http://www.rte.ie/arts/2008/0129/eurovision.html
Not sure this should be in the music forum but are the rumours true? Hope so, we all need a good laugh. The ultimate sign that we're finally treating the show as a bit of craic.
Printable View
http://www.rte.ie/arts/2008/0129/eurovision.html
Not sure this should be in the music forum but are the rumours true? Hope so, we all need a good laugh. The ultimate sign that we're finally treating the show as a bit of craic.
Dunno. I thought the character outlived it's usefulness a long time ago, and isn't half as funny as his creator seems to think he is.
He was a decent sidekick to the bould Zig and Zag back in the day (although I was more of a Snotser man meself) , but on his own, he cant ad-lib, and SHOUTIN' INCOHERENT ABUSE AT THE TOP OF YER GRATIN' SKANGER VOICE as your main comedy device is only funny for about 3 seconds.
His humour doesnt travel well, and in using him, theres a danger we'd look like we were trying desperate tactics to actually win the stupid thing...
If a Finnish 'death metal' band can win it, why not a narthside Dublin turkey? dont think it'll translate well either, the UK might get in on the joke though.
I would rather be the laughing stock of Europe by sticking to our 'pop-ballad' guns, in the hope that we can rekindle the '80s flame than be the laughing stock of Europe for entering that annoying puppet into the competition.
Actually I'd sooner abstain if that's the respect we're going to show the competition.
These yokes showed loads of respect to the other entrants didn't they
Doesn't mean we have to stoop to that level.
I mean, look at the UK. They tried it last year, and still came nowhere.
I would genuinely prefer to pick a good singer and a good song, and come nowhere, than this desperation of having a circus act, and probably still come nowhere. Now we can do a lot better, song-wise, than the last few years, granted.
Due to Geographical Location and/or politics we'll always come nowhere since the the eastern block countries have entered the equation, tactical/friendly voting and all that, but with a good enough gimmick we might pull something off
I'd be all for Dustin Aloucious Hoffmann
You see I would say: Due to Geographical Location and/or politics we'll always come nowhere since the the eastern block countries have entered the equation, tactical/friendly voting and all that, but are we really that desperate?
Granted, we're still stuck in the 1980s with some of the songs we enter, and there has to be a bit of moving with the times, but as I said before, I would prefer to stick to my guns. There's bound to be a back-lash to all these dance/costume/pyrotechnic driven entries, and I can see us just catching up with that when everyone else has moved on. Stick to what we know, that's what I would do.
I disagree I reckon the Gimmicky Pyrotechnic driven songs get people dialing in their votes and make Money which is what it's all about, I'd rather see a return to the panel style voting system only then will it become a real Song contest again! but there's no money in that so won't happen IMO
It's funny how everyone suddenly has become so offended by countries voting for their neighbours, although it was fine for Ireland and the UK to swap high marks for 40 years.
It seldom affected the overall outcome except when UK gave us 12 to win it leaving themselves in 2nd. It's a lot more prevalent now with 9 or 10 eastern Block countries dictating the winner every year. Ireland, Uk Germany or france et al could have the greatest song/performance ever and would still not be in a hope in hell, the winner would still be poland or lithuania or whichever
the Eurovision was alway's a bit of a joke but it's ridiculous now
Maybe the (former) Eastern Bloc countries have a lot of cultural similarities & links, so they'll tend to vote similarly.
All of the recent winners have scored well from across Europe, not just from the East.
Back to the topic in hand, Dustin was funny for a while 20 years ago...:(
Im sorry but "good music" and the "eurovision" dont fit, never did, so I am all for Dustin doing his stuff for Ireland