Saw it last night.........sweet lord jesus....even I don't blame the little jack in the box and his sidekick John Gilligan for reacting like they did to that one. Could have ended Hearys career with that 'tackle'.
Printable View
Saw it last night.........sweet lord jesus....even I don't blame the little jack in the box and his sidekick John Gilligan for reacting like they did to that one. Could have ended Hearys career with that 'tackle'.
Collins actually showed remarkable restraint (literally - if he hadn't held Fenlon back as he did, things could have turned uglier still) for once. Byrne's offence definitely warrants a 6-10 (using that scumbag McDonagh's ref-jostling sanction as a barometer) match ban and a fine of unprecedented severity. The "tackle" was not just over the ball, it was practically over the balls. :eek:
It was horrific. I don't see why the Bohs bench decided to start trying to have a go at Nutsy though... :rolleyes: He didn't bully the ref into the red card, or did they expect Nutsy to go to the ref and calmly ask him to reverse his decision? :D
Need a hefty ban and severe fine for that. Potentially career ending, hell, the ball had pretty much gone past Byrne when he leapt! There was no attempt to play the ball, if that wasn't on a field of sporting play (heh) that would have been classed as assault.
It's a tackle that if a Shels player had made there would be closing in on 10 threads on it already by now.
Horror tackle, if I was a Bohs fan I'd be fuming with him. He was never getting away with it.
Read the Bohs MB, Bohs fans aren’t exactly overly happy about it, and the Bohs bench had every right to have a go at Nutsy etc. The ref had issued the red card and Fenlon was still giving out. I seem to remember Glen Fitzpatrick injure Stephen Ward with a similar tackle last October in Dalymount and Fenlon wasn’t overly upset about one of our players being injured.
I'm not a fan of any of this petty mouthing off, but what can you do. Just in the context of the game, I can't imagine the Bohs bench were yelling at Nutsy about what he's said recently, it was all about the tackle.Quote:
Originally Posted by BohsFan
Funnily enough, Nutsy seemingly defended Bohs over the vandalism in Tolka recently. :)
As a Shelbourne fan, I agree with you though, I'd much rather see our lads stay quiet and grind out better results. But nowt I can do about it! :)
Dessie’s not thick, and he’s certainly not a bad player. It seems he’ll join the huge list of players who performed for Pats and nowhere else. Was bitterly disappointed to see him go but we’ve a better left full nowQuote:
Quote:
Dessie is far from being thick and a s*ite footballer in fairness.
It was a bad tackle and he was given his red card, He's left himself down and he's club down, he'll miss a few matches foir his troubles as well, end of story
It's easier for players to "perform" where the expectations are lower.Quote:
Originally Posted by Dodge
For me, it's a sure sure sign that a player is past it when he is making late tackles like that. Shows he has little else left to offer the game.
Leave Glen Crowe out of this.Quote:
Originally Posted by Cop on
Fenlon really wasn't that bad in his interview last night...he could have been nastier and actually said he had a lot of time for Bohs, but pinpointed the 'element' that need to be dealt with within their support.
Sadly Mr. Fenlon, when it comes to the 'element' within Shelbourne is not within the support; it is Messrs Ollie Byrne, Pat Fenlon and Eamonn Collins.
People in glass houses and all that... :mad:
I think maybe he was just making the point that breaking into grounds*, threatening players over the phone* and throwing stuff onto the pitch causing the game to be held up isn't exactly the behaviour of decent supporters and was backing up the players involved with his post match interview.
*Not that they care about the players who left. Oh no. Wouldn't even have them back in fact. They were glad they left in the end really.
"horrific tackle" that left Heary unable to stand on his feet later in the game when he had to "dive" to the ground to "win" a penalty.......whats teh greater offence?????
for me heary every time - cost Bohs at least a deserved point by out and out cheating - Dessie just went in full blooded on a player who can dish it out and take it in equal measure - and who was up instantly unscathed
the only bad thing about the challenge was that it wasnt on Rogers
I presume you are just stirring it up with this, and aren't actually justifying that tackle. If you're not, then you're an idiot-plain and simple.Quote:
Originally Posted by wws
Quote:
Originally Posted by joeSoap
what????
the tackle did no damage whatsover - one of teh "looked worse than it was" variety - how is it "horrific"??????????
heary cheating for a penalty is blatant, Dessie was over zealous ona player who deserved it. Plain and simple. Idiot
Damage or not, the intent was there to seriously injure the player. He woulldn't have went in like that otherwise.And it didn't look worse than it was, it looked exactly what it was-a cowardly attempt to seriously hurt someone who wasn't expecting such a crude challenge.Quote:
Originally Posted by wws
Cheating for a penalty does not have the potential to end your career-never can, never will, and to say that any player deserves to be assaulted like that says a lot about you and your outlook on the game. I sincerely hope that you never get the opportunity to or have the inclination to coach under age football with that attitude.
Have you ever seen Dessie play? He goes into every tackle full blooded. I have no doubt that he had no intention of injuring Heary. (and I have as much right to comment on his iuntentions as you...) It was a bad challenge but more stupid thatn malicious. He got a deserved red card, heary got up totally unscathed. End of story surelyQuote:
"Damage or not, the intent was there to seriously injure the player."
Unless you are Dessie Byrne that point doesn't stand up in any meaningful way - that's your impression of tv evidence (i dunno if you were at the game)
"He woulldn't have went in like that otherwise."
Yeah - he'd stand off him ???? Unlikely. Thats his job to go in and challenge for the ball - on this occasion he went in and missed - it happens in football.
"And it didn't look worse than it was, it looked exactly what it was-a cowardly attempt to seriously hurt someone who wasn't expecting such a crude challenge." - as per first reply is my response to that.
So Hearys career was "potentially over"
well it isn't - he was totally unscathed - the ref sent off byrne immediately and he will face at least a one game ban - probably more - more than sufficient and hardly worth playing the outraged moral card.
I've no doubt that Des Byrne is a hard, committed player who gives it his all.But please, don't insult my intelligence by telling me that that tackle wasn't calculated, over the top, vicious and potentially career ending.
Please read, and understand the word potentially-I know Heary got up from it straight away, and all credit to him for doing so-but the tackle could have shattered his leg, plain and simple.
Quote:
just leaving aside the byrne thing - ANY tackle is potentially career ending - its a contact sport and when these guys are at full speed head on it aint easy to apply the brakes - some of the most horrific leg breaks have been caused by tackles that wernt even fouls
ive watched it a few times here on mpg and my read of it is both were goin full tilt in a tight spot - dessie ignored the ball and didnt want to give ground - as you dont in a tight derby game - he clatters into him as heary turns to protect himself
it was nasty, but I'll give Byrne the benefit of the doubt as I know the type of player he is which is a lot better than he has shown for bohs - which are a notoriously difficult club to join as their fans turn on their own players very quickly