tbh.Quote:
Originally Posted by ccfcman
It was a bit harsh on the lads though, who'd spent twenty minutes setting up the colours. A steward could have told us the story earlier, but that's in the past. BTW, fair play to Jim Hanley, who gave a lesson (Ronan Seery :mad: take note) on how to approach away fans. A Gent!
Yet again I come away from Longford hoping that the club and the people around it have continued success (to the point of being the country's second best team ;) )
Re: The seats to the left [or lack of]
When will that section be finished, I've been going away matches in Longford for a good three years or so and while I have seen the vasrt improvements that area seems neglected, finish it off lads and you'll have a cracker of a stadium.
Nice country folk alright, though I've my suspicions of the Section O lads :p !Quote:
Originally Posted by tiktok
Good stuph last night City, COME ON CITY ! ! !
the bottom end of the ground is has some eh structural problems, so under health and safety it isn't open.Quote:
Originally Posted by ShedEnd.com
we allow flags to go there, but we can't allow people to into that area for safety reasons. this will be sorted close season as the pitch has to be made longer and that area will be rebuilt. we aslo hope to put a net down there so help avoid using 15 balls every game.