More money for Bertie, Cowen and Co.
So this is why the electorate were rail-roaded into voting for them last May, and also why the tax rate won't drop by 1%, as promised in the next budget. :mad:
Printable View
More money for Bertie, Cowen and Co.
So this is why the electorate were rail-roaded into voting for them last May, and also why the tax rate won't drop by 1%, as promised in the next budget. :mad:
Rail roaded?!?! A blind chimp should have had enough sense not to vote Fianna Fail back in, seriously, if you voted for him then tough ****, next time make a more informed choice, and don't listen to what the Sun and the rest of the Bertie brigade tell you :rolleyes: If you didn't then I apologise, but for any of you that did, you disgust me and make me ashamed to be Irish, once again I'm being serious
hear hear. 5 years of giving out crap, and then they vote them back in and then the cycle starts again. The people had their chance, and they wasted it.
btw I wonder what modernisation programme, attempts at privatisation and recruitment freezes the TD's and Senior Civil Servants will have to do to get the money?
Honestly lads i think they deserve figures like this for their jobs. They are charged with running the country yet they earn less than directors of large companies, they are constantly in the public eye, work 15 hours a day 7 days a week, lead a relatively short life at the top of their profession and even an Taoiseach earns less than Stan was on!
If politicians do not command large salaries then the quality of person willing to put themself forward will plummet even further over time.
Still though it is hilarious that they vote themselves whether they get a pay rise or not!!! Imagine coming into work one day to vote on giving yourself a pay-rise, picture the face on the boss!
Bertie earns more than British PM or American president
I've no problem with high salaries for ministers etc BUT at a time when preaching fiscal responsibility and talking about economic downturns, its hardly right to award yourself 12-15% increase (with, as macy points out, absolutely no performance clauses in there)
Those of us who were informed did so, but the country was told, that the economy would be ruined if FF were voted out. People can't buy a home, or get a bed in a hospital, or get home without encountering a traffic jam, or afford childcare, or vote in a slick, modern voting format, (€50million of our money wasted btw). People were evicted from their homes against their will, dressed up as "decentralisation", ministers in financial scandals, dressed up as "tribunals", while certain parts of the country have turned into the Wild West. But at the end of the day, the only thing that mattered was the € in the pocket, and that's what decided the election. Fear and Greed.Quote:
Originally Posted by jebus
Correct.Quote:
Originally Posted by dodge
You can't really compare the two, Bush has a large mansion , staff, private jumbo, helicopter etc. Brown has a house,staff etc & both will earn a lot, when their out of office. these wages are for who ever are in these positions, a lot is being said about the government, but it goes accross the board on all High up cilvil servants.
Do you know I haven't met one person that will admit to voting for Fianna Fail since the election. Either Bertie has pulled a Sideshow Bob on us, or people are ashamed of their choice, which begs the question, why vote for him in the first place if you're embarassed about it
i have to say i find this very shocking, a right two fingers upto the rest of the country (and no i would never vote for that shower -or FG)
they say its comparable to the top professions, but isnt there a lot of ex teachers (and some who still are on a teaching salary), in the dail.......why isnt there salaries compared to teachers then?
The people get the government they vote for. Most people will complain about but many of them have voted for it.
How many Ministers would get a top job in Corporate Ireland? Wille O'Dea gets paid E240k - where would his level be in the real world? The only reason any of them would be employed as CEOs is due to political connections anyway.
It has also been recommended that salaries be pegged back 15% to allow for the civil service pension bonus so Bertie earns 350k in real world terms.
Review Body Members
* 2 Labour Court members
* Former TD
* Chairman NRA
* Academic
:mad:
An argument so stupid it actually depresses me a little how much I've heard it
Can you honestly not see the difference?? :rolleyes: :eek:
LMFAO :DQuote:
If politicians do not command large salaries then the quality of person willing to put themself forward will plummet even further over time.
This is why I keep saying that the TDs wages should be linked to the average industrial wage, or the average income of an adult in the state. That whould keep the pension & social welfare reasonable, not to mention putting pressure on them to keep employment high.
America has a population of how much Ringo?
UK has a population of how much?
The most powerful man in the world is paid less than 'our man of the people'?
Sarkozy, Bush, Merkel and Brown all earn less than this bundling backhand-taking joke of a leader we have.
Why cant we be more like the Germans in this way?
The people of this country confuse me more and more by the day.
Don't wish to be critical, but erm, that link is nearly 4 years old. :DQuote:
Originally Posted by SligoBrewer
Who was the last British President?? :confused:Quote:
Originally Posted by ringo
Irish people are dumb
in the same week that we have that silly Telethon thingy, raising money for good local causes...........something that our Government should be doing anyway.................the governement give themselves a huge pay increase for doing absolutely nothing
this Irish charity fascination drives me mad..........people colllecting for hospitals, etc...............then they go and vote for FF
Wonder how many of those striking nurses a while back ended up voting for FF, i would bet a lot
this country is a joke
Stan €400K , delanyt €300K year. were talking about paying the next Ireland manager 1 million. if we leave aside the tabloid $hite and look at all the increases, you are not going to get people to move in the civil service unless you pay the properly. Your asking a Senior council to give up a good practice, to become a judge, you have to pay them properly. This isn't about Bertie, this is an indepenent review group decideing on the appropriate rate for a whole series of positions.