Apparently Wigan And Wolves quite keen on him. Would love to see him have half the success Doyle has had...
Printable View
Apparently Wigan And Wolves quite keen on him. Would love to see him have half the success Doyle has had...
O'Donovan linked to UK club, gets first thread in Ireland forum. :rolleyes:
He is not as good as Doyle was at this stage (Doyle more complete player) however O'Donovan has blistering pace & no mean finisher of chances either. Did not look out of place at all in B International.
If he goes to Wolves he will be their main man and possibly get them promoted. The lad should be in the international squad.
I know this is going to come across as stupid, but bear with me. The persistent beligering by the eL fanatics on this site of the promoting the local players is starting to work I believe. I myself 'throw an eye' to the local league without attending many games and will always watch a game if its on the box, but its because its the consistent name dropping that goes on on this site that has players like O'Donovan, Deery Ward et al in my head at least. Because of the hyping of some of the local talent, I'm never shocked now if I hear of a cross channel club coming in for a young eL player. So in a roundabout way, eL lunafanatics give yerselves a pat on the back, yis are the unofficial official Pr officers of the eircomLeague.
Hurrah.
Thought they were already in a logjam with their strikers at wolves with bothroyd and also leon clarke who has been scoring at a fairly decent rate with jemal johnson and frankowski behind them. Ive always rated clarke very high. Speaking of wolves what happened to Darren Potter, I know he was capped by Ireland at the underage level and has being playing well this season, any chance of a callup?
I agree. He was tried up fron tlast year but it didn't really work. He has been in poor form for vast majority of this season. In fact he only scored first goal in August & has been in blistering form in last 2 months. He is still very raw as a forward but definitely improving.
BTW Potter was anonymous in B International. I couldn't beleive he on the books of a Premiership team & a Championship first team player.
He's also matured greatly since the start of the season, where he was a saucy *******, easily provoked and getting into stupid things.
He's still got a lot of agression and physicality about him but i thought he was heading the wrong way there for a while.
He's all the better for it now.
Being played up front helps, i suppose.
A lesson on how to take a two-week fine.:ball:
Well done Roy.
O'Donovan is a good example of young player return to reep the benefits of the eL.
Disguarded by Coventry only 18 months ago he became U21 International regular, 10 matches in european competitions & now has a B International cap.
I imagine he's sorry the season ended when it did with himself in such outstanding form.
He was a much better player when he was with you. We stole him and will sell him for a song and you'll get your tiny cut, and then you'll be able to tell everyone that you made him a great player, but he was never quite good enough to get into your first team.
For everyone else, you can all go and feck right off for yourselves. O'Donovan is under contract so I'm on "tapping up" alert. You've been warned. :mad:
Starting a thread for Roy O'Donovan in the International forum - its long overdue.
Any views on his progress so far?
Yes think he should be given the chance although he has long way to go before he makes the first eleven. Personally don't think he will get that far.
Should've been in the squad last year for the USA.
Not really kept up with Sunderland all that much but it appears joining Keane's estimated 50 or so strikers wasn't a wise choice. Should've gone toSpecsaversFulham, as they say.