Favourite: slight Northern accent, especially on females. :)
Least favourite: inner city Dublin/Sligo accents
Discuss. :)
Printable View
Favourite: slight Northern accent, especially on females. :)
Least favourite: inner city Dublin/Sligo accents
Discuss. :)
im afraid im totally opposite to you Brian..i think the townie Sligo accent is "pure class" ;)
hate the northern accent, especially the Belfast one.
WorstHas to be the county that ends every sentence with either 'Boy' or 'Like'. I'm saying no more:rolleyes:
Favourite: Cork and other southern areas.
Least favourite: Dublin, Donegal, Northern accents.
Like: Anything from up north, Corkies can be funny enough, Big thick Dublin accents are ok at times...
Dislike: Sligo, Athlone, Dundaaaalk, and Wexford(Where in the name of blue f*ck did they end up with that accent)
Like: Northern accent, especially on females.
Dislike: That south east accent and inner city Dublin
In spite of Mr Maroon's agreement with me on norther-accented women, I also must add that the Galway accent is the most drab and boring in the country.
Used to work with a Galway lad doing tech support, and I think he fixed people's problems over the phone by putting them to sleep!
Favourite..... anything except a dub accent
Least favouite......dub accent
love the nordie accent on women, find the inner city dublin accent very amusing, love the cork city accent and the "quare" thick wexford accent
cant stand the midlands accent, and the d4 accent
what about the limerick accent hula:D:D:D
The Nordie accent on a girl is the best accent anywhere in the world, even better than the Welsh one. :)
My least favourite, as in the most annoying, is the relatively newly fabricated, mainly-though-by-no-means-exclusively Dublin it-girl one, that seems to have started with the likes of Lorraine Keane. The 'ryndabyte aitside the hyse' one. Awful.
can take it or leave it
I love Derry accents (male or female) and Donegal. Like a bit of Dub too but anything further south does my head in.
love the female donegal accent, hate the cork female accent, especially that one thats occasionally on the ray darcy show !!!!!
Favourite: The soft Northern female accent is very sexy. I like the Meath one and I find the Galway and Kerry accents very funny.
Least favourite: All Dub ones, Wicklow, Cork (on men, on women it's just funny).
I wouldn't say I hate southern accents but I do find it quite hard to understand some people from Cork/Kerry/Limerick..
Like: Cork, Kerry, Limerick accents, well Munster in general
Dislike: Ulster accents (all of them) and both D4 and proper inner city Dublin accents (the kind that asks you for change at the LUAS stops)
Find the Galway accent a bit nondescript to be honest, struggling to even think what it is
Like; Dublin
Dislike; The rest
Dislike: Wixklow/Wexford is pretty bad, but Dundalk accent is the worst.
Like: Kerry accent on girls.
Disliked (by a mile): The D4 accent (hise instead of house, roundabite instead of roundabout - Lorraine Keane is a prime example as are most tv3 female newsreaders or presenters).
Favourite: Waterford
I was in a mobile phone shop the other day, beautiful Indian looking girl was at the counter. Asked her about what deals they had, and out came this beautiful Scottish accent. She had Indian parents and was born in Scotland. Ahhhh she was lovely.
Back to Irish accents...
Favourite... Donegal, soft Nordie
Last favourite.... Cork and Dublin
Was doing some maintainence work in a hotel yesterday when two young lads came up talking to me, couldnt understand a word they were saying and couldnt help but just started laughing. I asked where they were from ?....................Dundalk ! Worst accent EVER !
love the geordie accent on a woman! Also have to admit the donegal one considering past 3 have come from there! :D
hate the english accent from the home counties the really posh one though love to bone a bird with it, so its that love hate relationship!
Hate the dub inner city knacker accent, also hate the southside one more, the fabricated mid-atlantic/irish sea/home counties accent the snobs have.
Like: Donegal accent on female and obviously the a good clear dundalk accent. Can't beat it
Dislike: Drawda, cork and the the midlands especially athlone (too flat)
Like: Nordie accent but solely when a female one.
Dislike: Skanger accents are across the board terrible regardless of whether they're from Dublin, Cork, Limerick, Galway or Waterford. That midlands thing is a bit primitive too...
Considering setting up a phone chat line for you guys, might make enough money to buy my house in France!
That said, any of my northern friends reckon my accent is pure south!
Its the toothache making me tetchy. Havent slept properly in days either.
The perpetual whine of the Ulster accent grates like finger nails scraping a blackboard, and it's difficult to know what they're sing-songing about in Munster and Connaught half of the time. Give me a generic, easily-understood, east coast Leinster accent any day.
Dundawk accents make Baby Jesus cry.
That is all.